We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Brilliant!”
Review of The George Hotel

The George Hotel
Ranked #31 of 133 Restaurants in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Incredibly well decorated with amazing attention to detail wherever you look! The staff are very friendly and we were served by Alex and another young lady who we're polite, chatty and made great conversation.The food was again incredible, I had the plaice and my girlfriend had the steak. Deliciously cooked and served, great value for money! Perfect evening! Will definitely be returning in the near future! Thank you once again.

Helpful?
Thank Olly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    34
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a two night trip to Bridport where we ate each night at the George. It's a really great pub with friendly staff and a great atmosphere. The food was very good. The first night I had the pork which was delicious, as was the duck on the second night. We were there as a party of six and the service was excellent with all our meals being ready at the same time. What a shame we live so far away so can't go there more often!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhatAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly relaxing atmosphere.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The George hotel recently refurbished is a lovely friendly place to go for coffee, lunch or evening meals. Reasonably priced, menu not extensive but enough choice, however would like to see menu changed monthly as a local person who enjoys eating out with friends and family. Overall friendly relaxing environment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shonnadorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Many ,many thanks to Annette and Julian for a superb birthday lunch with attentive, considered service.

The wonderful fish platter,followed by the most delicious, tender and sweet lamb cutlets.were outstanding.

We have been regulars of the George for years, and think that the refurbishments are very welcome and create a great ambience.

Annette and Julian have only been 'in situ' a few months and have already stamped their friendly, welcoming character on the pub.

Well done !!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hamish278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Everywhere was packed in Bridport, the George said we could have a reserved table for 20 mins whilst we had a coffee, then someone left on another table so we took that table and fed the kids. Menu good, service fab, place was lovely and that's rubbish about the chips written in previous review, the chips were great served in a little frying basket and were really crispy and nice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudine305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Hotel also viewed

 
Bridport, Dorset
 

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing