We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant discovery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Marquis of Lorne Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Arrived almost at the end of dinner service but the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. A surprisingly long and varied menu and not just the usual pub options. Delicious veggie tart and a yummy crumble for desert. Great little find.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had planned to eat at the Three Horseshoes at Powerstock but it was fully booked, being Saturday evening. They recommended the Marquis of Lorne (also Palmers) and as it was only 5 minutes' away we drove over. Again, we were told they were fully booked but that we could eat outside. It was 6.30 so was warm enough and we knew we wouldn't be lingering, because of our dog.

We had starters of roe and tempura prawns, both of which were well presented and cooked. My main course of belly pork was served with an excellent selection of vegetables and was tasty, if not totally melt-in-the-mouth. My wife chose lamb's liver, something she often avoids. However, she decided this was the best liver she had ever tasted (and wanted to return the following day for a repeat!).

The staff were friendly and attentive and prices reasonable for the quality in this attractive country pub.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 316Johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were on holiday in Bridport , last year and invited out for lunch at this lovely place on Boxing Day. When we arrived "The pram race"had just finished and there were lots of people still milling around, drinking amd enjoying the day. However, this did not detract from the service and quality of food, which was excellent. A nice rest after Christmas Day! Please try this place, a bit out of the way down lots of windy lanes, but well worth ir. We will go again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WESTBAY1665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We visited this inn on the evening of 21st February, 3 generations of our family. We received a lovely warm welcome, the food and ambience were excellent. We found the lighting in the dining room was perfect and NOT too bright as stated in the local "Diary". We will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed at this pub as we were filming locally. What a find! The owners are so friendly and rooms are comfortable and well appointed (with great cookies to go with the tea and coffee!).
Breakfast was great with a lovely array of fruit, yoghurt and cereal as well as the expected juices, tea, coffee and cooked fayre.
Annoyingly I couldn't stay for lunch but it looked great!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CameramanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I have now stayed here about half a dozen times on business. The Marquis is above all a village pub that does superb food, and has a proper village pub ambience. They produce simple but fantastic food , using local fish and meat, and serve the local cask ales.

It is located in a bucolic piece of Dorset, and is close to Bridport and the jurrasic coast for those wishing to use it as a touring base.

The rooms are very much B & B rather than hotel , but are comfortable. They have the usual, tea making , and TV facilities and the pub has wi fi.

a great little place

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitchurchwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed in a nearby village and walked to the pub which was recommended to us. Beautiful location just nestled between 2 villages. Lovely pub, friendly staff and excellent food. The pub on a Saturday afternoon was full of friendly locals with their children/dogs, good to see a local business so well supported.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 503821Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
3.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
876 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
179 reviews
4.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
4.1 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
548 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marquis of Lorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquis of Lorne Inn

Address: Nettlecombe, Bridport DT6 3SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bridport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Price Range: £88 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Marquis of Lorne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquis Of Lorne Hotel Bridport
Marquis Of Lorne Bridport
The Marquis Of Lorne Inn Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing