We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sunday dinner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilchester Arms

Ilchester Arms
Ranked #38 of 131 Restaurants in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
“sunday dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

4 weeks ago this was a great place to eat, booked today and got stuck in the bar, if i had been told we would be stuck in the bar i would have refused to book there, i detest sitting in bars. well what do you know the restaurant was empty. wiil not be going back there. No sunday lunch on a sunday although it was on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    35
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely proper pub with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Cracking cosy pub. Friendly and helpful staff. Good fresh beer. And the food was marvellous - a tad pricey perhaps for some, but forgivable given the quality. First time I've ever seen a Husky (apologies if Zeus isn't a Husky) sat on a bar stool! :-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaryW132132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Came to the Ilchester Arms today with my Husband and two of our friends, we were so pleased that we made the visit despite the last couple of reviews posted on here! We had fantastic service and wonderful home cooked food. We will defiantly be visiting as often as possible. Not sure where these negative comments have come from....are you sure you were in Symondsbury?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for a quick pint in a lovely village - but dont eat here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Situated in a nice village, old pub with character. Nice for a pint at the end of a walk. Friendly barman, but food not great. Cokes were flat, glasses could be cleaner. Prices for food are what you'd expect but wasnt up to standard, steak was tough. Service in restaurant was slow, drinks had to be ordered in the bar despite being sat at a table in the restaurant room. Wouldnt recomend, other than for a quick pint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank simon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
305 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Chaotic”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We popped in for a drink and were pleased we weren't eating! 5 members of staff stood round memorising the list of everything not available on the menu. A young lad behind the bar who seemed thoroughly bemused when we asked for two drinks. He poured a bottle of drink into a pint glass and didn't know how to pour a shandy. We watched as others arrived and order after order was served incorrectly. In an area with sine really good pubs I'd give this one a miss.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ilchester Arms also viewed

 
Bridport, Dorset
 

Been to Ilchester Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing