We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Greyhound(Bridport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(West Bexington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
202
139
33
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
139
33
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmugglers barsea viewsuperior roomlovely locationcoastal pathbar mealsnarrow country lanegood food and friendly staffhakefriendly hotelfour poster bedfamily run hotelwest baysingle tracknight breakmain restaurantshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 teenage children on a special seasonal deal at £55 per person per night for dinner, bed and breakfast so we weren't expecting the Ritz. Took 2 rooms nos 15 double & 17 a twin for the children. On arrival at about 4pm on a Sunday we were greeted at reception by a smiling young lady who was very friendly and efficient. The children's room was small but nicely furnished, clean, comfortable and the adjoining bathroom was very modern and well equipped. Our room was also fairly small but the bathroom was surprisingly spacious, these were not quite so up to date but it was clean and comfortable. I hadn't asked for a sea view so we were at the back of the hotel but still had a nice view of a well kept garden and as it was getting dark by 5.30pm a view wasn't very high on our list of priorities. In the restaurant we all had excellent meals in the evenings with a menu that changed from day to day and the breakfasts were so good that even our children who have hollow legs didn't want any lunch several hours later.
the location was also a huge plus, just a couple of minutes walk from the beach which is just as charming as Charmouth but without the crowds.
We will definitely be back next time we head for the Dorset coast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTBear1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Having seen a postcard view of the beach, we decided to have a look at it. A narrow winding road led us to it. The beach is spectacular. The hotel is a short distance up above it and we were most impressed with it. We had an excellent light lunch out on the upper terrace and couldn't have had better attention. The hotel is light and modern and spotlessly clean. WE were interested to learn that two television programmes had been shot there recently. It should soon be seen on Escape to the Country. We shall certainly return, if back in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have recently finished a six Week Contact with this hotel, and what a pleasure it has been. Not only was the hotel amazing the staff were fantastic.

I was sent to the hotel to help out in the kitchen during the transition between there old chef and the new one. The level of service and quality of food you receive at this hotel far exceeds the ratings it has been given. Everything being Homemade, and | mean everything from the bread you receive with dinner to the triple Cooked chips you get with your steak, everyday a new TDH menu Created by the chef using local seasonal ingredients picked from the market that morning.

Smugglers bar.
A hidden gem! The Smugglers bar has a modern spacious feel to it with views over looking the bay, it serves a bar menu with the usual bar classics, but once again done with freshest ingredients. One example is the fish and Chips only fresh fillets of fish are used and it changes depending on the season and availability. The bar also serves freshly squeezed orange juice. Yes I said freshly, not out of a bottle. Out of an orange. And with my favorite tipple (Guinness) being 50p cheaper than the local pub, the bar at the hotel is an excellent place to relax and unwind with all the family.

Breakfast at the hotel comprises of the usual buffet table of fruits and yogurts etc, but where this hotel stands out is its grill. It has even won an award for it.

The family that own the hotel are the friendliest people I think have ever met, I felt welcomed in to the business very quickly. Kevin the manager can often be found in the kitchen playing around with new recipes, if fact his curry sauce made with fresh Chills from out of the garden Is fantastic, beware though it carries a bit of a kick, And Glynis his Wife is always on reception welcoming the arrivals. You often find fresh home made cakes on the bar, made by there daughter, and simply divine bread for dinner made by there son. Making this truly a family run hotel. But that's not forgetting the rest of the team, they all add there own personality and touch to the hotel, Weather it's the maintenance man who grows the herbs for the kitchen, or Fiona the assistant manager who entertains the guest in the hotel bar in the evenings.

My Contact was only six weeks here and I'm sat on the bus home now writing this thinking about how much I enjoyed my time there, And how I can't wait to return.

Thank you guys
see you soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Archerfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights this week. We used it as a base for walking the stunning coastal path. The hotel is really clean snd a small but clearly dedicated staff are always on hand with a smile. The owners are really involved with the day to day running and are never too busy to chat to guests. The food is really wonderful, the award winning breakfast set us up for the day. The duck and homemade mushroom soup (not both together) stood out in what was a delightful and very enjoyable choice of evening meal. The hotel has two cosy bars and a very fresh and modern lounge overlooking the patio that in turn overlooks the Jurassic coast, which is a short walk from the hotel. In our humble opinion this is a gem of a hotel with an extremely friendly and open style. It is small and therefore quite intimate with the opportunity to keep yourself to yourself or meet others and chat over pre or post diner drinks. To sum up the kind of service you get here above and beyond the norm, as we were checking out a fellow guest discovered they had a flat tyre on their car. The owner, still in his chef whites from breakfast went out in the pouring rain to see what could be done to help. Moments later a member of staff was out helping the guest change his wheel. We will definitely be going back. Thank you to all the staff and fellow guests that made our visit such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard_Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for just one night at the end of August and loved it. It is in an ideal spot for some beautiful walks directly from the hotel. The rooms are comfortable, the food is good and you have a choice of restaurant. We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knebrakanesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews