We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely stay!”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a lovely stay!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A lovely and comfortable hotel. Staff are very friendly, helpful, welcoming and accommodating! It's situated in the heart of bridport so convenient, and plenty of parking too which is a bonus for the town centre. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank salisbury2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    45
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
34
73
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Check in was painless and the fella running the place showed us up to our room no problem, didn't need to leave key at reception, were told the times they finish on reception and where the wine bar is for later drinks. So aside from the price it was great, I would state they are small rooms but with good facilities and en suite. However I DID wake up at 4 a.m. with the greatest belief that a ghost was tearing up carpet right beside the bed and after an hour or so of wracking my (very tired) brain over what that god awful noise was I realised it was the damn flag right outside the window of our room in the high winds (although I'm sure it's just as scary whilst sober and without spring winds) I already knew the room next door was empty hence my terror. For £130 a night for a three star I think is a bit extreme, everything was clean and nice but just what I'd expect really (comparing our recent trip elsewhere we booked a FOUR star for TWO nights for less that one night here) was still pleasant. HOWEVER there was a cock-up upon departure with the room tab and more was charged until pointed out by us that it was the wrong amount.
I would stay again but NOT for the same price. not even relatively close to the seafront either. Still one of the better places I have stayed. *shakes head at price*

Room Tip: DON'T get a room on the front (flag and traffic a major weakener)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstdashian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our family of four stayed in Bridge House Hotel for just one night just before Easter. It was perfect for what we needed - at the beginning of one of the main streets, shops, pubs and restaurants within walking distance. One of the attic rooms just the right size, clean; although the window was from the street side, not much traffic heard. Decent breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a great check in from Sam and thought the room was OK - twin room on the main road - the traffic noise is a bit full on, the windows could benefit from secondary glazing. The single beds were narrow singles and a bit springy. But on the whole the room was fine.
We tried the wine bar after returning from our restaurant and thought is was good - there was Sam again and he had arranged a live singer in the bar who was very good - there was a good atmosphere so we stayed for a couple of drinks.
The next morning we went down to breakfast and found a very different atmosphere - a little like a working mans club in the 1950s - there were some long term American residents - workers of some kind who slightly took over the room, then a very bossy/rude waitress who treated everyone like naughty children - shouting across the room at the Americans - 'I'm moving your room today, make sure your bags are packed, don't put that cup on the table, etc, etc.....For £99 per night, this was not good value at all.

Room Tip: On the plan of the rooms we were in the largest room and it was't great, I would not stay here a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Booked in for a couple of nights while attending a reunion - arrived on the bus from Weymouth and was warmly greeted at reception. Room was cosy and decor in good repair - the bed was positioned eccentrically, but this just added to the ambiance. Breakfast served in a traditional style breakfast room with good tasty local produce. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Having had a very hectic few weeks i decided to look for somewhere not to far from home to go to recharge our batteries
what a stroke of luck to find this fab hotel..on the edge of town close to all the shops and amenities.
we arrived in the afternoon to be met by a very welcoming member of staff...and shown to our room which was lovely. we were provided with a lovely cafetiere and cream and shown the other parts of the hotel. the housekeeper was very helpful.
Though it rained and was all in all a bit wet and windy the warm and friendly atmosphere from
breakfast.... to the evenings spent in cellar bar making music and new friends made it one of those very special places. we will return without a doubt.and.. would recommend....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed one night while visiting family for a birthday party. Room was cosy and clean, fluffy towels nice hospitality tray and bottled water, toiletries in bathroom. feather pillows what more could you want. The breakfast was excellent and staff friendly and efficient wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Had room 4 at the front so could hear traffic but this didn't really bother us. Little bit pricey but for one night OK

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetiepie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
0.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
776 reviews
1.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
495 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
268 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
143 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Property: Bridge House Hotel
Address: 115 East Street, Bridport DT6 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are open throughout the year, offering short breaks and weekly holidays, as well as the facilities that a visitor needs whilst on business in West Dorset including "off road" car parking. All rooms have en-suite facilities, whilst the bar lounge offers quiet elegance for relaxation and the the facility to invite conversation for residents and invited friends. A fine restaurant complements the traditional ambiance of the hotel, and the wine list complements the Brasserie menu prepared with fresh produce by the homely chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Bridport
Bridge House Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing