We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rudge Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I organised this get away for my husbands 40th with our family and friends. What a wonderful weekend we all had! The farm is a kiddies paradise. They just loved the freedom with lots to do. This always makes a parents break away heaven. The cottages are clean and comfy - a home from home. Beaches are nice and close too. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Rudge Farm Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our first visit to Rudge Farm and it was just lovely. The cottages are cosy and well appointed and the views just lovely. The kids had a very happy time rowing on the lake, playing in the games rooms and generally running about in a safe environment. Will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Farm set in the most beautiful part of the country. We stayed here for a few days earlier this year, and much like one previous reviewer, we too knocked at the farmhouse door upon arrival and didn't get an answer. We then let ourselves into our cottage, but really didn't feel happy about doing so, it almost felt like we were trespassing. Just a quick 'hello' would have been great!

Cottage had everything you could want. It was lovely in the evening to go and feed the ducks and have a mooch around the grounds.

Ideal for young families. The only sound you will hear is of sheep and cows!

Room Tip: I should imagine all cottages are well equipped with everything you would need.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank FrazKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My family has stayed here many times including two visits this year. The cottages are very nice and have everything you need. They are user friendly and you don't feel continuous panic if you have young children there! The grounds and setting are completely stunning. My family and I lay in the garden outside our cottage and listened to the sound of the birds wings whirring through the air as they sped around the buildings. We are talking seriously peaceful! We loved it so much we got married there.

Room Tip: All the cottages are nice. Stables is small but has it's own garden.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank nemesisofpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

These self catering cottages are just in such an idyllic setting, nestling in a valley in beautiful countryside. We stayed here for 4 nights in early July and thoroughly enjoyed our mini break. Pigstsy cottage sleeps 2 and we found it to be well kitted out; comfortable and cosy. There is plenty for children to do with a well stocked games room, books, DVDs and videos. Outside there is a large pond with rowing boats, a trampoline and sandpit area for little ones. Garden / field walks take you through woodland and across streams to a wonderful vantage point.
Well situated being a short drive to the coastal town of Bridport and local beaches and villages. Plenty of nice pubs and restaurants around if you dont want to cook. We ate out at the Crown Inn in Puncknowle; and the Anchor at Burton Bradstock - both serve delicious food. Also good local farm shops selling excellent produce.
We will definitely be back to stay here in the future; we loved Rudge Farm and the local area

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Pinklady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Spent a couple of days here with my wife, daughter, son in law and grandchildren during the easter break.
Arrived late afternoon on the Friday and knocked at the Farmhouse no answer and no sign of the owners, my daughter searched round and found the right cottage and we moved in, at no time during the four days that my family stayed there did they see sight nor sound of the owners and/or staff.
My daughter and family left on the Monday still non the wiser, does not inspire you with confidence about the ambience of the place.
The whole place was a little bit tired and I think this could have been due to the horrible weather and perhaps they have not had time (if they exist) to get prepared for the new season.
However my granddaughter loved the grounds, the play area and small boating lake the skittles etc.
Probably looks totally different in the sunshine and being met by a friendly face. Who knows ?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed at Stable Cottage and found the cottage excellent standard with every comfort you need in good quality self catering property. Excellent location with brilliant facilities for our 2year old. Loved the sandpit, toys, wendy house and playpark, It was perfect safe environment to let him play in. He loved the ducks and we had our own garden for him to run round in. It is so peaceful and relaxing but in a good location to see the highlights of the area, West Bay, Abbotsbury, Weymouth and Lyme Regis are in easy reach by car. And of course lots of lovely beaches. The little fishing lake is also fun for the Dads and Daddy caught 4 fish which made him very happy too! This was our second stay and we cant wait to go back. Good quality accommodation at an excellent price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
3.9 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
828 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
241 reviews
12.2 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
40 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lancombe Country Cottages & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rudge Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudge Farm Cottages

Address: Chilcombe, Bridport DT6 4NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Bridport
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rudge Farm Cottages is peacefully situated on a gentle south-facing slope, overlooking the beautiful Bride Valley and close to Dorset’s World Heritage coastline. The farm is a haven for peace and tranquility within 20 acres of beautiful countryside of mature woodland, meadows and lakes. The old farm buildings have been thoughtfully converted into ten attractive holiday cottages, maintaining many of the original features, ranged around a flower-decked yard and with spectacular views across the Bride Valley towards the Coast. The cottages are all 4 star tourist board rated and are comfortably furnished with a warm and inviting atmosphere providing the perfect place for families or couples. The cottages vary in size from one to three bedrooms with most accommodation on the ground floor. Around the Farm we have plenty of leisure facilities, a picturesque woodland walk and sporting activities, including an all weather tennis court, for the more active. Alternatively you can enjoy relaxing down by the meadows or perhaps take a gentle row around the lake. The games room and games barn provide plenty of indoor activities if the weather is not so good. These include pool, table tennis, skittle alley and table football. The farm is also ideal for younger children with safe play areas including a sandpit, swings and slides, trampoline and activity pirate ship. Close to Rudge Farm there are plenty of fantastic beaches, including Hive Beach which has the highly recommended (by the Sunday Times) Hive Beach Cafe. There are also great beaches a bit further afield at Lyme Regis and Weymouth. The Dorset Coastline is a World Heritage site and provides some of the most dramatic coastline in the UK with Chesil Beach, Durdle Door and Golden Cap. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rudge Farm Cottages Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing