We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Duck Street cottage is a must for two (and pooch).”
Duck Street Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Duck Street Cottage
Kitchen Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Duck Street Cottage
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Sitting Room & Dining Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Back of Duck Street Cottage
Courtyard Garden
Seating area in garden
The village of Symondsbury
Duck Street and Colmers Hill
Symondsbury Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deni M
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Duck Street cottage is a must for two (and pooch).”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Whilst looking online for somewhere to stay in the lovely county of Dorset we stumbled across the delightful Duck street cottage. The cottage is set in the picturesque village of Symondsbury which is within walking distance to Bridport.
The beach is a 5 minute car ride away and there are many beautiful walks to enjoy, there is also a welcoming village pub which has good food on the menu. What made the holiday for us was Duck street cottage itself, whatever we did or wherever we visited each day we looked forward to returning to this beautiful little cottage.
Thank you for providing everything (and more) a guest could need, thank you for the welcome hamper, thank you for allowing dogs and thank you for Duck street Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to leave such a lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Duck Street Cottage and hopefully we will welcome you back to Symondsbury Estate in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destinati...
1 review
“Very nice cottage in a wonderful little village in West Dorset”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The cottage was very well equipped, very good kitchen, large bedroom and bathroom, perfectly located in the village Symondsbury which is really a little gem. The services of Symondsbury Estate are very good and professional. You can walk into Bridport in about 20 minutes, which is very convenient.
The only thing that did somewhat impair our impression of the cottage was a faint but noticealbe smell of dog in the living room downstairs. Not being dog owners ourselves we probably noticed this more than perhaps people who are used to dogs. Whilst it is certainly nice for pet owners to be able to take them along to a cottage like this, it can be off putting for people with sensitive noses. So although the cottage was very clean, my advice to the cottage owners would be may be to have the textiles dry cleaned more frequently or something similar.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thank you for writing a review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Duck Street Cottage. I do apologise for the smell of dogs, we will pass this over to our housekeeping team so they are aware for future bookings. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TATravell...
Chelmsford
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Perfect post Christmas break in a cosy, well appointed cottage for two”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of the best cottages we have rented. A thatched cottage that had been tastefully updated to ensure a relaxing and comfortable stay. Five minutes walk from the friendly village pub which serves excellent food and a local deli/store and cafe/ restaurant. Bridport has a good range of shops and supermarkets close by as is the coast. Highly recommended for a relaxing break, particularly if you like walking without having to drive too far. Symondsbury is a picturesque little village with limited through traffic.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to maybe welcoming you back in the future! Many Thanks and a Happy New Year to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul_Buck...
Bucks. UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Me& mrs”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed at this wonderful cozy cottage over Christmas with our dog . It had everything you could need and wish for, what an amazing place for a Christmas retreat ! The cottage itself and location is simply beautiful and we had an amazing time and will be back for sure! So many lovely memories we take away with us...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Duck Street Cottage and its fabulous to hear that we were able to partake in creating some lovely memories for you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom32...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great weekend at fabulous cottage in friendly village would definatlely stay again. One fantastic master bedroom with luxurious ensuite facilities, cosy lounge/diner with log burner in inglenook fireplace, fully equipped ktichen and lovely welcome hamper all located in quaint and friendly village with shops and great pub in walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: on street parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Duck Street Cottage, and we look forward to maybe welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mostlymo
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Dorset thatch conceals 21st century comfort and convenience”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What a delight it was to open the back door of Duck Street Cottage into a toasty warm, bright, tidy and well-equipped kitchen. As a cottage described as for two people (although there is a folding bed, travel cot and high chair so it does accommodate small children too) Duck Street is spacious with a huge bedroom housing superking bed, a sofa and even a dressing area with wardrobes. The bathroom is gorgeous with a big deep bath, separate shower cubicle and a very flattering illuminated mirror! The log burner in the inglenook works perfectly and there's a generous basket of logs along with a nice excellent supply of goodies in the welcome basket to sustain you on your first evening.
This is our third stay in Symondsbury Estate properties and not our last. We recommended to friends and they booked Duck Street right away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, log burner, bathroom, bed, welcome pack
Liked least: Exterior woodwork needs repair
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay again and we look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth visit in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalJW
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Dorset country retreat”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in Duck Street Cottage as we were getting married in the Tithe Barn on the Symondsbury estate. It was a wonderful cottage, and far more spacious than it looks from the outside, but still has that country charm you want. The Kitchen was well stocked and we had a hamper of essentials when we arrived. Wonderful views, immaculately clean bathroom and kitchen, and a lovely comfortable big king size bed. A real pleasure staying there and we plan to return to celebrate our wedding anniversary for many years to come!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thanks for your great review! We're so pleased you enjoyed staying at Duck Street cottage. Congratulations on getting wed, we wish you a long, happy future together and look forward to welcoming you back for your to celebrate your anniversary!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing