We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming”
Review of Shave Cross Inn

Shave Cross Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shave Cross Inn
Ranked #52 of 60 Bridport B&B and Inns
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We chose this pub as it was dog friendly and we weren't disappointed. We had to wait until the pub opened as we were early but had a walk round the very nice garden.
We sat in the bar area next to a huge log fire and were made very welcome. The menu was a mix of local and Caribbean food. Yes, it was a bit expensive but we don't mind paying that if the food is as good as it was here. I had the Bouillabaisse which was delicious and plentiful and my daughter loved the home made chicken strips. The locals were extremely friendly and I could have stayed all day!! There is a play area and a skittles alley which would keep everyone amused.
I would definitely return and would also consider a short break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cappy2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    18
    9
    7
    13
See reviews for
22
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Shave Cross Inn for one night in December for Dinner B&B. The room was part of a nice new build complex set slightly apart from the old country pub. The complex is well built and in keeping with the pub and the room was spacious (although the bathroom was small) and well furnished. It was however 150 pounds a night and I feel that for that price it needed to be a little more luxurious. For example the stone floors were beautiful but cold and the two little rugs by the bed did not help. Perhaps carpets or more rugs, especially in winter would make the room feel cosier - I wished I had brought my slippers for my chilled feet. There was no mini bar, the toiletries were nothing special and the television was on the small side. There are plenty of similar or slightly better standard rooms on the South Coast for much less.

The pub was charming and traditional with big roaring fires. The owners and staff very friendly, we had a very pleasant evening and a lovely meal. The menu choice was quirky with a Caribbean twist, which was very nice. My only criticism was that, again, the food was significantly overpriced, it was better quality than most, but not all, pub food and at 28 pounds per person for 2 courses was way too expensive.

Breakfast was very good indeed.

The other thing potential customers should be aware of is that the clientele, at least on the night we were there, consisted of a younger set whose language was very bad. Despite children eating in the restaurant, the staff did nothing to try and curb the constant loud swearing, which should have been made clear to them was completely unacceptable in a public bar.

Overall a lovely country pub and you will get great service and good food, but you need deep pockets and possibly a deaf ear to bad language.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is a gem of a pub! You are assured a warm welcome and a relaxing visit to this pub! They welcome the whole family including the dog. I have been to this pub on many occasion while visiting Dorset and it is my favourite. The food is great and the service is friendly and efficient.
There is a play area for kids and a skittle alley and snooker table indoors. Even if you only visit once you are still treated like a local and well looked after!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

could not fault the room although for £125 per night they should replenish the tea and biscuits and shampoo etc but the inn is very isolated down very narrow lanes. very peaceful but unless you want to drive out every night to eat down these narrow lanes you have to eat at shave cross where 2 course meal is £28 with nothing cheaper. i actually ate in knightsbridge this week in a very smart hotel and only paid £20 for 2 courses.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrycook05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had the worst lunch here I have had for 20 years in Dorset. The prices were very high - £9.95 for a ploughmans lunch and then upwards of that for anything else. Well above the going rate in this area (West Dorset). Still, we expected something good for that, so went ahead and ordered. Big mistake. The ham ploughmans consisted of 2 slices of nice brown bread, once of which was the end of the loaf, 2 slices of shop bought ham, which was wet and rather slimy, a small portion of Branston pickle and 6 small pickled onions, also from a jar and a small salad. The pint of prawns we also ordered did not come with the aioli as advertised but with a creamy salad dressing and the last inch of the pint glass was filled with wet salad leaves, so it was not even a pint. Disgusting. Service was peremptory, verging on rude. I would not recommend this place and will not be going back. A disgrace to the usually excellent food and service you get in most West Dorset pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridport hotels

Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

To be fair we booked at the last minute as the place we were already booked to stay had no availability at short notice for us to extend to the Saturday night. Also most other places were booked up too. Shave Cross did have availability in two of their premium rooms. To be honest the only thing really premium about the room was the four poster bed (and if you have a fetish for sleeping in a four poster then I suppose you will pay a premium price) but otherwise the room was really quite small. We had small suitcases for a short stay but even so we had a problem finding somewhere for them. The bathroom, though newly upgraded with high quality bathroom goods was tiny and only allowed one person at a time to be in there. A perfectly pleasant room but not worth the Central London price they were charging in the depths of rural Dorset.
The pub itself is charming and very 'Olde Worlde'. Bar service pleasant. The restaurant was fine for us for one night, as we chose from the grill selection (as did an adjacent table) and the steaks were lovely. However, beyond the steaks the choice was a bit specialised. If you love Caribbean food you will be in your element, and I have nothing against them having some exotic choices on their menu but there was a shortage of more mainstream choices. I think that if we had been staying longer we would have eaten out most nights, which given the fairly remote location of the Inn would be a bit of a pain. However, unlike the room rates the price of eating in their restaurant is very reasonable and the wine list was actually amazingly reasonable. We had a pleasant rioja for about £18 I think and I don't think there was a single wine over £25.
Also worth pointing out that all four access roads are narrow country lanes just wide enough for one car - with high hedges and passing places. You need to be comfortable driving on those kind of roads to get to the Inn.

Room Tip: Look on their website. But be aware that I think they use a wide-angle lens. I see that they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbothedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

An absolutely delightful hostelry delicious food, charming wishing well, secret children's play area, cute pond and old skittles alley, kept my 2 year old very well entertained after he tucked into the best children's meal I have seen anywhere! Lovely place to catch up with an old friend - could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Spangleystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
5.6 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
494 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
775 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
519 reviews
6.1 mi away
Winyard's Gap Inn
Winyard's Gap Inn
#1 of 8 in Beaminster
52 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bridport Arms Hotel
Bridport Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Bay
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shave Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shave Cross Inn

Property: Shave Cross Inn
Address: Marshwood, DT6 | Brudport Dorset, Bridport DT6 6HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shave Cross Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shave Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shave Cross Hotel Bridport
Shave Cross Inn Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing