We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I use to come to Eype as a child and it was lovely to return to stay at the Hotel I use to have my lunch. The Hotel staff are really lovely and polite they can not help you enough. we found that the management were away this weekend but the service was excellent. We met their daughter Amy who was helpful at all times and always with a smile.
when we arrived at the hotel we were a little early for check in but they managed to get our room earlier than check in as we were eager to start our walks. the cliffs walks are hard on the legs if your not use to it but the views are great.
we had room 10 fantastic view, room was pleasant but bathroom a little on the small size.
the restaurant looks over the bay. could not fault the breakfast or the service.
roll on next year

Room Tip: room 10 is lovely bathroom clean and tidy just a little on the small size and the shower is a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazzer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownereype, Owner at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Eype in the future. kind regards Glenis and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    121
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
214
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glynneath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a 4 night break with a group booking DBB. Spectacular views & we were lucky to have good weather too. The staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Everything was clean and tidy. Breakfast's were superb...kept us going all day. Evening meals - what can I say different choices every evening and all to a very high standard. I would recommend at stay at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownereype, Owner at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. We were delighted the group had a good time. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Eype in the future. Kind regards Glenis and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Spent two nights here, reasonable size bedroom, bathroom bit on small side, furnishings getting a bit tired. Nice view from bedroom over fields to the sea. The service was superb, food was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. On our last morning we wanted to leave at 0600 as we were driving back to Scotland and we were given a packed breakfast, waiting for us at reception in a cool box when we left. Good atmosphere in bar in evening as there were 16 Welsh bell ringers staying at the same time as us!

The hotel is on a very narrow road, but that gave us no trouble as in our part of the UK we are well used to narrow roads with passing places!

Room Tip: Ask for a distant sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caley956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownereype, Owner at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Eype in the future. Kind regards Glenis and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Luckily, we came across the web page for EYPE'S MOUTH COUNTRY HOTEL and managed to reserve a room for our 3-night break. We found it to be a very comfortable and relaxing hotel with extremely pleasant staff (especially Freyre). The evening menu changed daily and all meals were excellent and nicely presented. We especially enjoyed the 'full English' each morning in the lovely dining room overlooking the green fields with a distant sea view. Our only criticism (and not the fault of the hotel) was the constant door banging by other guests who seemed to have no appreciation when returning to their room at 1.15am that other people could be sleeping! Perhaps soft door closers could be fitted on each bedroom door to stop this annoying and inconsiderate situation!...just a thought. All in all, a very pleasant stay at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel; we left feeling well fed, well watered and very refreshed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneymoonerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownereype, Owner at Eype's Mouth Country Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Eype in the future. Kind regards Glenis and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Last minute break following frustration with House purchase .We know the area around Bridport /West bay well and this is just along the coast from there. The hotel easy to communicate with and booking arranged 24 hours before arrival .Directions to hotel supplied and easy to follow .

Word of caution if you a nervous driver and have larger vehicle approach down country road a bit daunting with very few passing places must be difficult during peak season .

Hotel comfortable a little tired in places but location and owners /staff make up for that .Terrace and ouside drinking area lovely and in the evening perfect place to relax have a drink and chat to other guests .We ate in the hotel for one night and food was off a good standard not high class but good .

The area is well worth visiting magnificent coastline /sleepy villages /perfect inland as well with stunning vistas.

To sum up hotel comfortable worth a visit for a few days but dont expect high class accomadation and be a dog lover as they welcome and well catered for .No problem to us but some people may not appreciate a doggy hotel

Room Tip: Ask for room on south side as that overlooks sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely small family run hotel. Fabulous cooked breakfast which defeated me on the first morning. Nothing too much trouble and they even had soya milk for my porridge on the Sunday morning. Had a few moans about my bathroom as I was in a single room; bathroom was obviously in need of a reburbishment and I would rather have been told about this before I arrived. Unfortunately, as they were full they couldn't upgrade me.

However, the owners completely took on board my issues and I had a look around a double room which was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was excellent....
Returned too late on Saturday evening for a bar meal - food orders only up until 8.30pm but the staff very kindly made me a delicious sandwich.

A nice walk down to the beach and so many nice places around here to visit. Bridport market on a Saturday morning is a must!

I hope to return with my Husband next time. A lovely find!

Room Tip: Room 6 is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PammyJane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Have just returned from a 3 day DBB package stay at this charming Hotel...no it did not feel like a package as we were treated as if we were old friends !! The owner Kevin was very nice and I meant it Kevin if we win the lottery I will know where to invest !! All the staff were so attentive but a special mention to the two lovely ladies who served us breakfast every morning, the very efficient lady who cleaned our room plus Freya ( hope thats correct spelling ) and Olly. Graham the chef made every meal a gastronomic delight from lunchtime menu to evening meal. Very good wine list !! It was worth having a superior room we had rm 6 which was spacious and had gorgeous views with everything you needed lovely comfy bed etc. Wish we could have stayed longer but hope to return soon, thank you x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starryknightKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eype's Mouth Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eype's Mouth Country Hotel

Property: Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Address: Eype | Eype, Bridport DT6 6AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Eype's Mouth Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the small Dorset village of Eype, near Bridport, Eype's Mouth Country Hotel is a family run 17 bedroom hotel. With superb sea views and only a few minutes walk to the beach, the hotel occupies a unique position on the Heritage Coastline. This stunning location, recently filmed Broadchurch television drama, provides the opportunity to walk along the Coastal Path with much to explore and observe for the keen rambler, ornithologist, anthropologist or geologist.Overlooking Lyme Bay and the beautiful coastal path, the Restaurant offers a three course table d'hote menu with plenty of choice for each course. Changed daily, the menu is created by Chef to take advantage of the locally produced foods and includes specialities such as locally caught fish, superb meats and fruit and vegetable farm produce from just north of Bridport. The Admirals Bar is located on the ground floor and open all day to residents. Perfect for pre-dinner drinks, sit and relax over a well deserved aperitif and a few nibbles and peruse the menu. After dinner, retire to the comfort of the bar or residents lounge for coffee with a brandy or liqueur. A Bar Snack Menu for residents is available Noon - 2pm and 6.30Pm - 8.30Pm daily. This is also available to non-residents during the winter months. A cosy bar with a traditional log fire. The Smugglers Bar is a fine old world cellar bar open during the summer months only. It is ideal if you are visiting the area just for the day or staying locally and are looking for a drink or meal. A Bar Food Menu is served 12 noon - 2pm and 6.30Pm - 8.30Pm. Our bars have an array of fine beers. The local Palmers Brewery (Bridport) provides an excellent traditional real ale with their IPA whilst a guest real ale is often available in the Smugglers Bar. The Smugglers Bar is open from Good Friday until the end of October each year. Opening hours are 11am (12 noon Sundays) until 10pm. The Coastal Lounge is the ideal place to enjoy a light snack, coffee or tea or just to relax with a good book and admire the beautiful seaviews and stunning landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Eype's Mouth Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eypes Mouth Country Bridport
Hotel Eypes Mouth Country
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing