We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cozy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dormouse Cottage

Dormouse Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dormouse Cottage
Street view House sign
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Dormouse Cottage
Street view
House sign
Dining Room
Rear garden
Rear garden
Rear garden
Rear garden
Patio area
Bedroom 1
Windowsill in bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Windowsill bedroom 2
?
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Views around the village
Views around the village
Views around the village
Views around the village
Views around the village
Views around the village
Views around the village
Lyme Regis
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MumA65
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cozy cottage”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We found this cottage very clean with excellent attention to detail. After arriving we found the welcome treat for us and the dog a thoughtful surprise. The garden was wonderful with amazing view and very sunny and relaxing to sit in when back from a busy day. The location was good to discover the beautiful coastline of west Dorset.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thanks for the lovely review, really pleased to hear you enjoyed the cottage as much as we do. Kind regards, Paul & Kimberley (Dormouse Cottage)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanLott
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend at Dormouse Cottage, Dorset”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Took Alice away to Dormouse cottage for her birthday and had a fantastic time away! A charming, warm, cosy and very well equipped cottage; we had a fantastic stay with nice walks and days out to the local towns of Lyme Regis and West Bay and loved coming back to the warm log burner in the evening. A very relaxing stay, we cannot wait too visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2015
Thanks for the lovely review Dan and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairebob...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a lovely short stay in Dormouse Cottage. It is a very cosy and welcoming place to stay. A fab comfortable base whilst visiting Dorset. Recommend highly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Thank you for the lovely review Claire and we are pleased to hear you had a lovely time at our cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards, Paul & Kimberley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic cottage and a great base from which to explore”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent a week here with our dog from 12th September and had a fabulous time! The location is great as a base to explore Dorset - we visited Bridport, Weymouth, Dorchester, Lyme Regis, Sherborne and lots of other smaller villages so plenty to do within easy reach. West Bay is lovely and there are great coastal walks. There are plenty of walking routes near the cottage too and different distances depending on time/ability, etc. The cottage itself is a real home-from-home with so much thought having gone into the things supplied. The bathroom is new and has a fantastic shower. The wood burner is great in the colder evenings and makes the place so cosy. The garden is south facing and a real sun trap (and it has a handy hose for muddy dogs). The village itself is pretty and quiet with a nice pub. We will definitely be back and will recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and quality of cottage
Liked least: had to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thanks for the fabulous review David - we look forward to welcoming you back! Regards, Paul & Kimberley (Dormouse Cottage)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Dorset delight well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This gorgeous little haven set in the beautiful village of Loders, offers accommodation of the highest standard. Beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished, it has all mod cons integrated with the old world charm of the cottage. Situated within easy reach of the many beautiful beaches and pretty Dorset villages which comprise West Dorset. The owners have thought of everything, including a welcome pack with a bottle of Prosecco and some scrummy biscuits, plus a sweet little card welcoming you to their home. We didn't want to leave.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for this lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine O
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cottage in peaceful village”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A great cottage with everything we could have wished for to make our short stay thoroughly enjoyable. A lovely village within a short drive to all the local sights and amenities. Would recommend. Excellent value for money

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Dear Elaine,

Thank you so much for the lovely review of Dormouse Cottage and we are so pleased to hear that you loved it as much as we do. We must also say a huge thank you for leaving the cottage in such a clean and tidy condition.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Paul & Kimberley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40pastie
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage in friendly village”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed with our children the first week of August. The cottage is exactly how you would expect in a small village. Full of charm with stylish decor. Garden is beautiful, lovely for outdoor dining on the BBQ. The local pub is very friendly, Stuart met the vicar and locals at thier weekly coffee morning and was made to feel very welcome! The location is great for beaches and picturesque harbours, West Bay, Bridport, Lyme Regis, charmouth we even got to Sidmouth donkey sanctuary and great retail therapy at Exeter on our ONLY rainy day. Would thoroughly recommend the cottage for couples wanting to escape the fast life, families with young children and keen walkers/cyclists as a great base. Have already recommended to friends. Ps. Bottle of prosecco and biscuits on arrival is a lovely touch thank you x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Dear Stuart & Lucy,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review of Dormouse Cottage and we are so pleased to hear that you loved it as much as we do. Glad that the weather was kind to you and that you managed to explore the local area and people.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Paul & Kimberley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing