We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Pleasant Surprise”

Sladers Yard Gallery
Ranked #14 of 42 things to do in Bridport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sladers Yard is one of the most ambitious art galleries in the South West, showing contemporary British art, handmade furniture and designer craft. Housed in an historic Georgian rope warehouse, with pillared galleries and flower-filled courtyard, it is five minutes walk from the beach and harbour in West Bay, Dorset. Sladers Yard has an acclaimed cafe which is open every day serving coffees, lunches and teas. It has its own Tripadvisor entry under Sladers Yard Cafe. Please review the cafe there! Many thanks.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Most Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

An invitation to a birthday party to be held at Sladers Yard meant that a visit would be made to this establishment for the first time , despite having lived in the area for over 12 years. And what a pleasant surprise it was.

Aside from the fact we knew most of the people there, the food was delicious, fresh and wonderfully presented - with a smile and excellent service. The setting was ideally located in the centre of West Bay and close to the beach. Yes, it was indeed a pleasant surprise and we shall return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JRF178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P, Owner at Sladers Yard Gallery, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
So happy you enjoyed the evening and the dinner! We'll look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Far from the Chipping crowd”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is our regular coffee stop when we are in West Bay. Although you pass it if you walk from the main car park. it is discreetly tucked away in the eponymous yard. It is an interesting venue as the gallery has a good range of local art work although the prices are aimed at the serious buyer. it's other charm is that it is safely away from addition to the natural aromas of the harbour posed by the superfluity of fish and chip Kiosks on the waterside

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidWelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P, Owner at Sladers Yard Gallery, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks so much for your review. Once people find us, this old stone building is a wonderful haven. Look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for a peaceful tea break”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Can't comment on the food but the service, atmosphere and location are spot on for a cup of tea or coffee. I work locally and we often pop here for meetings out of the office. Ideal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GardaGirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P, Owner at Sladers Yard Gallery, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks very much for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Go for the food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed with friends in Weymouth. Had lunch here - exceptional. Great crab cakes with black salsa salad. The crab sandwich was packed full of crabmeat. A must.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AliG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P, Owner at Sladers Yard Gallery, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Ali G, Thanks for a lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your fresh Lyme Bay crab.
Did you mean to only give us 3 out of 5 as a rating? Look forward to seeing you again I hope.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Quite lovely”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely place and lovely staff serving lovely food. What more do you want? Relaxed and quiet. Perfect summer day lunch.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheAngeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P, Owner at Sladers Yard Gallery, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to Sladers Yard.

We also now have an entry for Sladers Yard Cafe, which comes up under cafes when people search. If you have a moment and can review the cafe there, that would be so helpful! But many thanks anyway and come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sladers Yard Gallery also viewed

 
 

Been to Sladers Yard Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing