We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The West Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The West Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Fabulous food but you need to prebook to avoid disappointment. Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful location. Shingle beaches. Lots of cliff top walks. Lyme Regis, Hive Beach and Charmouth are all close by.

Room Tip: Ask for ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69Viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    67
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
70
131
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Having read the reviews for The West Bay we were looking forward to a memorable meal, sadly only memorable for its mediocrity ! Garlic mushrooms were not at all appealing, a bowl of dark brown mush would be a good description. The fish cakes were more potato than anything else and arrived lukewarm and not at all crispy. The Sunday roast (Beef & Pork) meat swimming in a sea of catering gravy, unimaginative vegetables and over done Yorkshire puddings.
I can only think that they must have been having an off day

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal here last night, a party of 4 with 2 children and not a complaint from any of us. Very welcoming staff and extremely accommodating for our children. The food was outstanding and the variety of fish on offer was as good as you would expect from a costal restaurant. Would recommend eating here really enjoyed it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Certainly lived up to expectations.
Visited twice on short break to Dorset.
Numerous fish dishes. Had lobster first visit and bream next.
Impeccable service. Staff v friendly.
Beer from Palmers and good wine list unlike other places we visited.
Unobtrusive music and attractive decor.
Difficult to fault this establishment . If you like seafood then this is the place to visit.
This was the best restaurant by a long way that we visited on our Dorset break.
Well worthy of 5 star rating in my opinion.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BrigadierGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

When I pulled up outside after a long day in meetings I wasn't sure. The office had booked for me. My welcome was warm and my room well appointed. I sorted my things in my room then sat in the bar. This place is a nice coastal pub with a restaurant thats serves good seafood & wine with rooms upstairs. The value for money is great.

I was first in the bar and watched the place fill up and slowly empty as the evening drew to a close. The quality of the food is great and I had a delicious bottle of very reasonably priced white wine. Good atmosphere and overall a nice friendly place to stay. I'll be back when next in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aneby, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Me and my wife planned a 39 year anniversary trip/meeting up with old friends to West Bay at the south coast.
We booked a room at the West Bay hotel, a place we visited several times during the last 25 years. This time the place had new owners who made our visit exeptionell. Sam and Tess, a very young couple 21 and 19 ran the hotel together with a marvelous chef and all Sams sisters and brothers. No one more than 25.
We had one of our best stays ever. 5 star room, 5 star service, 5 star engagement, 5 star food.
As entrepreneur I love the burning spirit only young persons can have.
Highly recomended. We will try to come back as soon as possible.
The locations is a few hundred yards from the cliff from TV series Broadchurch.

Johnny and Annika

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Food in the evening was good with plenty of choice if you like seafood. Definitely not "fine dining" as described on the sign on the side of the pub. However, the chef obviously doesn't work in the morning as breakfasts were not good. Everything done on the cheap. Cheap fruit juice. Cheap cereal. Cheap sausage and bacon. No fresh fruit. Asked for scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on the second morning. I got a pile of broken pieces of omelette with a load of cheap unfresh brown round the edge smoked salmon. Rooms described as recently refurbished. Yes if you call 1970s "recent". Had to ask for towels for the private bathroom down the corridor which was ok but there was no anti slip mat in the shower and toilet paper was obviously rationed.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnArmstrong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
0.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
494 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
774 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
165 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
241 reviews
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Bay Hotel

Property: The West Bay Hotel
Address: Station Road | West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House overlooking the beach at West Bay, we also have a restaurant specialising in Seafood and locally sourced produce. There are four recently refurbished bed and breakfast rooms with views to the beach and cliffs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The West Bay Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing