We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fab stay”
Review of Old Bidlake Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Bidlake Farm
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have just come back from another fantastic long weekend at Bidlake. Sue & Nick are evolving this site to be better & better each year. We all had a brilliant time, our children were safe and ran free while we could relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Such a friendly welcome and full of so many fabulous hand made touches. We will be back :-)
The Holburn, Purdy & Logan families

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Let me preface this review by saying - I don't camp. However, on this one occasion that I did camp, it truly was perfect.

Sue and Nick have created a little slice of camping heaven in a picturesque field just north of Bridport and West Bay. The spacious bell tents are perfect to fit a family of four with plenty of room to spare. Although camping, you are not totally cut off from the mod cons that non-campers need - like a hot shower, a kettle for a cuppa, and plenty of outlets to charge a phone or two.

If camping was this beautiful and hassle-free as they make it, I probably would have started camping years ago! Oh, and Sue makes a delicious Dorset apple cake!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanJamLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We returned to Old Bidlake Farm for our third year running, the simplicity and charm of the place never failing and the familiar ritual felt like returning to visit friends. But there were also changes because each year Sue and Nick take on board suggestions and they have new ideas about how they can tweak and improve your visit without ever compromising the space and quality of what they offer.

So for this year new delights were the lovely cabin built for rainy evenings in the camp field but which acted as a great place for children to share secrets and to learn new games – my children were taught top trumps this year by a newly made camping friend. Along with the new little shed toilets between the tents for middle of the night wee’s – so much easier with a little one in the dark.

Each year Sue and Nick buy new tents to give the season’s visitors crisp fresh canvas and this year we slept for the first time in Bell Tents (previous years they had been Lavvu). The bell tents were even more spacious.

This year we were lucky too that Sue and Nick arranged sunshine for every morning we woke up and we even saw a magical orange moon, along with many many stars.

Although we have been visiting Dorset for a number of years we still found new places to visit because Bidlake Farm is so well located and this year we travelled into Devon for the first time visiting a beautiful fishing village, Beer, here we hired a motor boat that my children loved. We returned with Mackerel to BBQ on the rocket stove but I’d forgotten to get gutted - Nick came to the rescue and kindly took that job on for me. Another day we ate an amazing meal at the Watch House Café in West Bay and we also visited one place so magical I don’t want to share here in case it becomes too busy (sorry) – but Dorset really is a place for family discoveries and adventures and at the end of each day you can return to the comfort of Old Bidlake Farm (and warmth on a cool night because you are provided with hot water bottles).

The camp kitchen provides an easy way to cook if you don’t feel like getting a fire going in the rocket stove but of course you can’t cook marshmallows on an electric hob!

Each day the camp returns to the glory of the last, the showers and kitchen are always clean, there is ALWAYS hot water in the showers which are just lovely. There are clever tricks so that toilet paper is held on craftily devised wooded rods in the roof so that you never ever run out.
This year because we asked for a last minute extra night and we were kindly offered the opportunity of a night in the Chaffinch. The caravan was set in the orchard for us, and we cozied up in the sweet space for a final evening. My daughter loved the caravan – she had her own curtain across her bed – which she adored and for a while that evening it seemed the rest of the camp kids liked the van too as they sat playing cards on the little bed. I loved the kitsch and the wall paper patterns.

We love Old Bidlake Farm, my 9 year old daughter says that she will go there with her children when she grows up. My son just loves the camp and the freedom and Daisy the dog especially. It is situated in a beautiful part of Dorset with so many choices of places to visit.

Just to add we are campers and we do camp in other sites too each summer in our own tent – but the ease of turning up and having everything on hand, sleeping under canvas (such a treat if you are used to nylon) – and having the space that you are given here is just amazing. We haven’t been to a campsite like it, the love and care that go into making your holiday special are above and beyond. It has a special place in our heart. Thank you – we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahWrightCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

wonderful Eco-friendly camping site. You could see the personal touches everywhere... I think I may have eaten too many of Sue's wonderful Apple cakes... 5 couldn't help it .. they were irresistible! will definitely come back here again.. 5 stars!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaluVanMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have just spent a lovely 4 nights at Old Bidlake Farm and would highly recommend it. The campsite is in a beautiful location, but close enough to Bridport to satisfy my husband's Costa cravings! The tents are beautiful and tardis-like - we had two adults and 7 and 4 year old daughters in one and we didn't feel at all cramped. Virtually everything novice campers could need is provided, and Sue the owner was only too happy to make sure we had all we needed. The space around the tents was perfect - there were 3 other families of 4 staying, so all 8 children had a lovely time playing together, but once they'd gone to bed, the tents were far enough apart to allow us some privacy. The communal areas were very clean and well equipped. Our only disappointment was that we only booked for the 4 nights - we wish we'd taken the plunge and gone for the full week! Our 7 year old doesn't believe she will ever have a holiday as good as this one!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank LutzandLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We are delighted to have found this lovely eco-friendly camp/glamp site.
Everything was well-considered, provided and thoughtful. There was no sense of the more commercial glamping sites that our friends have visited. Our hosts were delightful and have provided a unique experience in a lovely setting. This is easy adventure on a respectful, friendly and welcoming site. We will be returning and have recommended Bidlake to friends already!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

What a find, excellent location, excellent price and lovely owners. With space and a very clean shower/ kitchen block I cannot wait to book again for next year. A gem !!!!!! With only 4 bell tents on site you get enough freedom with out feeling on top of each other. My son enjoyed the horses next door and the sheep in the field, plus the apple cakes so lovely and freshly baked by Sue, Next year we will visit with friends and would visit every year if I could .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billygracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridport hotels
3 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
56 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
908 reviews
0 mi away
Wheelwrights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
261 reviews
3.8 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
524 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bidlake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bidlake Farm

Address: Broadoak, Bridport DT6 5PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Bridport
Also Known As:
Old Bidlake Farm Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing