We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrumptious local food in idyllic surroundings”

Downhouse Farm Cafe
Ranked #20 of 133 Restaurants in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dorchester, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Scrumptious local food in idyllic surroundings”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I often enjoy a clotted cream tea here, which isn't so good for the waistline, but is so therapeutic.
The cafe has covered and uncovered seating and overlooks Eype Down and the seas beyond. It is best enjoyed after / during a walk in this beautiful countryside, but can also be reached by car,via a narrow lane.

We usually have a cream tea, but have also enjoyed wonderful coffee, apple punch, Dorset apple cake and much more.

Only open during the summer and they also have adjacent camping.

Try it, you'll return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim-Limbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    39
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cream Tea's a must”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Fantastic food and a great location.
We visit here at least once every year as part of our holiday.
Food is always lovely as is the service, sitting outside on the Patio eating your cream tea watching the world go by with a great view down to the sea.
Dogs on leads are welcome
If you are able to it is worth parking in Lower Eype and walking across the fields to the cafe as the road is a nightmare but well worth the drive if you have to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best apple cake in Dorset”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We made the mistake of driving to this garden café instead of walking inland towards Upper Eype from the cliff path between Seatown and West Bay. The road surface deteriorated and we almost turned back wondering if we were on the right road. However, what a gem we discovered nestled in the cliffs with wonderful views across part of Lyme Bay and Portland. This little
Al Fresco organic café serves delicious doorstep sandwiches and the best Dorset apple cake I have ever tasted! Service was excellent and there was a real friendly feel of rustic charm. A selection of daily homemade specials including vegetarian choices are served plus cream teas with home made scones and plenty of jam and cream. I believe that opening times are 10am to 6pm Tuesday to Sunday between March and the end of October. I would have awarded 5 stars had it not been for the road surface but that is probably out of the control of Downhouse Farm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waggletail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleshill
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Is it worth THAT road?”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Visited on a sunny afternoon and it was fairly busy. Eventually (the service was somewhat erratic) we had the famed lentil dahl which didn't disappoint. It's a pleasant enough place as such tea rooms go but, I have to say, nothing completely out of the ordinary and I'm not sure I would risk the car's suspension and/or tyres on the staggeringly dreadful potholed road to go back there - a shame.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil45Coleshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent cream tea!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Found this place along a very bumpy road - feeling sure I had taken a wrong turn. We all sat outside in the sun and had cream tea which was lush! warm scones, excellent jam (not too sweet) and proper clotted cream! no complaints at all here - early evening (last orders 6pm) menu looked lovely as well. Will defo be returning in the future - might walk next time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsMoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downhouse Farm Cafe also viewed

West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to Downhouse Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing