We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bringing the man back to his roots”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is very clean the staff are helpful and friendly the breakfast is very nice with a good choice. I take my dad there nearly every year to see his family he is 83 now and the staff are always there to give a helping hand if required.

Room Tip: The rooms are very clean the beds are comfy also with drink facilities if you require them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here one night and found it very comfortable with good service from the team running he hotel. Our two daughters especially enjoyed our attic family room which worked out very well for the four of us and at good value. The breakfast was very pleasant with a good mix on offer.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here with the standout point being the nice touch low key but attentive service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonegables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I loved this hotel and the people who work there.

I stayed with my family(including my autistic son) for one week and everyone there went out of their way to meet every one of his needs, it warmed my heart that this was the most social he has ever been with someone outside the family.

I would like to thank Bob, Roger and everyone else for making this the best hotel stay ever.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittengal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived Saturday late be very impressed to find reserved parking for us.
We had a cute room no 11 at the back of the hotel which was to our delight very quiet. Comfortable clean bed and en suite.
Was greeted in the morning by a pleasant albeit slightly abrupt waitress who was obviously keen to keep things ticking over at a fast pace. She almost immediately asked for our order without explaining how the menu worked. But in saying this our breakfast was plentiful and nice.
We thoroughly enjoyed our night caps in the cosy basement bar. And both nights was served by helpful obliging staff.
The hotel has a lovely secluded garden, and just a fifty yard walk from a very good restaurant. . But note not open on Sunday's.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastbarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were very well looked after at the Bridge House when we stayed for the weekend. The breakfast was first class with very nice touches and attention to detail and when we enjoyed a nightcap in the bar there was an abundance of choice and hospitality. Furthermore, there was a real feeling of being made welcome and the location just at the top of the Hih Street made it the perfect choice for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed again at the Bridge House Hotel and got our usual warm welcome. We use it as home when on cricket tour in the surrounding villages and Roger, Etty and the staff are all very welcoming.

The hotel is going through a renewal since we first stayed many years ago the decor is much improved. We loved the basement bar and its guitars and bongo. :-)

Breakfast is very good all food and drink was excellent.

Bathrooms do need fixed showers as soon as possible, but that is the only improvement :-)

Looking forward to next years tour already.

Room Tip: In hot weather avoid the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesErbCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Seems to be run on a shoestring with the same lady manning reception when I arrived, serving breakfast and carrying linens up to the storeroom. The building is old but the effort to furnish it in line with its age didn't quite come off. I was travelling with my dog and was shown to a room where an area was pointed out which would be "good for the dog". It was simply the only available space in the room, which was tiny, there wasn't even room for my suitcase unless I blocked the door. The shower room was similarly small, with bare plaster at the top of the cubicle. The restaurant was closed due to some refurbishment programme (which didn't stop the hotel charging the full rack rate of £75) and although the breakfast menu was described as "extensive", I couldn't see why, and if you wanted haddock or kippers you were asked to order the night before! The bed was comfortable and really the only large thing (at 4ft) but the hotel's position near a busy roundabout, with the window necessarily wide open didn't make for the best night's sleep.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank DJHinWinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
0.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
930 reviews
1.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
525 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Greyhound
The Greyhound
#9 of 10 in Bridport
130 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
296 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Address: 115 East Street, Bridport DT6 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Price Range: £94 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are open throughout the year, offering short breaks and weekly holidays, as well as the facilities that a visitor needs whilst on business in West Dorset . All rooms have en-suite facilities, whilst the bar offers quiet space for a relaxing drink. Free WiFi, CCTV monitored car park, Electric Vehicle charging point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Bridport
Bridge House Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing