We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Huge room!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Spent one night as a stopover last week and had the largest twin room I've ever seen. It has two doubles and despite the temptation to sublet the other bed to help with the cost we used it for just the two of us. We were both very happy, but it did come at a price. Very helpful Reception staff when we arrived who was happy to solve any niggling little problems we had. Good breakfast and nice staff serving. Lovely courtyard which we overlooked but due to inclement weather we could not enjoy fully. A good place to stop on your way further west.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    185
    71
    34
    16
See reviews for
123
445
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South West England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The second visit to The Bull for me and this time I stayed in the Golden Fern room which is fine for a single traveller, which I was, or for a romantic couple! The bed was comfy and the bathroom/shower great. The staff were attentive and friendly and delivered a home made pizza & a glass of wine to me in my room! The only slight problem was that the room overlooks the courtyard and, due to being a very hot day the window had to be open, and there were a group of noisy men drinking out there until close which was a bit irritating. Breakfast was fabulous and the cost of staying was reasonable. I will definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingirl606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Lovely coaching inn with incredibly helpful staff. We stayed in room 205, which was a compact room with a very big comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom. Great cider bar at the back of the courtyard which made the best pizzas we have eaten outside Italy. Breakfast had lovely pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurt, really good bread and excellent cooked English breakfast and eggs Benedict. We stayed during a hot week this summer and the room was very hot, with the windows open, a larger fan would have helped. We had a great stay ( hot nights aside) and the hotel managed to change our original booking to accommodate a funeral back in Devon and still honoured a special deal. We would definitely recommend it and hope to return with friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LappersDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Weekend stay at The Bull Hotel. A very good experience ! Bridport is very busy with a Saturday Farmers Market. Private parking. A lovely room (The Old Stable) with sitting area, a bathroom with a tub, robes and products, and ready for check in at lunchtime! The Venner cocktail bar upstairs is great with three very good barmen and a lively Saturday crowd.. Terrific food in the restaurant, with a good choice of wines. Best of all are the staff, everyone is helpful, smiling, and good at their job, what a difference that makes !!!

Room Tip: The Old Stable and The Manger are two rooms away from the bar/restaurant areas. Beautifully appoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petrolhead0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After running around Lyme Regis trying to find a bed for the night to no avail, we decided to look further afield and headed for Bridport. So glad we stumbled upon the Bull! The exterior looked elegant so we wandered in and were able to get the last room. What a relief....sleeping in the car wasn't an appealing option. Our room was plantation themed. Palm leaf cushions and lots of green and white, with a huge bathroom, including a clawfoot bath. Lovely herbal based toiletries in the rooms was also a nice touch. Not wanting to venture far, we settled into the beer garden for a glass of wine or two and reviewed food options. You can order from the restaurant or choose from the pizza bar menu. We chose a little from both which the staff were more than happy to accommodate. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, with a focus on fresh local produce. Highly recommended and only a short drive to the beaches.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face into the beer garden. They close this at 10pm out of respect for guests. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarandip30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely friendly helpful staff made this short break enjoyable. The hotel is centrally situated in the middle of this lovely Market Town The rooms were very hot. A fan was already available in the room. The shower gel was the best I have had. Food was very good and a lovely combination of tastes. . The finish and character of the rooms fell below the standard of what one would expect from a boutique hotel.
Whilst the Bull certainly has history the lay out does not lend itself to easy movement. E.g narrow stairs, levels of floors. Etc. overall whilst a pleasant stay it seemed expensive.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I came with a group of family members for a few combined celebrations last night. Our food was so good. The pork was absoloutly heavenly and full of flavour!
One of our party was not satisfied with his meal and I was very impressed at how they dealt with his complaint- great staff! The only annoying thing was kids running around us as they were there for a wedding- staff did try to rectify this though so cannot fault he Bull.

Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZ_Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
314 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
232 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Property: The Bull Hotel
Address: 34 East Street, Bridport DT6 3LF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bridport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Bridport
The Bull Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing