We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bingham Grange

Bingham Grange
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bingham Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this campsite for the second time in July in a tent on a grass pitch T7 (highly recommended!). This adults (and dogs) only site cannot be faulted, first class washing facilities, small shop - where you can buy newspapers daily and basic provisions. In addition, washing and drying facilities, microwave and freezer are also provided. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The site itself has 111 pitches, combination of hard and grass pitches. Attention to detail is second to none and the site is maintained daily and is absolutely immaculate. We found our stay very relaxing and extremely enjoyable - the site offered peace and tranquility for us. It might be helpful to look at the site plan before booking some pitches are a little walk away from facilities - a consideration if you have mobility issues. The Buzzards bar offers meals on a daily basis - good selection but we didn't dine as we preferred outside options - try The Anchor at Burton Bradstock (fabulous) but you will need to book - Hive Cafe at Burton Bradstock is also excellent, a little pricey but the fish selection is brilliant. Also, try The Watch House Cafe in West Bay - brilliant but watch out for the Seagulls! Prices off peak for a tent pitch is around £24 including electric hook up. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Tent pitch T7 - excellent!!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    26
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We travelled from deepest Lancashire for a 16 night stay. We found the staff very helpful and friendly upon arrival, I felt this was a genuine welcome and not its my job to be friendly and helpful!! Our hard standing pitch was large and spacious, plenty of room for caravan, awning and car. The shower block was immaculate, and cleaned regular with out inconveniencing anyone, unlike the Caravan Club sights were they close for cleaning..
The dog walk was excellent a path through a wooded area plus open grass for the dogs to run around off the lead. Again very clean.
We found this site a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay..
We are looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very good pitch layout, facilities good and staff lovely but, we chose thus for the fact it was an adult campsite hoping therefore for some peace and quiet and a good sleep. We were camping with a tent - the sits is ore caravan orientated than anything but - more grass pitches than non-grass pitches for tents - hence, a lot of tents (which allow sound through) have TV's and radio inside - a real shame after spending a grew at evening with a bbq under the tarp in the rain having then to listen to cackling lafter and comedians on the neighbours tv when trying go sleep. Don't get me wrong - I've been to worst places but this wasn't as great as I has hoped - given what we were looking for and the other sites we rejected (some of which I later discovered hac amazing views). Also - river walk is non existent as the pathway is too overgrown - just got stung a lot and ended up walking for 1/2 mile on a 60mph road with my dog.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSEABERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

we stay there this weekend and our friend were going to join us but they had to cancel due to a medical problem. We try to get a refund for them but the campsite said they didn't do refunds, Just below the campsite is a broading kennals and the dogs don't stop barking all day and into night they don't put that in brochure .We ask to stay on late on the last day which they say you can do on sign near reception and even though they had had £60 for our friends booking for nothing they said no which was to understand as the park was half empty .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank colmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

A quiet tranquil campsite which is adults only, seems to be lots of long stay campers. Very clean site & 2 lovely new showers that are part of the shower block. Lots of signs telling you what you can and cannot do.
The site is dog friendly but not Buzzards which was a shame, no real outside with the dog except under the stairs. There are many signs signposting to the river dog walks but the paths are so over grown or too steep to access.
We felt the site lacked any atmosphere and did not stay for all the nights we booked for.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The_hammonds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Visited here for three days in September. We were really looking forward but to be honest although the site was lovely, we were a bit disappointed. They didn't advise that the restaurant closes for two nights each week which left us caught as nowhere else to eat without driving your motorhome offsite. The individual shower rooms were without doubt the best i have ever seen. Yet the welcome at reception was not very warm. I had some washing and drying to do and none of the machines had clear instructions. I had to ask for help with both and felt i was an inconvenience asking for help at reception. The Dog walk which although it was lovely wasn't fulyl enclosed and if your dog likes to hunt there are quite a few areas they can escape to the nearby countryside. A warning should be given.

Overall lovely site but some (not all) staff could do with making their customers feel a little more welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just returned from a weekend camping at Bingham Grange and it was brilliant. The food was lovely in the Buzzards bar and the showers were a home from home and clean and tidy whenever we used them. We were probably slightly louder then the normal residents, being a group of 5 mature ladies but we were given our own private area and had a great time. We did ask if we could dress up in the bar on the Saturday as it was one of the girls leaving do but this request was declined...(and probably with reason) so we had fun by the tent instead. Brill shopping in Bridport on Saturday. Well done Bingham Grange..we may return..you have been warned. From The Bovington Ladies.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridport hotels
2.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
3.5 mi away
Highlands End Holiday Park
5.0 mi away
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
Halsons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Morcombelake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wheelwrights Bed and Breakfast
3.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bingham Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingham Grange

Property: Bingham Grange
Address: Melplash, Bridport DT6 3TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bingham Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Bingham Grange Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing