We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth going for the absolutely glorious food”
Review of Haddon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haddon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
lancs
1 review
“Worth going for the absolutely glorious food”
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This a lovely old hotel with period charm gave us a warm welcome and had a homely feel. It is in a great quiet location just a short stroll to the busy harbour. Our room was comfortable and had all we needed apart from a couple of firm chairs to sit on.
The restaurant had a vast menu plus special seasonal dishes each night. This variety of menu did not detract from the excellent flavour, quality and quantity of food served.
It was an enjoyable stay and provided a good base for travelling the jurassic coast area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
Apologies for the very late reply, however late I wanted to thank you for your review and taking the time to leave us some feedback. We do hope you have visited since and everything was to your liking.

kind regards

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    123
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
83
269
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We have stayed here for short breaks at least 5 times in the past few years but have never got round to writing a review - so time to put that right!

The staff are always so very welcoming, friendly and helpful and the whole place has a feeling of calmness and relaxation about it which is enhanced by the very attractive entrance with its lovely plants and homely decor. The rooms are slightly dated in terms of decor but that doesn't really matter as they are always clean and well presented and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. As for the food it never fails to please - starting with the brilliant English breakfast and there are other choices available if you prefer something different. You are spoilt for choice with the evening meals, and the fish, which we really enjoy, is particularly nice being locally caught and always beautifully fresh and very tasty. Portions are generous and it is good value for money.

Overall, Haddon House is a very pleasant and superbly relaxing place to stay and we will certainly keep coming back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandjoWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
Apologies for the very late reply, however late I wanted to thank you for your review and taking the time to leave us some feedback. We do hope you have visited since and everything was to your liking.

kind regards

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The Hotel is 2 minutes walk from the Harbour at West Bay.Our room 3 was bright and airy with very comfortable twin beds.The reception staff were very welcoming.The restaurant staff were a delight, happy and efficient.
The food was very well cooked and presented with both A La Carte and Specials to choose from.
We enjoyed our stay at the Haddon and hope to return there in the not too distant future.
John and Sally Lance

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinhood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
Apologies for the very late reply, however late I wanted to thank you for your review and taking the time to leave us some feedback. We do hope you have visited since and everything was to your liking.

kind regards

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southcoast
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2009

The hotel is situated in easy walking distance of the picturesque harbour of West Bay .The setting is quiet and has easy parking with a pleasant garden.The welcome is friendly and helpful with staff carrying cases as there is no lift.The rooms were clean and comfortable with en-suite facilities.The menu was long and varied with a specials board that gave even more choice especially of the delicious fresh fish dishes. Coffee was served either at the table or in a comfortable spacious lounge.The general atmosphere is one of comfort which is enhanced by the feeling of being in a friendly family home and we would recommend it heartily.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthcoastSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
Apologies for the very late reply, however late I wanted to thank you for your review and taking the time to leave us some feedback. We do hope you have visited since and everything was to your liking.

kind regards

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southerner
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Menu choice and food excellent with first class and friendly service. This unfortunately was not matched by the tired, dusty and creaky rooms. Although technically all "mod cons" were provided (e.g. 32" TV) we found the beds uncomfortable and the rooms and bathrooms felt as though little had been done to them for a very long time. Pity, as this area needs a good value quality hotel. Disappointed as the web site indicated all rooms had been "refurbished" . They do a great Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
I am sorry it took so long to reply, we have just been going through all the older ones and although late, I wanted to thank you myself for taking the time to leave the hotel some feedback. I do hope you have visited since this stay and that everything was to your liking and any issues were rectified. If you haven't stayed since may I urge you to give us another try as you may well have seen we have worked extremely hard since and now have countless excellent reviews to be proud of and are not far from the top now. We have also refurbished all of our en suite bathrooms with spa baths and televisions at the foot of the bath. The rooms have also been re decorated.

Kind regards

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Hotel well located near the beach with plenty of parking space. The staff are extremely friendly and efficient. Comfortable well equipped bedroom with ensuite facilities. Pleasant lounge and bar area and well kept garden.

The menu was extensive with a large list of daily specials (mostly fish dishes). Portions were generous, well cooked and excellently presented.

The hotel is popular with local organisations who use it's facilities but this in no way affects the smooth running of the hotel for residents.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
Apologies for the very late reply, however late I wanted to thank you for your review and taking the time to leave us some feedback. We do hope you have visited since and everything was to your liking.

kind regards

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeaside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Not what expected from a AA/RAC 3* hotel. Decor and feel of hotel very tired and dated. Floral carpets and dark furniture. Bathroom v shabby with carpeted floor and shower in need of replacement. Very young staff who served breakfast and talked loudly about each other in a derogatory fashion also then manned reception for me to check-out.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSeaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2015
I am sorry it took so long to reply, we have just been going through all the older ones and although late, I wanted to thank you myself for taking the time to leave the hotel some feedback. I do hope you have visited since this stay and that everything was to your liking and any issues were rectified. If you haven't stayed since may I urge you to give us another try as you may well have seen we have worked extremely hard since and now have countless excellent reviews to be proud of and are not far from the top now. We have also refurbished all of our en suite bathrooms with spa baths and televisions at the foot of the bath. The rooms have also been re decorated.

Kind regards

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
10.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
11.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon House Hotel

Property: Haddon House Hotel
Address: West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bridport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haddon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haddon House Hotel is situated just 300 yards from the picturesque harbour, Jurassic coastline and 18 hole golf course at West Bay. It is an ideal base for touring the counties of Dorset, Devon and Somerset. All of our bedrooms, (two on the ground floor) are of a good size, the bedrooms have all been equipped with flat screen colour televisions, telephones,hairdryer, radio alarm clock and complimentary toiletries. Please find us on facebook for regular updates and offers. En suite bathrooms with spa baths and wall mounted bathroom television ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Haddon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haddon Hotel Bridport
Haddon House Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing