We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect , dog friendly English country bolt hole”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Beautiful West Bay beach 10 mins by car Play area and dog walk at cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Welcome to Buzzards Swoop - sleeps 4
Beautiful West Bay beach 10 mins by car
Play area and dog walk at cottage
Comfy lounge & wood burner
Sunny open plan
Kitchen with cloakroom off
Kingsize bed
Comfortable single...
...or twin
Upstairs bath with shower
Homemade welcome cakes
Enclosed garden with BBQ
Outdoor seating & garden room
Private parking for 2 cars
Quiet no through lane with gate straight to ...
... dog walk & field for games ...
... play area ...
... dedicated dog walk through our wood
Fabulous walking directly from the cottage
Lovely family beach at Burton Bradstock ...
... with award winning Hive Beach Cafe
West Bay - gateway to the Jurassic Coast ...
... our local beach ...
... with bustling kiosks ...
... and harbour
where TV Hit Broadchurch was filmed
Lively Bridport with cafes and market
plenty to eat & drink
Iconic Colmers Hill overlooking the town
Anchor Inn at nearby Seatown ...
... beautiful coastal walks
Our dog Tess catching the rays
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
aljopar
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect , dog friendly English country bolt hole”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Super cottage in lovely country area, very well maintained in lovingly cared-for setting.. It was very comfortable and homely with modern TV, excellently equipped for self catering with great attention to detail, even had some welcome cake waiting and a jug of milk., Big fridge/freezer, lovely garden with attractive furniture. Even fragrant rose peeping above the fence from next door. Owners friendly and very helpful. Highly recommended even though I don't have a dog.
I'll be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jowh1965
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, dog friendly cottage near Bridport”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Buzzards Swoop, The cottage is well appointed with everything you need. it was also nice a warm after a day walking in the rain. There is a wood burner, but we didn't use it.

We took our Labrador with us and he enjoyed the walks into the woods to the river. The information booklet is great with lots of dog friendly beaches, places to visit and pubs to drink in.

Had a very warm welcome from Lisa the owner, who gave us recommendations on places to visit.

Will definitely visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Mal...
Princes Risborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring Jurassic Coast”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The holiday cottage is compact but perfectly adequate for a family of four, especially as there is lots of outdoor space for the kids to run around, including a trampoline, football goals and climing frame. There's also a small wood to explore and build a den.

This is a good base for an active family holiday, with the various towns on the Jurassic Coast, i.e. Lyme Regis, Charmouth, West Bay within an easy drive. We had great fun searching for fossils (plenty of ammonites and belemnites on Charmough beach). My wife was also interested in following the footsteps of David Tennant, but that's a different story.

The only downside is that many of the beaches are shingle rather than sand, and some have rather steep shelves so not particularly safe for young swimmers. However we still managed some sandcastles in Lyme Regis and avoided the horrors of Weymouth on a Bankk Holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location with lots to do for children who enjoy the outdoors
Liked least: Some beaches have restrictions due to safety
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriele...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage in a beautiful and varied area”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We can recommend this cottage warmly. The booking process was straight forward and the owners extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. The cottage feels cosy and has nice individual touches, such as original paintings, fire place and lovely flowers in pots outside. It has got a nice open plan downstairs and feels spacious enough for a family of four with teenagers. Useful to have a downstairs loo. The size of these bedrooms was less spacious (double bed too narrow for our taste), but appropriate for a holiday. The linen provided was lovely and of good quality. The outside was good for eating, esp breakfast, since it has the sun in the mornings. To enjoy evening sun outside, it is possible to find spaces around the complex elsewhere. When we had a problem with an aspect of the plumbing in the shower, this was dealt with promptly.
The area offered a wide variety of activities and opportunities for days out (town, beaches, countryside, walks, National Trust, galleries, museums - there is a lot to do in beautiful surroundinds).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan downstairs and cottage character
Liked least: Size of the double bed (too small)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well positioned cottage for exploring Dorset”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Buzzards Swoop with our 4-year old son and dog. The cottage was immaculate and we were made to feel welcome by the owners. The location is perfect to visit many places in Dorset, including our favourite 'West Bay' just down the road.
We would recommend Buzzards Swoop to any of our friends and we will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne p
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little old England”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We enjoyed our stay in Bridport the main town being a short drive from the cottage and the coast West bay just a little bit further on. .There was plenty to see and do including a lovely Saturday Market.. The cottage had everything we required for our stay . The owners were friendly and helpful We were made to feel very welcome including our boxer dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all good
Liked least: nothing bad
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horsham
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing