We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmers Brewery

Palmers Brewery
Ranked #6 of 36 things to do in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Preston Lancs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We toured the brewery with Julie as our excellent guide, she was very knowledgable and interesting to listen to. She was also gave us some great ideas for places to visit locally that we wouldn't have otherwise known about. Most helpful. A lovely old brewery with lots of history, the brewing process was fascinating to see and the tasting at the end went down a treat too. A definite if you are in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank louni24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very interesting tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We really enjoyed our tour round this brewery. there are lots of old and new machines to see and it was very informative. The tour takes about 1hr 30mins and begins and ends in the wine shop. Visitors are given a beer glass and free drink at the end.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Died and Gone To Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Beer - Brewed in this thatched building since 1794. Informative tour and an excellent wine store to purchase all manner of alcoholic beverages to take home. Worth a stop just for the tasting experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent tour - highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We did the brewery tour after experiencing some Palmers beer. I hadn't heard of them before, and a visit to the website led us to book a tour.

We were shown around by Bob, who is really knowledgable and a real character. The brewery is incredible. The tour gives full access to the brewing process as it is done today, and alongside some very modern equipment, decommissioned kit that has clearly seen many years service has been left pretty much left in situ, it really is like a museum in places.

The tour runs at a gentle pace, with lots of time to see everything and ask questions.

After the tour, there is the opportunity to taste Palmers ales in the brewery shop. I'd recommend not driving there, as the only limit to the samples is how much is in the casks. You also get a rather nice glass as a momentous of your visit.

The tour (along with the opportunity it to sample the beer afterwards) is probably the best value activity we did during our time in Dorset.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark_wuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brewery shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

A great addition to Bridport. Knowledgeable staff and an excellent choice of both showcase and regular wines. Helpful descriptions of each wine enable an informed choice which always works. Well worth paying a little more for.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palmers Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Palmers Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing