We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The West Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The West Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked a room for the weekend based on the Tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. Our room was light and spacious and a huge comfy bed and nice bathroom. Luckily we had booked for dinner each night, as the restaurant was deservedly busy. We chose items from the fish specials and the scallops board, but they had a mussels board too. Duo of crab & mackerel pate, sea bream with peas, leeks & bacon, fillet steak with crevettes & scallops, scallops with garlic and bacon, generous side dishes - there was loads of choice and we didn't regret a single decision. The wine list was well priced and we had a couple of lovely bottles.

The West Bay Hotel looks like a pub from the outside, but don't be put off, as the food and staff are both 5 star. We're looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kernowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    58
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
60
117
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Found the west bay just by searching on google. What a find
Great Accommodation, Great food, Great service and very nice people who own it and world there.

will definitely stay there again

Thoroughly recommened

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 face the front 3 and 4 the rear we had room 1 which was very spacious great ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisY503SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great stay for one night at The West Bay Hotel. Two rooms at the back of the building, very quiet. Comfortable big beds and clean bathrooms. We ate in the restaurant downstairs in the evening and had a gorgeous breakfast before our departure the next morning. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Really great atmoshphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noonameena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I went to lunch with 2 friends this week, and it was outstanding. 2 of us had seafood stir fry. Normally you have a couple of prawns etc., but this was very generous, and the vegetables were delicious too. Really could not fault it. The staff were very friendly - all in all - an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: We did not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

At first glance I was uncertain of my choice as the outside has a very "rustic" look. Don't be fooled - this is a listed building so permission for renovation to the exterior takes time, but inside is excellent.
Check in was at the bar, which is continuous with the dining area, and my room was upstairs. All of this gave me the feeling of an inn, as opposed to a traditional hotel with reception area etc.
The room was pleasant and the ensuite enormous. There was no bath, only a shower - not a concern to me but I know that may bother some. I only stayed the one night, but that was a very comfortable.
All the staff were extremely pleasant and polite, and did their best to help me with all my questions. Most of those questions were about the absolutely amazing dinner menu...
Warning! If you don't like seafood, or the smell of seafood, this is NOT the place for you! However, if you do like seafood - I had a fish dinner of supreme excellence. The worst part of dinner was choosing - the dishes all looked so good.
My night was undisturbed by any sounds from the restaurant/bar below; breakfast was served at a sociable time the next morning and was also excellent.
The hotel is unrated, and I felt my stay was worth every penny. I intend to book a longer stay for my summer holidays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy_DaveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Recently had an enjoyable 2 night break at The West Bay Hotel in a double ensuite room. Hotel was clean and staff accommodating and friendly . Breakfast and Dinner were excellent but would advise booking as Dinner gets very busy. Having stayed in West Bay previously this will be my preferred accommodation in future, excellent choice I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

3 day stay here was perfect in every way. Relatively new owners Sam and Tess went out of their way to ensure that everything was perfect. Our newly renovated room with ensuite was lovely, breakfasts were outstanding and we had 2 lunches and 2 fabulous fish dinners there.
Location was ideal and even the sun shone:) We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 - no complaints and would request this room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicarswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridport hotels
0.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Bay Hotel

Property: The West Bay Hotel
Address: Station Road | West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House overlooking the beach at West Bay, we also have a restaurant specialising in Seafood and locally sourced produce. There are four recently refurbished bed and breakfast rooms with views to the beach and cliffs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The West Bay Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing