We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The West Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
US$273
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(West Bexington)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Greyhound(Bridport)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
189
74
19
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
189
74
19
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscallopswest baythe pubfree car parksurf and turffish specialsate herecooked to perfectionbelly porkfantastic meallocal fishpalmers beerspecials boardsunday roastlovely atmospheresaturday eveningpudding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned from a weekend away at The West Bay Hotel, We have had a fantastic weekend and can't rate the place highly enough. The staff were all so friendly and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble - The food is divine, we ended up eating here both nights as it was so good - we were lucky enough to sample the seafood platter which was incredible. The room was spacious, clean , the shower was powerful and the biscuits on the hospitality tray were yummy ! .... Thanks to everyone who made this a wonderful weekend away ...we would definitely recommend it and will be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We didn't stay here but booked to eat in the restaurant on the last night of our stay in West Bay. As we had eaten seafood on other nights during our stay we chose to eat meat dishes from the main menu - a mistake really as we should have gone for the specials as I think we would have been a lot more delighted instead we were left feeling a little let down. I had beef stroganoff which said it was made from beef fillet, brandy, cream and paprika served with rice - when it came it was dark brown in colour, the meat thickly sliced and definitely not fillet more like rump. The rice was from a packet - golden vegetable maybe? I ate it as it was not horrible but I wont be having that one again. My husband had a fillet steak which he liked - he is really fussy!! He also had the garlic sauce with it which he seemed to enjoy - so mixed reviews for the mains. For dessert - they had run out of the crumble so I had the chocolate and caramel fondant and my husband a tart with damsons and cherries and ice cream. My fondant was solid not runny though sauce had been poured over it - again it was OK. The pub is very well frequented and has a good atmosphere so I think if we did eat there again we will choose from the specials.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank marye985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Visited here when friends ran this hotel some years ago and we were not disappointed, like others have said don't be put off by external appearance. The restaurant area was busy so others must know its very good, especially if you like fish dishes. The staff were friendly and efficient and there's plenty of free parking opposite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Only ended up here because everywhere else was full as bank holiday weekend, but so glad we got a table. Delicious sunday roast and chocolate torte to die for. Staff very friendly and helpful. It is definately a hidden gem, opposite car park right on sea front.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked this hotel and when we pulled up outside wondered why....HOWEVER this is a little gem inside.
Room...spacious, well equipped with flat screen TV, coffee making and a little tin with biscuits in it. Quiet (ours overlooked the Beer Garden).
Bathroom...huge bathroom with walk in shower. Basic body was, clean towels.
The pub...very welcoming with a mix of tourists and locals. Food looked good (we didn't eat here this time).
Friendly staff, reasonable price, good location in and free carpark.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopTip_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews