We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect w/end break!”
Review of The West Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The West Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
East Meon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“perfect w/end break!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

lovely time spent down in West Bay... The hotel is small, quiet, friendly, has a lovely atmosphere... It's not overly smart, but if you want to get dressed for supper then you'd not feel totally out of place, but if you forgot your shirt and shoes it wouldn't matter either.
The staff were friendly and helpful and when our mixed up supper reservation became apparent it wasn't a big deal and was sorted out immediately.
We had a double room and a twin room (which was actually the family room) for our two girls - just across the corridor... clean, comfy, spacious, quiet - it felt safe and accessible. Both rooms had ensuites - (ours didn't have a bath despite the cavernous size of the bathroom! - but I just used my daughters bath instead while they watched Britains Got Talent).
Breakfast in the morning was great - the usual stuff you can order and a really nice waitress who didn't mind constantly refilling my coffee mug and didn't mind that it took our youngest daughter a long time to choose her breakfast.
It was a lovely relaxed 24hours and if you're not looking for a fast, noisy, clubbing type of break and prefer long walks on endless beaches with amazing cliffs, knowing you've got a delicious (locally caught) fish-supper waiting for you at the end of it, then this is the place to go!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    61
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
62
123
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

It's a place we have passed many times, thinking it's rather shabby exterior would extend to include the food.
How wrong we were! There was an excellent selection of seafood dishes, and we chose the catch of the day, which turned out to be wonderfully cooked fresh Sole, accompanied with either salad or vegetables. Quality of both was again good.
The desserts which included Lemon Posset, were very acceptable.
Altogether for a Monday lunchtime meal we were impressed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The West Bay Hotel has had a number of owners over the years. I hope the latest owner never wants to leave! Friendly, good atmosphere, clean, cosy and above all wonderful food. Lots of fish dishes and I don't even eat fish! The fillet steak was cooked to perfection - twice - I had to go back! Sunday lunch is brilliant too. Worth every penny! Dog friendly too. Don't ever change!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAUNTON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent food excellent service excellent staff and excellent room. Bathroom excellent lovely area and would defo stay again.big car park and thatchers on tap.no rush to get out in the morning with top breakfast and it's a early check in so overal EXCELLENT

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALFIE99TAUNTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome, excellent location, lovely room and quality breakfast. Own side door key to come and go whenever we wanted. Nice friendly cozy pub. Lovely old building from 1700s. Room had large king size bed and view towards the beach. Right in the heart of West Bay.
Pub also does lots of nice sounding food although we didn't get to eat there this Christmas visit.
We watched the swimming on Boxing Day which was fantastic. We absolutely enjoyed this stay. We'd for sure recommend this hotel for any kinds of stays.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UmaZhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Our daughter booked Sunday lunch here (after Googling "West Bay restaurants" and reading previous reviews) for our visit to their caravan in the area. Just off the Chesil Bank, the weatherbeaten exterior made us apprehensive; no need.

A really warm and friendly welcome, a specials board and a selection of Sunday roasts. We all selected the roasts and none of us were disappointed: the mightiest Yorkshire puddings with the lamb as well as the beef and a really tasty selection of accompanying vegetables. I asked for extra gravy and there was no problem with this.

I still dream of the delicious chocolate mocha creme brulee; one pudding was no longer available so our lovely waitress, full of apologies, disappeared into the kitchen, coming back to offer yet another delicious alternative, which was quickly taken up!

The loos were clean and pleasant.

I love West Bay and it has been a real delight to find somewhere so welcoming to add to the pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiggettyPooden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel/pub in September 2013. The outside looks a little shabby, but the inside is very comfortable. The pub has its own car park, which is very important in a busy tourist area,
We received a warm welcome and were shown to a very comfortable and clean family room on the first floor. As we are a retired couple we appreciated the extra space! The beds were very comfortable and we slept very well. The hospitality tray included some delicious biscuits in a pretty tin.
We ate our evening meal here on both evenings and can recommend both the food and the efficient staff.
The fish dishes were really fresh and locally sourced with very generous portions. There was a very extensive menu offering a really good choice of food.
There is also a good choice of wines and an excellent range of the local Palmers beer,
We also enjoyed the full English breakfasts and were unable to find room to eat any food at lunchtime!
We would have stayed longer than two nights ,but the accommodation was already booked.
We certainly hope to return again next year

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms at the front of the hotel as there is a busy road outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridport hotels
0.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Bay Hotel

Property: The West Bay Hotel
Address: Station Road | West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House overlooking the beach at West Bay, we also have a restaurant specialising in Seafood and locally sourced produce. There are four recently refurbished bed and breakfast rooms with views to the beach and cliffs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The West Bay Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing