We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it too!”
Review of The Bottle Inn

The Bottle Inn
Ranked #73 of 133 Restaurants in Bridport
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Bottle Inn is a heritage listed thatched pub with a fantastic ambience and is FOR SALE!! It has a very large beer garden (perfect for kids) for meals and drinks in summer and a warming ingle nook fireplace in the main bar in winter. Our function room which seats 100 for meals also doubles as a skittle alley complete with a bar and wood-burner for a cosy dining experience. This is a free-house so come and experience the best of ales and food today!!The Bottle Inn is for sale - contact the owners Michael and Pauline Brookes for further details.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We love it too!”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile



We have been a few times over the last three months twice for the curry bus (on Friday evening) and once for the jazz afternoon on alternate Sundays.

The curry bus night is great, get your curries & bring in to the bar & enjoy with one of the pubs beers. Was very crowded first time so we got there early on 2nd visit to get a table easily.

Jazz afternoon really relaxing - looking forward to summer months in the garden.

Landlord Nigel and family are very welcoming.
We recommend anyone to go and see.


Helpful?
1 Thank ellhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
thorncombe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Have been looking forward to trying this pub for a while, ended up there last night, intending to eat there after a drink. I felt like I was imposing, the bar staff seemed more interested in discussing their problems with work than serving us a drink! They continued this discussion the entire time we were being served! The decor is not great, looks really tired and the room at the back is the same. I was so disappointed and will not be returning here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zara101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nfcblake, Manager at The Bottle Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit to this village pub, I have spoken to the staff on that night and I can assure you this is not their normal behavior and usually all customers are met by a polite and friendly welcome and I can only other my sincerest apologies, as for the decor looking "really tired" the pub was completly redecorated just before the reopening of the pub in August last year, the decor was chosen to essentiate the architecture and features of this wonderful old grade 2 listed country pub and not to modernize it in to the 21st century and unfortunately you can not please everbody but to the most part people love the decor, yes the function/skittle alley at the back is still the same but painted, in the next two months we are intending to open the kitchen and refurbish the skittle alley and open it as a restaurant area, it would be nice to see you again when finaly we are serving food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great country pub”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

A lovely old bar, a free house with good real ales, and always has a nice atmosphere. The Curry bus visits on Friday nights, which makes a nice change. Look out for live music nights.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This historic pub will not be lost to the community.”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Having visited the pub only to find itstill closed i was advised by Nigel who was working outside clearing some storm damage to a tree thatThe Bottle in will be opening again during early summer as a traditional ale house with country dining featuring many cask ales and traditional cuisine with a fantastic rustic atmosphere in keeping with the age of the pub.

He also confrimed that The world famous nettle eating competition will also take place in june/july after further renovations have been completed.

By all accounts The Bottle will be a fantastic place to meet and enjoy a beer or have a bite with a fantastic Sunday Carvery and Jazz.We Bottle fans will look forward to the pub opening again. Good luck to The Bottle.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HawkchurchTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Closed”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We'd heard that The Bottle had reopened. Last time we had visited it was dire - unwelcoming, grotty food and sulky service (Easter 2009). we hoped for better this time - it used to have a good reputation.
But was closed - permanently by the looks of it - chain across the car park.
This is a great site; how come no one can make a success of it?

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank justin_tunstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonneyview, Owner at The Bottle Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
We were very sorry to read your report on The Bottle Inn. We have had a couple of very tenants, which has been hard for us to monitor as we live in Australia and took advantage of that!! We came over last month to clean up etc etc and it should be re-opening in the next few weeks with a new tenant, who will hopefully run our pub succesfully again. We are also about to re-thatch and re-surface car park etc. We hope that you will return again soon and enjoy your experience.

Michael and Pauline Brookes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bottle Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Bottle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing