We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there a better breakfast anywhere?”
Review of Orchard Barn

Orchard Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard Barn
Ranked #50 of 58 Bridport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We found this B&B in Alastair Sawday's guide, and it has to be one of the best B&Bs we've stayed at. There was a warm welcome for us (with our dog) and we stayed in a ground floor room with its own entrance. The room was very comfortable and the Steering Committee liked all the towels, shampoos etc. I liked the free wifi and home made cakes with tea served in the riverside garden. The double bed was big and comfortable. But the best was the breakfast. Simply the best porridge I can remember (with Guernsey cream), River Cottage yoghurts, home-made fruit salad and freshly squeezed orange juice. This was followed by every item of English breakfast you could imagine; West Country sausages, bacon, tomatoes, Portobello mushrooms, all kinds of free range eggs, and home-cooked hash browns. Even the dog was given a sausage. I think there are only 2 rooms and together they share a huge vaulted sitting room with a roaring log fire. The sitting room is just for guests; it's an ideal welcome especially after a long walk or drive. The owners, Nigel and Margaret, are semi-retired hoteliers and their top-level experience (they owned and developed the 5* Summer Lodge at Evershot) really showed. I'm struggling to fault it; the parking is tight for an estate car but Nigel will guide you in and out, and the wifi dropped out briefly but no more than mine at home. The access is down a narrow lane, in a quiet village. We were treated more like friends and really hope to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: If you take the ground floor room and you'll have your own front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Orchard Barn is a family run B&B close to the spectacular Jurassic Coast where we stayed for a couple of nights over Easter. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and settled onto a sofa in front of a log fire in the huge barn sitting room that is open to all guests. The hospitable owner Nigel brought us a tray with tea and home made cakes. We passed a happy hour or two reading before heading out to a local seafood restaurant. The room was comfortable with a well appointed bathroom full of Arran Aromatics products. Our only issue was that the heating was turned up rather high so we woke up with slightly thick heads, and not from the wine. Breakfast was a feast -River Cottage yoghurt with local honey, huge organic full English that defeated us. On Easter Sunday we took an 8 mile walk from Abbotsbury along the headland and back along Chesil Beach. Truly stunning scenery with new born lambs and dramatic deserted beach. There are books and maps of the area in the barn and Nigel can help with advice on routes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

How could this not be a great place to stay? Margaret and Nigel developed and ran Summer Lodge Hotel, Evershot , one of the best hotels anywhere. The rooms here have comfy beds, big baths and share a barn of a lounge with open fire. Breakfasts are the equal of any and if you remember to do so ask for Kedgeree for breakfast. You will be in for a real treat. If the weather is good have tea and cakes outside in the delightful garden. Overall you won't find better personal service better than this and you will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWonderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Nigel and Margaret are very generous and gracious hosts, ever willing to provide helpful advice for visiting the attractions in the area. The rooms are wonderfully equipped and very comfortable. The full English breakfast was indeed delicious and "full," choices for every taste and more plentiful than anyone could possibly eat. Afternoon tea was a welcome treat after a day exploring the countryside. We had a wonderful four days as guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a great start to our holiday in Cornwall, on our way stopping over in beautiful Dorset and stumbling across this wonderful place. We only stayed for one night but felt so comfortable! Nigel and Margaret are wonderful hosts and we were happy their shared their beautiful home with us. From afternoon tea in the beautiful gardens on arrival, to getting tips for sightseeing and dinner- we were thoroughly looked after. (We tried the Hive in Burton Bradstock- great food and great scenery) .We have had the drawing room all to ourselves with the smell of the wood fire and the high ceilings. We stayed in the room downstairs with separate entrance and the “secret door” to the drawing room. Everything is so beautiful and tastefully decorated, so many little touches from the beautiful fresh flowers, little sweeties in the drawing room, the bathroom and luxurious soaps and soft towels. Everything is spotless and yet we were allowed to bring our little dog who was welcomed as well. There are books, maps, walking guides, games so one could secretly wish for bad weather to be able to stay in and enjoy sitting in front of a blazing fire. We loved the breakfast in the morning we were spoilt for choice with everything on offer including Margaret's homemade jams, the yoghurts... We are so pleased you did not retire from hospitality completely so maybe we get to stay again, hopefully a bit longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaytili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have stayed at Orchard Barn on several occasions and will keep returning to savour the most magnificent hospitality that Nigel and Margaret provide to all their guests. Nothing is too much trouble and guests enjoy the luxuries of a 5 star hotel at this B & B which is so beautifully situated both near the sea and in the countryside as well as being close to the lovely town of Bridport. The food is out of this world and the rooms extremely comfortable. What more could anybody ask for? We will be returning as soon as we can. Thank you Nigel and Margaret - you have managed to spoil us yet again!

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have just spent a great weekend staying at this small B&B / Hotel near Bridport and I have to say that is a fantastic find. The hosts,Nigel and Margaret, could not have made us more welcome. From a lovely iced cordial under the old apple trees in the garden on the banks of the river when we arrived, to the beutifully cooked breakfast in the morning, we were made to feel like hugely welcome guests. Our bedroom was comfortable, large, and nicely furnished and the bathroom well appointed and beautifully clean (as was the whole of the rest of the house). The guest lounge was wonderfully comfortable and the breakfast room was homely and cool on a hot Sunday morning. The breakfast included homemade preserves and almost all locally sourced items for the "Full English" which was very well cooked and delightfully served. I can honestly say this is the best small hotel / B&B that we have ever stayed in. You have to try it when you are in this part of the country.

Room Tip: There are only two - you will not be disaponted with either of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridport hotels
0 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
57 reviews
0 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
261 reviews
0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
525 reviews
0 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#4 of 5 in Charmouth
504 reviews
0 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Barn

Address: Orchard Barn Railway Crossing, Bridport DT6 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Bridport
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Orchard Barn Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing