We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One week in paradise, the setting so tranquil and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Beautiful West Bay beach 10 mins by car Play area and dog walk at cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Beautiful West Bay beach 10 mins by car
Play area and dog walk at cottage
Comfy lounge & wood burner
Sunny open plan
Kitchen with cloakroom off
Kingsize bed
Comfortable single...
...or twin
Upstairs bath with shower
Homemade welcome cakes
Enclosed garden with BBQ
Outdoor seating & garden room
Private parking for 2 cars
Quiet no through lane with gate straight to ...
... dog walk & field for games ...
... play area ...
... dedicated dog walk through our wood
Fabulous walking directly from the cottage
Lovely family beach at Burton Bradstock ...
... with award winning Hive Beach Cafe
West Bay - gateway to the Jurassic Coast ...
... our local beach ...
... with bustling kiosks ...
... and harbour
where TV Hit Broadchurch was filmed
Lively Bridport with cafes and market
plenty to eat & drink
Iconic Colmers Hill overlooking the town
Anchor Inn at nearby Seatown ...
... beautiful coastal walks
Our dog Tess catching the rays
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CHERYL R
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
1 review
“One week in paradise, the setting so tranquil and beautiful.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Buzzards Swoop conjures up a romantic country setting and it lived up to its name.

Lisa the owner was in the grounds and welcomed us, letting us know there was a book with telephone numbers and basic information on the desk inside the cottage. If any problems to contact them immediately, only next door.

The cottage was clean and welcoming with wild flowers, freshly baked muffins and tea. The kitchen was well equipped with modern appliances and clear concise instructions on use.

The living area was light and airy, especially the sun room in the mornings. Television in living area nice size. Variety of books to read if needed. Both bedrooms were a lovely size and the cupboard space was ample with plenty of coat hangers The bathroom was enormous and the shower was powerful, views were amazing even from here.

The grounds were huge, so well maintained and wonderful for dogs, adults and children.

The location was amazing, so quiet, views were lovely and the walks across the fields so relaxing with our Beagle Honey. We were blessed with perfect weather which was another bonus.

We have already enquired about booking for next year so I think that speaks for itself.

Lisa and Alistair - thank you for letting us share this lovely setting your holiday homes are in,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abijc
Abijc
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A comfortable cottage in a lovely picturesque location”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We've enjoyed many visits to the camp site at Bingham Grange but this year decided to choose one of the cottages for extra space and comfort, we weren't disappointed. It was well equipped and spacious for 3 adults and 2 dogs. The open plan kitchen, dining area and lounge were well laid out with comfortable chairs and a sofa, a good sized dining area and all the necessary equipment in the kitchen. The bedrooms were also extremely comfortable with plenty of storage space. There is a lovely big bathroom with a good shower but also the added benefit of a downstairs toilet. There is also a bright conservatory but as we were lucky to have perfect weather during our stay, we found this too hot to make use of (likewise the log burner stove in the lounge which would be great in cold weather!) We were able to make use of the gas bbq on the terrace. This cottage doesn't have a garden, only a concrete terrace area but you have full use of the paddock area and walks around the fields and through the woods which are all on your doorstep. Perfect for dog walks. The owners, Alistair and Lisa, were really welcoming and helpful - if you needed anything you could always knock on their door and nothing was too much trouble. They were also great in advance, advising us of the best cottage for our needs, and letting us view Roe Barn on our last day with a view to booking it next year (we've already provisionally booked!). We're looking forward to going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxfordWax...
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very good in some ways Average in others”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The family who rent out Buzzard's Swoop are lovely and could not do enough to accommodate us and we had a lovely week near Bridport so it may seem mean to grade it average but let me explain. Buzzards Swoop is ideal if bringing your dog on holiday, and not being in town works for you. I had looked at the photo and assumed it was a terrace in town where we could access pubs and cafes without getting in the car, but it is over two miles out of Bridport on farmland next to a caravan park. It has all the advantages if you want to be in the countryside but it also had a strong smell of slurry in every room when we arrived and building and farm work going on around the site, so hammering in the daytime. The house itself has a modest outside hard space to the front and unlike the other lets on the site no grassed area. The sun was off your outside space by early evening. On the plus side there was apple cake and fresh flowers and a warm welcome. The interior is pleasant and quite well equipped but little things are absent that would make life easier - no coffee or side tables for your cups and glasses, no full length mirror, no hair dryer (although one was speedily supplied) and only one tea towel for the week. Chairs in the courtyard rather than loungers so you cannot lie out and sunbathe. Very erratic WIFi so if you are into your ipad, iphone or computer only the person in the upstairs bedroom has a reasonable access.
The bird life around the house is terrific the long views are delightful and as I said the people running it are super, so average for its £500 price point I think. I would not want anyone to be put off by my review as some aspects are very good.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
As owners we welcome feedback from our customers - whether by chatting
during their stay, our Visitor Books or Trip Advisor. We enjoy meeting
people and want our customers to enjoy their holiday. Over the last 11
years we have received some helpful feedback and ideas that have
benefitted future guests. So I am pleased you find us friendly and
welcoming, enjoyed my wife's home made cake, found the cottage interior
pleasant, views delightful and think you must have enjoyed the superb
weather during your week. We advertise Buzzards Swoop as set in 6 acres
of our fields, 5 minutes by car or bus outside of Bridport (the 2 miles you
mention) and overwhelmingly our customers praise the location with its
rural setting and space but closeness to Bridport, its amenities and the
coast at West Bay. We share a private drive with a small, immaculate
caravan park, Bingham Grange, that is only for adults and extremely quiet,
completely separate screened by trees and hedges and ideal neighbours.
During several conversations with Lisa and myself I am sorry that you did not mention to
either of us that you felt there was a smell on arrival as although there
is no slurry pit within miles of the cottage we would have immediately
tried to resolve whatever was concerning you and similarly if you were
short tea towels, our mistake, we would happily have provided more
straight away. Hopefully you will return to beautiful Dorset but perhaps
will be happier staying in a town centre location with faster broadband.

Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Doggy heaven
Liked least: Must have a car.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wood burner with complementary logs, lovely grounds, everything really.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dog friendliness of the property & owners
Liked least: If I had to be finicky, the only thing I would have preferred is a King size bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing