We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER GREAT STAY”
Review of Britmead House B&B

Britmead House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Britmead House B&B
Ranked #40 of 59 Bridport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Once again we can only praise Alan Louisa and their staff, for a warm weclome, clean and well decorated rooms.
Breakfast BRILLIANT
We will highly recommend Britmead House to our family and friends.
Look forward to seeing you all next time.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesleyandjohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Had a lovely break in wonderful Dorset at Britmead. Lovely clean, spacious, well appointed room with everything we needed. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great brekkie - wish I could have eaten everything on the extensive menu - maybe next time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelSun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We have just spent the last ten days in the beautiful town of Bridport. We stayed in the quiet and relaxing Britmead House...home from home. If it is a relaxing atmosphere that you are looking for...somewhere to just unwind then you will find it at Britmead House!! the friendly owners were always only the push of a button away should we have ever needed anything..nothing was to much trouble for them and all you had to do was ask. My wife and I have travelled all over the world ..In the States and all over Europe and have stayed in 5 star ...7 star accommodation so we know just what to expect but it here at Britmead House that we tasted real English hospitality... the full English breakfast was outstanding or you could have the truly tasty scrambled eggs and salmon. Rooms were clean and tidy and the coffee / tea was a welcome sight when we returned from shopping locally. We would recommend Britmead House without hesitation and we are already planning to stay there in future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesmckevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just returned from 3 night stay at Britmead. Lovely welcome, spotless room, fantastic breakfast served by excellent, smiley staff every day. Owners friendly and welcoming, nothing too much trouble for anything you need. Would highly recommend the Britmead as this is our second visit and would have no hesitation in returning again and again!! Many thanks again for your kind
hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fromeies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights whilst touring Dorset.We were given a large comfortable room at the front of the house which was more than adequate for our needs.Beds were comfortable and the room was immaculately presented.
Breakfast is served in a room over looking a pleasant garden area and we were welcomed by a charming young lady who served us an excellent breakfast, sausages were proper sausages which is always the mark of a good place in my book.
Traffic noise was barely noticeable during the day although Britmead it is situated on the road to West bay but was barely noticed at all at night!
We chatted with owners ALan and Loisa who were friendly and charming and also extremely helpful in suggesting places for us to visit whilst in the area.
We pais £ 74 per night for B&B which represents exceedingly good value for the quality of the establishment. We will most certainly return when next down this way.

Room Tip: We atsyed in a room facing the road , no problem with road noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

After our recent weekend stay there 10/11 August 2012, I would rate it highly as B&B's go , but it does not merit its 4 star AA rating . For a start we were not greeted by the owners who do not live in the house, but next door. This is not an issue in itself, but the atmosphere you expect of a B&B is undermined if you can only see them when there is a problem (ours was that the room had not been cleaned by their staff who thought we had not gone out) If you go to a discount hotel chain you do not expect to see anybody intelligent or otherwise, but in a B&B you do. The cleaner showed us to the room which was OK but we were surprised to find a cracked washbasin in the bathroom.. Although there was a bath the owners have forgotten that visitors have quite a lot of wash stuff when they go away, and need a little more than a tiny glass shelf for it,
One is also confronted by a long list of rules including a 1 hour short 'window' for breakfast (8:15 to 9:15) which is too late if you are on business and too early if its a weekend. Understandably they do not want to pay staff for too long. Having said that the breakfast was faultless and the waitress quite perfect! I think the odd daily paper for guests' use would have been a nice touch and justification of the 4th star. It would be better if copies of Dorset Life more recent than 2011 were in reception. Not a problem in itself , but if my B&B was awarded 4 stars and I was charging £74 per night I would feel I had to attend to these sorts of small details, and I would certainly make a point of being friendly to my guests. On the plus side when our room got cleaned the second day it was to a high standard. The garden at the rear is lovely and this leads to the car park.

Room Tip: rooms at back hot but quieter. Road very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

A lovely B&B just a few minutes walk from the Jurassic Coast and the market town of Bridport.
Friendly owners checked us in to a charming room which was both clean and tidy.
En suite bathroom was excellent and looked brand new!
As previously reported on here, the breakfast was SUPERB! just about everything or anything you could possibly want... the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was perfect and the full English was easily one of the best I've had!
Nothing seemed too much trouble for the owners or staff.
I would definately recommend a stay here and am looking forward to a return trip out of season for a walking break...

Room Tip: Rear rooms have the county side view but don't be put off by the road. its not that noisy at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridport hotels
4.4 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
56 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
261 reviews
1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
525 reviews
5.9 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#4 of 5 in Charmouth
504 reviews
1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britmead House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britmead House B&B

Address: B&B 154 West Bay Road, Bridport DT6 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Britmead House B&B Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing