We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely small family run hotel. Fabulous cooked breakfast which defeated me on the first morning. Nothing too much trouble and they even had soya milk for my porridge on the Sunday morning. Had a few moans about my bathroom as I was in a single room; bathroom was obviously in need of a reburbishment and I would rather have been told about this before I arrived. Unfortunately, as they were full they couldn't upgrade me.

However, the owners completely took on board my issues and I had a look around a double room which was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was excellent....
Returned too late on Saturday evening for a bar meal - food orders only up until 8.30pm but the staff very kindly made me a delicious sandwich.

A nice walk down to the beach and so many nice places around here to visit. Bridport market on a Saturday morning is a must!

I hope to return with my Husband next time. A lovely find!

Room Tip: Room 6 is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PammyJane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    121
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
214
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Have just returned from a 3 day DBB package stay at this charming Hotel...no it did not feel like a package as we were treated as if we were old friends !! The owner Kevin was very nice and I meant it Kevin if we win the lottery I will know where to invest !! All the staff were so attentive but a special mention to the two lovely ladies who served us breakfast every morning, the very efficient lady who cleaned our room plus Freya ( hope thats correct spelling ) and Olly. Graham the chef made every meal a gastronomic delight from lunchtime menu to evening meal. Very good wine list !! It was worth having a superior room we had rm 6 which was spacious and had gorgeous views with everything you needed lovely comfy bed etc. Wish we could have stayed longer but hope to return soon, thank you x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starryknightKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked the venue in February and were given a wide choice of menu. I couldn't make up my mind and asked if I could extend the choices, Kevin was very accommodating with only a small price increase. They provided seating to my table plan and even colour co-ordinated flowers for the table to match my colour scheme. We tested the wines they recommended and our guests were very appreciative of the selection. The staff were extremely attentive, the service was impeccable and the food , well, I can't believe that they don't have a Michelin star - consistently excellent. Their hospitality exceeded all expectations and we look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A narrow road leads to this charming hotel near the cliffs and the beach. The staff is very welcoming and friendly.
In the evening, we enjoyed the proposed menu. Most of the overseas people think we do not eat well in the UK; well they are wrong.
An aperitif on the terrace is very nice and the view from this place is superb.
The place also offers beautiful walking trails on the cliffs. By sunny days, what a delight !
We recommended it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited the Smuggler's bar here, whilst on a short break, staying elsewhere. The food was excellent (great daily menus), and the staff were very friendly. We visited with our dog on each occasion - and it was great to find such a dog friendly place. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights and we were comfortable and after a very long day walking, we just stayed at the hotel and had the bar menu food which is served until 8;30pm and it was very good. Reception staff were great and gave good advice about the walking locally and bus services along the coast, which although don't call in to Eype village it is very possible to walk over the headland to West Bay and get the bus there and thus not have to use the car for a day's coastal walking or trips out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_in_Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have just come away from a truly wonderful week at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel. We loved everything about this place; the location is stunning, we were surrounded by the most magnificent cliff top peeks and we could see the sea from the terrace. The food is very tasty, so much so that we only ate out on one occasion - we also had family over to dinner twice. The breakfast is stunning; after a morning run or walk along the beautiful Jurassic coastline the choice of breakfast was most welcome, my favourite being their "Breakfast Grill"!

The staff and owners could not have been more friendly and helpful - they were there when we needed them and we were left to our own devices when we wanted.

The rooms were cleaned everyday by very friendly staff and are immaculate.

The location of the hotel, as I have already said, is stunning - we were only a few miles away from Bridport (going in one direction) and West Bay (in the other direction).

Thank you to all the staff at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel, we will see you again I am sure.

Room Tip: We stayed here long enough to peek in at most of the rooms and they are all of the same high standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anadi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eype's Mouth Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eype's Mouth Country Hotel

Property: Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Address: Eype | Eype, Bridport DT6 6AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Eype's Mouth Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the small Dorset village of Eype, near Bridport, Eype's Mouth Country Hotel is a family run 17 bedroom hotel. With superb sea views and only a few minutes walk to the beach, the hotel occupies a unique position on the Heritage Coastline. This stunning location, recently filmed Broadchurch television drama, provides the opportunity to walk along the Coastal Path with much to explore and observe for the keen rambler, ornithologist, anthropologist or geologist.Overlooking Lyme Bay and the beautiful coastal path, the Restaurant offers a three course table d'hote menu with plenty of choice for each course. Changed daily, the menu is created by Chef to take advantage of the locally produced foods and includes specialities such as locally caught fish, superb meats and fruit and vegetable farm produce from just north of Bridport. The Admirals Bar is located on the ground floor and open all day to residents. Perfect for pre-dinner drinks, sit and relax over a well deserved aperitif and a few nibbles and peruse the menu. After dinner, retire to the comfort of the bar or residents lounge for coffee with a brandy or liqueur. A Bar Snack Menu for residents is available Noon - 2pm and 6.30Pm - 8.30Pm daily. This is also available to non-residents during the winter months. A cosy bar with a traditional log fire. The Smugglers Bar is a fine old world cellar bar open during the summer months only. It is ideal if you are visiting the area just for the day or staying locally and are looking for a drink or meal. A Bar Food Menu is served 12 noon - 2pm and 6.30Pm - 8.30Pm. Our bars have an array of fine beers. The local Palmers Brewery (Bridport) provides an excellent traditional real ale with their IPA whilst a guest real ale is often available in the Smugglers Bar. The Smugglers Bar is open from Good Friday until the end of October each year. Opening hours are 11am (12 noon Sundays) until 10pm. The Coastal Lounge is the ideal place to enjoy a light snack, coffee or tea or just to relax with a good book and admire the beautiful seaviews and stunning landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Eype's Mouth Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eypes Mouth Country Bridport
Hotel Eypes Mouth Country
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing