We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & relaxing”
Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2009

GIven the fairly mixed bag of reviews for The Bull on this site, I thought I should add my own experiences into the mix. Having just returned from a weekend break there, I have to say that my first impressions (some of which are echoed in previous reviews) were absolutely blown away by charming and helpful attitude of the staff.

First of all, it is reather difficult to park - a small cvar park which is badly lit with no clear signs back into the hotel and no offer of help from reception. Then, our room (Chinese petite double - room 102) really was tiny. In their defence, this is stated pretty clearly on the website and was also made clear to me when I booked. Even so, I was disappointed by the size of the room and a rather uninspiriing bathroom.

A walk downstairs followed where my girlfirend and I had booked a table for supper. At 9pm it seemed we were rather late and nearly all the items we fancied had run out. We were then encouraged by the waitress to stay in the bar if we preferred and simply order a sleection of starters and nibbles, tapas style. So we stayed in front of the roaring log fire and enjoyed the informal surroundings. A trip into Bridport for a drink followed and after this deeply unimprssive experience we soon came running back to the friendliness of the Bull and enjoyed a nightcap in the wionderfull Veneer Bar - a really nice touch.

On Saturday when we came down for (a delicious) breakfast, the plkace was absolutely bustling. The makret outside was in full flow and plenty of locals were wondering in and out for coffee and there was a really nice, vibrant atmosphere.

We were then able to take the owners' dogs out for a walk and he kindly dropped us up at a point which gave us a circular route back to the hotel - a really nice touch.

Three hours later we were welcomed back with our muddy boots and muddy dogs and felt prefectly comfortable louging around in the bar reading papers, havinga drink and chatting with fellow residents and the staff. At this point, it reminded me very much of an upmarket ski chalet in atmosphere - unobtrusively communal and I got the impression that the staff really cared about whether we were having a good time.

Dinner in the restaurant follows that evening. Again, they'd run out of a lot of dishes but I guess that is indicative of the fresh l;ocal produce they use and probably suggests that booking an early table is advisable.

Overall, I was rather touched by the whole experience. The hotel is not a run-of-the-mill minimalist boutique hotel. there is something rather shabby about it and it is clealy as much a destination for locals as it is for out-of-towners which, in my book, is a positive thing. The service is not necessarily always slick, but it is genuine and teh staff clealy have a pasion for the place and create a very homely experience.

The food is excellent and very well priced and I should imagibne far exceeds anything else available in the town. The combination of both the bars makes it quite possible to spedn an entire evenning in the hotel without feeling too claustrophobic.

So my advice for any travellers would be......do yourself a favour and avoid any of the smaller rooms, get involved - engage with the staff and leave your airs and graces behind and you will DEFINITELY fall in love with this place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hambon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2009

After so many rave reviews thought this would be something special. Waited ages for anyone to show inerest in us when we arrived.. Ordered hot chocolate which took 20 minutes to arrive even though we were the only people in. The dining area is rather bare and souless, although the fire was nice, if a bit overpowering..The chairs are hard and the wals have wierd paintings-Woolworth's circ 1969. Briport is a nice town and a lovely centre for exploring the Jurassic coast.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We booked a three night midweek stay at the Bull in desperate need of just 'getting away from it all'. And what a fantastic experience we had! Had been trying to get into one of the deluxe rooms for a while (after recommendations from friends) but with great difficulty- now I can see why.
We stayed in the Fuscia Flock (Room 206)- tucked away at the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard with stunning freestanding bath in the centre of the room and beautiful wallpaper. What a treat! The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the linen delightful. Real luxury.
This hotel has got it just right. A very easygoing and undemanding atmosphere- The staff very friendly and helpful without being overbearing and intrusive. The curly haired receptionist was particularly charming,- sending us off on a hike across the Jurassic Coast to a pub on the beach for lunch, then very happily making the difficult decision for us of which film to choose from their DVD collection! We felt it made a real difference to the hotel experience being recognised with a smile and a bubbly personality, very unlike fading into the faceless crowd in somewhere more corporate.
We ate at the restaurant on two of the nights- absolutely delicious and highly recommended. Service was a bit slow on the first night but they were busy and we were in no hurry so didn't really bother us. The lobster was like heaven on a plate.
Overall, quite simply the best hotel we have experienced in the UK. Something very unique and quirky about this place which is missing in alot of hotels.
We have already booked in for a return visit!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soph_and_elliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

My boyfriend and i recently stayed at The Bull Hotel, in Room 206. We had a lovely long weekend at the hotel, the rooms are very tastefuly done with a lovely roll top bath and beautiful bed! We booked to eat in the restaurant for one night, but ended up eating there all 3 nights. The restaurant can be noisy but it did create a lively atmosphere, which was made all the better by the menu, a great choice of local seafood! Bridport itself is a lovely old town with an amazing market on Saturday. There are lots of walks along the coast which the staff are more than happy to advise you on. All in all i reccomend this hotel for anyone who wants to get away from it all!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loren000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We were attracted to the Bull Hotel because of the great website and good reviews in both the Mr. & Mrs Smith book and in Conde Nast Travel Magazine. Unfortunately, we took advantage of the lower room rates in the smaller rooms (chinese petite doubles -£85 per night) thinking it would be quite good value. Unfortunately the room itself was very small, and not as nice as many other B&Bs/hotels we've stayed in in the past which have lesser reputations.

The hotel itself was lovely and the breakfasts were delicious. The bar was also a welcoming place to sit and while away the hours. We enjoyed taking their dog for a walk on Saturday -a really nice touch that they let you do this. In a different room we probably would have written a different review, -just don't do what we did and book the small room!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We happened to be passing Bridport en route from London to Cornwall last week and ended up dropping in at The Bull Hotel looking for a room for the night. We were so suprised to find such a beautiful welcoming place. There were three fires lit downstairs with, considering it was a monday night in january, plenty of people dining in the restaurant or drinking in the connecting bar. There was a really cosy intimate lively atmosphere. Our room, Silver double, was gorgeous. The owners - a chatty and irreverant couple who were very entertaining - took time to walk around the restaurant visiting each table and chatted at length to us about how we found the place and asking us how our food was (delicious by the way - great steak for me, succulent lamb for my other half). She was charming and relaxed and we could see how her lively touch was imprinted in the tasteful decor and furnishings. breakfast is a must. We left feeling like we'd found a real hidden gem. Mind you there is a wall of fame with plenty of national newspaper rave reviews about the place - it's easy to understand why. That said, wasn't sure whether to tell everyone about it but in these uncertain times we thought it would be more generous to do so!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amelieandjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

We read the review on Mr and Mrs Smith and had checked out the hotel's website, before booking into the Bull.

My husband and I were exploring Bridport for a weekend in October (unfortunately, the weekend just prior to half term). Due to the weekend chosen, the nightly rate of over £100 was, we felt, a tad overpriced.

The room was ok (yes, it had pretty wallpaper), but this in no way justified the room rate.

We had read the reports calling the Bull's interior "shabby chic". We checked in at reception (and had to wait for a fair amount of time as the receptionist answered a phone call WHILST booking us in - grrrrr!), we were then shown upstairs to our room - the stairs had no carpet and were just plain "shabby".

The room was ok - it had a strange green wardrobe (complete with those wretched fixed hangers - NO, we were NOT going to steal them!). Tea making facilities were provided, as were bottles of mineral water.

We had read write ups which warned that the rooms overlooking the high street could be noisy on a Saturday morning - due to the market being set up. This did not seem to be a problem, although trying to open the window did seem to prove difficult, closing it was more so, you had to wedge your hand in the sash window - ouch.

Finding a radio station on the TV also seemed problematic - there were no instructions and we found a radio station more by luck than anything else.

The toiletries in the bathroom were a nice touch.

Breakfast on the Saturday morning was great, although on the Sunday morning, my husband had to send his breakfast back as the fried egg was not runny and had obviously been fried, then set hard and left sitting around in the kitchen for a while. The dining room was tastefully decorated and had a good atmosphere - breakfast times were busy, as was the Saturday evening, although we had pre-booked beforehand.

Dinner on the Saturday evening was ok, good choice of veggie options on the menu and the food was tasty, although maybe not particularly great value for money.

Parking spaces in the car park were few and far between, a couple of land rovers (maybe owned by staff?) seemed to hog 2 spaces of the car park for the whole weekend. If it had not been for the fact that hotel users were able to use the adjoining solicitors car park over the weekend, it would not have been able to park in close proximity to the hotel.

Having stayed at another hotel in Bridport since October (cheaper and more comfortable) - we would not choose to stay at the Bull again and would not recommend it to friends or relatives.

A rate of £100+ for a room which has nice wallpaper, albeit in a strangely decorated room (even if chocs were supplied on the first night) would not, I'm afraid to say, encourage us to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJC123WestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Greyhound
The Greyhound
#9 of 10 in Bridport
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
396 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
562 reviews
9.8 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Address: 34 East Street, Bridport DT6 3LF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Price Range: £84 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Bridport
The Bull Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing