We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended - lovely little B&B”
Review of Fleet Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fleet Cottage
Ranked #54 of 59 Bridport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Fleet Cottage, Dorset - I stayed here for 2 nights April 2013. I was in a double en-suite....a very warm, clean, comfortable self-contained room at the back of the house. Very peaceful. Email contact prior to my stay was prompt and courteous. During my stay, Janice was out of sight, but available when I needed her - perfect!

There is a SPAR shop a short distance away, should you need supplies. West Bay is a 2 minute drive away. Bridport (busy town centre ) is 5-10 minutes away. Charmouth beach (fossils, Jurassic Coast ) is about 20 minutes drive away.

Breakfast was served around a large farmhouse table - cooked on the spot as you waited...it couldn't be fresher or hotter!! The chat was easy-going and friendly. Janice is a warm-hearted, affable lady.

At the same time ( referring to the other review where the guests had to leave due to illness ) this lady is running a BUSINESS ...and for them to leave a bad review simply because she took full payment for the room when they left earlier than planned was wrong in my opinion!! She welcomes people into her house with warmth and a smile.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and I'll recommend to family and friends when they stay in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Sadly this B&b did not come up to the standard I would expect for £40 per night. The room was far from clean as was the kettle. The basin in the 'en suite' had not been cleaned recently. The landlady appeared to be more interested in watching television than ensuring her guests were catered for. I was most concerned that the 'plug-in' air fresheners could be most detrimental to anyone who had a breathing condition.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Fleet Cottage, West Bay, Bridport is lost in the 1950's. It is the very old-type B&B. Seems purely there to make money, no real care behind the service. A very unfortunate set of circumstances caused us to leave after one night, quite unavoidable owing to illness. The landlady frankly did not take this very graciously in spite of our paying in full. One of our rooms was not clean. I would never recommend this place. Strangely I notice a previous contributor referring to "gorgeous views". We saw no views - just the houses next door and a very noisy road. Beware the "fresh-air" plug ins - they are absolutely stifling.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed one night at this B&B, we booked a family room and a double room. The family room was very spacious with the most comfy queen sized bed and 2 single beds with an en suite. The double room had gorgeous views of the countryside with a shared bathroom and toilet. The rooms were very cosy with tea, coffee and kettles. We asked to borrow and iron which was no problem at all. The breakfast was delicious with a selection of cereals and a cooked breakfast of choice, tea, coffee and orange juice. The owners where very pleasent and helpful. This has been the best B&B my family and I have stayed at my children loved there stay here and have already asked to go back which we most certainly will.

The B&B is easy to find with off road parking. A short drive or walk away from west bay. If you drive to west bay you can park in the car park for only £1.70 for the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissSCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridport hotels
4.4 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
56 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
261 reviews
1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
525 reviews
5.9 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#4 of 5 in Charmouth
504 reviews
1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleet Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleet Cottage

Address: 152 West Bay Road, Bridport DT6 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small comfortable B&B only 5 minutes walk from West Bay and 10 minutes walk to Bridport. The rooms are all comfortably fitted with tea and coffee making facilities. TV in all rooms plus hair dryers, en suite facilities available in most rooms. Breakfast is served in the large farmhouse kitchen by the Aga stove, its all very friendly and informal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fleet Cottage Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing