We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further...The perfect B&B in a fab location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highway Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highway Farm
Ranked #3 of 61 Bridport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Look no further...The perfect B&B in a fab location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

LOOK NO FURTHER! I came across Highway Farm on Tripadvisor and from the reviews I didn't hesitate to call. Pauline & John are so lovely, very knowledgable and helpful and serve the most gorgeous breakfast! What makes this B&B so special is the added touches, for example the home made flapjacks on arrival (ask for the recipe- divine!) the fridge to keep your beers cold & the maps & information to help you make the most of your stay. The location is beautiful, and we especially enjoyed our al fresco breakfast looking out over the hills and the lake. The Jurassic coast is on your doorstep, which is beautiful and extremely clean. It's a great spot for exploring the coast and with Pauline & John's advice be sure to take advantage of the glorious walks. Yummy pubs and restaurants nearby, and towns with lovely little shops- especially if you like vintage.
Really looking forward to going back and visiting again (and trying out the craft workshops)... we have already recommended to friends and family! Leigh & Matt x

TIP: If you'd prefer a private cottage, check out www.specialdorsetcottages.co.uk

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeighBear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline B, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you both, you said it all!

Flapjack recipe in my charity Highway Farm KISS cook book...raising money for Cancer Research, see our charity page on website, available to buy or as a kindle book too.

Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
131
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Oh my word, what a fabulous B&B! Found more by luck than judgement. My wife and I stayed for a long weekend and loved every minute of it. Pauline and John were the perfect hosts. Our room was very well appointed and very comfortable. We stayed in a downstairs room which had a really good sized shower room and a cracking shower. Lovely views from the patio and we were very lucky with the weather so were able to breakfast al fresco both days. Breakfasts were really top notch (don't whatever you do miss out on the cooked breakfast!!) and catered for my wife's dietary needs with neither fuss nor ado. We've no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Highway Farm wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryW132132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Kind words..me thinks kind sir. The pleasure was ours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very warm welcome from Pauline and John. Lovely bedroom very clean and very spacious. The only downfall for me was the furnishings was quite dated dark brown wooden furniture and bathroom could do with a slight update. I prefer modern furniture. This is not a negative comment as I would stay again if in area. Nice views. They even had their only cows on site and I saw many wild rabbits. Breakfast was great. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4lemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay, and loved the photos of the cows...they just love come up to the garden to see who is about!

The ground floor room is very suitable for people with mobility problems with a big walk in shower room. It's my vintage meets Africa room, and there's lots of vintage in Bridport! The markets days, Saturdays and Wednesdays, and a Vintage and Artists quarter that's great for a browse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have spent weekends as bed and breakfast during both Spring and Autumn during the past 6 years and found the quality of rooms, breakfast and general atmosphere without fault. Pauline and John make all their guests feel very welcome and I would n't hesitate in recommending Highway Farm to anyone seeking quality time in this part of West Dorset.

Room Tip: There are four rooms, three on the first floor and one on the ground floor. Room 2 has a bath wherea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 973Jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Jen. We love seeing you both, always a warm welcome and a catch up waiting and hope to see you in September.....there's something special about West Dorset that just keeps pulling you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

A very warm welcome. Pauline & John were very friendly and helpful.
Nicely decorated cosy room with a beautiful view.
The highlight of our stay was the delicious breakfast on the patio overlooking the stunning view.
We saw swallows and deer! My daughter(11) loved the chickens and playing swing ball !
Thank you for looking after us. We will definitely back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yukari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review. I know it takes time and effort but it is so helpful and much appreciated. Lucky for you...a breakfast in the garden! Now glorious bluebells everywhere and woodpeckers yaflling outside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were celebrating a family birthday and took over the 4 rooms for the long Easter weekend. We had a brilliant time from the moment we arrived with welcoming and very friendly hosts. We would all very happily return to enjoy again the relaxed stay we experienced. The rooms were comfortable, the food delicious and Pauline and John were warm and very friendly. The location is ideal for visiting the local area and there was lots of info offered to help us decide what to do. Many thanks to you both.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We love a family celebration! Always lovely to gather everyone together and delighted you chose Highway Farm. A pleasure to meet you all and we'd happily welcome you all back to Dorset, anytime or for another special occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were unexpectedly (and very happily) offered an upgrade to stay in Ganders Cottage, which sealed a lovely long weekend for us. Husband went off to do another section of the SWC Path, while I lost myself in the market in Bridport on Saturday (Farmers, antiques and ordinary) - take a young man (or two) to carry everything! Surrounding area glorious, hosts so willing to make sure we had a good time, sharing local info and recommendations. The Crown does a great Sunday lunch. Early morning sitting outside watching the deer and rabbits, and the local birdlife - all made a very welcome relaxing break from the madness of everyday life. We will definitely be back for more. Our thanks to a smashing couple xx

Room Tip: Ganders Cottage well equipped, cosy, and with excellent early morning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TillyBale, Owner at Highway Farm, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Very welcome relaxing break from the madness of everyday life....love it. So pleased you had a great time. We aim to make your stay special! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highway Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highway Farm

Property: Highway Farm
Address: Highway Farm West Road, Bridport DT6 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Dorset! Highway Farm B&B and Ganders Cottage are situated in the countryside by the sea. It a stunning walk to the south west coastal footpath from the farm and you can also walk to the market town of Bridport and a good local pub. Enjoy hearty breakfasts on the patio in the garden overlooking the fishing lakes. All the rooms are spacious and en-suite rooms and Cottage for self-catering or wintertime B&B. We are local hosts with a wealth of local knowledge and we're here to help make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Highway Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highway Farm Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing