We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, lovely views and very well...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunnybrook

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from rear garden across River Asker & Askers Meadows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
View from rear garden across River Asker & Askers Meadows
Sunnybrook from Askers Meadows
South facing garden
Asker's Meadows, Sunnybrook across the river on right, Bridport town centre in background
Bucky Doo Square, Bridport
Market day, South Street, Bridport
South West Coast Path
Jurassic Coast - looking east from Eype towards Chesil Beach
Sunset over the Jurassic Coast
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PaulaPenD
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely views and very well equipped”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Excellent service from the property owner, who responded very quickly to enquiries and texted me from her own holiday to check that everything was OK on arrival.

The property was ideal for my elderly mother as there was easy access from the car, no steps once indoors and the view from the lounge and garden was wonderful. We enjoyed watching the dog walkers on the other side of the riverbank, as well as the cows that appeared in the field opposite every evening. The property was spacious, tastefully decorated and very well equpped - as mum said 'it has everything you could want'. It even smelt nice to walk into!

The bungalow was very well located within easy walking distance of the town centre and a short drive to West Bay.

The only negatives were the drizzly weather the first half of the week (but even that didn't spoil the view) and some noise from the music festival in Askers Meadow on the day we arrived. However, that did finish by 11.00pm (as advertised) and was only for one day.

Overall a lovely stay.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edesia_tr...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, great location and wonderful views”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My mother and I (plus small dog) stayed at Sunnybrook for four nights at the end of April, and we had a marvellous time.

The bungalow is so well equipped (one of the best we've stayed in), and we enjoyed the well-kept garden and the views over the River Asker and meadows to the hills beyond. In the other direction you are very close to Bridport town centre, with many independent shops and great places to eat and drink. The best of both worlds!

Jill, the owner, was very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

We love this part of Dorset and all it has to offer, and can't wait to return to Sunnybrook.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view over the meadows
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A
Harlow
2 reviews
“Lovely property, lovely setting”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Central Bridport, close to everything, yet garden fantastic views. Property very large for two bedrooms, very clean, owners make you very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden veiws
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandmatr...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We located the property whilst staying at Beaminster, last year, so knew that it was ideally situated for the shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and bus services. We were nor disappointed. In fact, we didn't travel far as Bridport is so interesting, the bungalow so welcoming, and the weather not brilliant.
The bungalow has plenty of storage in the bedroom and the kitchen - far more than many holiday lets, so that was a bonus.
We hope to return, so maybe we shouldn't praise it too much or we'll find it fully booked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, locetion, location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilarysal...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable & Light and Airy”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Family catch up with our adult daughters in spacious, very clean and welcoming and comfortable surroundings.
We particulary enjoyed the large windows overlooking the brook and Dorset hills, and were entertained by watching people walking their dogs and walking into Bridport.
It is very convenient for walking into Bridport to enjoy the restaurants and markets and shops, and only a short drive to lovely beaches.
Although we visited in February, the garden was well organised to enjoy the sunshine in the Summer months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Light and airey, quiet and comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFCMALTA
Mellieha, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptionally wonderful - superbly furnished & positioned”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

As soon as we entered the property, we were astonished by the great sense of hospitality that awaited us. We did not meet the owner, but as she was informed of our time of arrival she put on the heating , and as such we found the place so cosy. The location was brilliant. Just a walking distance to the city centre, while on the back the lovely landscape where the river (I forgot the name) made it's way. The property was so amazingly equipped with all amenities - whatever one could think of. - washing machine, dish washer, other utilities, board games, spare batteries for remote controls, etc etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was so great
Liked least: I would have preferred to know beforehand that there was payment for gas consumption
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmica
Southern UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb - couldn't have asked for better!”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a little Christmas get-away here & were blown away by how comfortable & spacious this bungalow is - fabulously well equipped kitchen, comfy couches, superb beds ensuring wonderful sleep! We did not expect a holiday home to be this fantastic & such exceptional value for money. Ideal location for both the town of Bridport itself and also the local & gorgeous Jurassic Coastline. The owners were lovely too and I truly don't believe anything would have been too much trouble for them. I cannot fault this property & would highly recommend it to anyone - we certainly hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: What was not to like - it was all great!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing