We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, lots of it, great location, nice staff - what's not to like???”

The Anchor Inn at Seatown
Ranked #6 of 132 Restaurants in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve the finest Palmer's Ales and fantastic food with ingredients sourced from the best local producers.Our cliff top terrace comfortably seats 100 and the views are arguably some of the best in the country, if not the world!During the summer months we serve a great selection of fresh fish & shellfish caught from West Bay and Weymouth, and lobsters straight from our beach!In winter, the emphasis changes to hearty stews, slow cooked meats and watching the storm waves crash in with the comfort of our roaring wood burner.So whether you're after a light bite, a full on lunch or dinner, or just a pint or two, then The Anchor Inn at Seatown is the place for you!!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lots of it, great location, nice staff - what's not to like???”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Excellent food - ham as thick as your leg - eggs, chips - all went down well with our daughters. Tables inside are limited, which can be an issue (particularly if you get a sudden rainy squall and everyone rushes inside!). Nice, friendly staff who know all the local beers, ales and milk vodka too! I think the food is really great, because it's not pretentious but just a bit more exciting that your average "chips with everything" pub menu, and the portions are generous (bravo! No-one on holiday is ever on a diet, so feed them well!). Highly recommended and they do breakfast for non-residents on Thurs, Fri and Sat too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    355
    108
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OMG if you come to Dorset don't miss this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We came on a really vague recommendation but what a last second decision.
Twin one had ham egg and chips which came with one of the thickest cuts of local ham I've ever seen served up and it melted in the mouth.
Twin two had a child's portion of carbonara which was absolutely immense, tri-coloured pasta bows and loads of flavour.
The wife and I had a seafood platter which was presented on a wooden platter and I just couldn't fault the combination of breads, fresh crab, trout pate, smoked salmon, prawns, mackerel...my mouth is still watering at the thought.
The location is stunning with a view along the coast towards Lyme Regis and back towards

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Korinsan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our recent four night stay in one of the Anchor's refurbed rooms was delightful. The room featured a tasteful nautical/contemporary style, great facilities (especially the bathroom...wow!), uber-comfortable bed, with splendid views out over the beach and Doghouse Hill. And downstairs, the welcoming embrace of the Anchor pub, with its excellent range of Palmers beers and sumptuous food. As that slightly cliched saying goes, what's not to like? Thanks to Paul and his friendly and helpful team, who collectively make a convivial addition to this brilliant place. Great memories indeed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HowISeeThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent place, staff and food outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is how to do it, young staff, well motivated and helpful.
It was a busy night yet they managed to squeeze 12 of us in and served very good food in quick time.
One of the party had booked a room and said it was really nice and planned to stay another week!
Amazing views from the garden along the Jurassic beach and walks to challenge the brave.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gordonLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Last Sunday we decided to drive down to the coast to take some photos. We were heading for Lyme Regis, however we decided on a whim to call in to Seatown. So glad we did. It’s a beautiful little place, with the Anchor Inn to offer refreshment and food. We stopped for lunch after a long walk on the Golden Cap and the beach. We have parked in the main car park; it cost £4 for the day, which is not too bad. Also if you spend more than £20 in the Anchor, they will take that off your bill. Don’t forget to present your parking ticket.
We decided to share a seafood platter for 2, and it was an excellent choice. The food was tasty and well presented. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We sat in the beer garden; it has great views, however the picnic benches could do with a rub down, but that won’t stop us from going back again soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorset1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn at Seatown also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
Chideock, Bridport
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to The Anchor Inn at Seatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing