We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Dorset Farmhouse with outstanding views”

Review of Bilshay Farmhouse

Bilshay Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bilshay Farmhouse
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Bilshay Farmhouse
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Views from the kitchen window
Dining Area
Bedroom
Triple Bedroom
Bedroom
Triple Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Bilshay Farmhouse
Patio
Garden with hot tub
Views from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
308Claire
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
“Beautiful Dorset Farmhouse with outstanding views”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned from a fantastic week at Bilshay Farmhouse. Seven of us in total, two families, and two dogs. The Farmhouse was ideally situated to explore beautiful Dorset. It was clean, a basket of bread, milk, marmalade etc had thoughtfully been left for us. The views across open farmland were fantastic and the hot tub in the large secure garden was the icing on the cake. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bilshay Farmhouse and liked the hamper! We have to agree the Hot Tub is great. We hope to welcome you back to Symondsbury Estate in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aladyofbr...
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bilshay Farmhouse”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wow the best accommodation for our family
of 10 with ages ranging 87-2!! Just a brilliant well equipped Farmhouse with such fantastic views which can also be enjoyed whilst in the hot tub. Please visit this wonderful Farmhouse you won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We love hearing from people and we are so glad you had a great stay. Hopefully we will see you back at Symondsbury Estate in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_sexyciny...
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great time”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The farmhouse was lovely and well equipped, the views were amazing. We were there for a wedding and hired the other houses out as well. Would recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2017
Thank you for writing a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bilshay Farmhouse. We have to agree the views are amazing! We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyAS
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The perfect 'chocolate-box cottage'!”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I've stayed at a few of the symondsbury estate cottages and Bilshay is my favourite! It's spacious yet cosy, feels very country but has all the mod cons. Views from every corner of the farmhouse are idyllic- and sitting in the hot tub when the suns shining is amazing. Country walks on your doorstep, cosy nights in with the fire going...you can make what you want of a weekend here. I had my hen weekend here & it was a dream! I can't wait to come back soon when I need another escape from the big smoke x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this glowing review! We work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and remember their holidays for all the right reasons. I have passed your comments on to everybody involved. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz E
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible....again!”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Yet another glorious stay with all you could wish for and more! We originally booked last year for a 60th Birthday Family celebration, but loved it so much we treated ourselves again this year! Fully equipped, gorgeous luxury hamper and an incredible location whatever the weather. I cannot rate this property and the Symondsbury Estate and Office enough. The kids loved the massive garden and the walks from just outside the front door into the village centre and surrounding stunning countryside, were breathtaking. Will definitely be booking up again! Thank you Bilshay!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bilshay Farmhouse. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect rural getaway”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Comfortable, well equipped and stylish cottage deep in beautiful Dorset yet within walking distance of the village and - if you're feeling more energetic - Bridport. Hot tub and big dog friendly garden a great plus. We recommend: Colmers Hill, Golden Cap and West Bay for walks; Lyme Regis (we ate at the Harbour Inn and it was very good) but not if you're looking for dog friendly beaches; the Anchor pub at Seaton and the Hive Cafe at Burton Bradstock - though don't even think about the Hive at weekends. We went on a grey sunday in March and it was already rammed. Incidentally, if you don't mind a bit of a drive, the Rick Stein at Sandbanks is brilliant. Plenty to do if you like the great outdoors, even when the weather is indifferent. At this time of year we particularly appreciated the log burner and the boot room for muddy shoes, coats and dog.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Bilshay Farmhouse. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryanfox19...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“This place is amazing!!”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fantastic property - it was absolutely perfect for my group. We loved every aspect from the welcome hamper t the games room. We all thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and the open fires. We will be coming back next year without a doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting /Views
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bilshay Farmhouse. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing