We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations after other reports!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Half Moon

The Half Moon
Ranked #14 of 132 Restaurants in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations after other reports!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The welcome for Sunday lunch was good, staff were good except for one waitress that has forgotten how to smile.
The bread & oil dip for two turned out to be two small soft rolls, they were warm! For £2.50.
The starters were good Scallops and Pancetta and Duck Egg with Duck Breast , both excellent.
The mains of Roast Sirloin of Beef was a bit on the fatty side and not particularly tender, vegetables were al dente and good, I asked for line caught filets of sea bass on wild mushrooms, oak choi and Thai Broth. When the waitress brought a soup spoon to the table I wondered????
The dish was brought in a bowl absolutely swimming in 'broth'. I asked for some bread to assist and was told that I would have to purchase 2 more of the small soft rolls at £2.50? I asked if they could just do a slice of bread to be told "No" anyway the Sea Bass was ok.
My wife had Carrot Cake that tasted more like bread pudding and I had the cheese board that was excellent.
Not once during our meal were we asked if everything was satisfactory.
A beer and glass of wine plus a bottle of red wine and coffee and our bill was £98.00, we did not feel this good value, we often spend a lot more for lunch but this pub is not for us, WE SHALL NOT BE RETURNING.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    54
    16
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great night!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancée really enjoyed a lovely mean at the half moon. We were recommended it from a chap at the palmers brewery and it didn't disappoint. Each course was immaculately presented, cooked to perfection as well as ample. For £80 for 3 courses x2 and wine you can't really complain.
A worthy lofty #3 out of 97 in the top rankings, we ate at Rachel's too and that just shades it but it's like comparing apples and pears with the pair.

Helpful?
Thank Steveshezz1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fancy food!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

great looking dishes with a pretty big price tag! however i believe it was worth it as the presentation was impressive and up to a very high standard you can tell that they are passionate. the service was great and so was the wine! will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poppyseed122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious and great value”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The food was delicious, good value, with attentive service in a relaxed setting.

I especially liked the fact that we didn't feel at all rushed during the meal, the staff seemed to pace the evening very well.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant, we paid around £70 for 2 courses, a bottle of wine, and a dessert to share. The dessert was especially delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazzles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Birthday dinner”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We've lived in Melplash for over 30 years and have seen a number of landlords come and go at The Half Moon, but please, please let this one stay! I recently celebrated a significant birthday and Dan, the chef/landlord produced a meal to remember and savour for years. One word - magnificent! The staff are warm, welcoming and above all, cheerful. This is a West Dorset gem, so don't drive by, go in and enjoy what we consider some of the best food in Dorset in a lovely old pub with character and atmosphere. A word of warning , you might need to book but while you're there try Dan's innovative light bites and snacks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Half Moon also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
Bridport, Dorset
 

Been to The Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing