We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One again a great trip- Thanks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newlands Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newlands Holidays
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One again a great trip- Thanks”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is our second visit to Newlands. We stayed last May in a Pearl apartment and had a great time and this year again on a Sun deal stayed in a Seaton caravan. We had great weather although cold at night and enjoyed walking in the area and even our 2 year old managed to walk from the site to the beach and along the beach to Lyme Regis which was a beautiful walk although we took the bus back direct to the site entrance (very handy). The caravan was extremely clean and fairly fresh in decor/furnishings and was quieter than I expected. If there hadn't been the little heaters in the bedrooms though I think we would have frozen as we didnt
work out how to use them until Day 2.
We didnt use any site facilities as we were out a lot and with 2 very young children was easier to eat in caravan. Would definitely reccommend. Especially at the Sun deal price.

Room Tip: Have been happy with both the Pearl apartment and Seaton caravan which are standard accommodation on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    153
    88
    26
    26
See reviews for
268
91
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TEWKESBURY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

You can never tell what you're going to get with a "Sun-break" deal, but we landed on our feet this time. We got a caravan which was clean and well maintained with a decent cooker and a 1st class picture on the telly!. Seats were comfortable, shower was hot, beds were comfortable .. if it had been a touch warmer, it would have been perfect! THE only downside was that the only gas fire struggled when it got really cold. There were small built in fan heaters in the bedrooms, but they were totally inefficient! Best to prop the doors open and get the fire on about an hour before you attempt to face the day in the colder months .... although the addition of the heated towel rail in the bathroom was a welcome bonus to be fair! Can't comment on the site facilities (ie clubhouse) as we didn't use them (not our scene). Reception staff were excellent on arrival. In conclusion, I would go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed for a midweek break over the second week of our Easter holidays. We arrived and found the reception staff a bit miserable to be honest. We stayed in a Dorset Pearl apartment which we found to be basic but clean, however in my sister's apartment they had forgotten to make up the bedding. The shower was also harwork with only hot water for approx 2 showers! However there was only one heater in the main room and none in the bedroom, so my children were very cold at night, luckily we had brought fleecey blankets with us. We used the swimming pool onsite which we all found had too much chlorine as all our eyes were stinging when we'd been in for approx 15 minutes and the pool was quite cold, the jacuzzi even colder. The changing rooms were very small with only one shower and toilet, so this was quite difficult. We payed for 10 swims for £10 begrudgingly as on most other parks we have stayed in the pool was free. There was no entertainment at night whilst we were there except for a quiz on the Thursday night so the children were a bit bored, so we let them play in the soft play area for which you had to get a door entry code from the bar but this hardly worked and thanks to some kind parents who let us in after knocking!! As the children had to be supervised we took turns to supervise so it meant that we did the quiz seperate, the soft play area was also freezing and they also switched the lights off and on at 8.50pm to warn the children that they were going to shut it however there were no notices that this was going to happen and therefore all the children screamed in fright!

We had one incident where the electric tripped off and tried to ring reception but as it was after hours there was no answer and there was no emergency number on the information leaflet, however after going and explaining at the bar insid the clubhouse someone came out and fixed the problem.

The outdoor play area was good and our children enjoyed playing on it. We didn't eat at the site as we thought it was very expensive, we did eat at the George Pub in Charmouth which was lovely, child friendly and great value. We also had fish and chips from the local chippy in Axminster which were delicious, my sister went to the local pizza place in Axminster but they said the pizzas were horrible and covered in onions!

The site was a great base for visiting Lyme Regis and other areas as it is right next to the main road, however I think if you are staying at any other time than high season there isn't much going on!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenP39_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Went to Newlands as a small break for the family (myself, husband and two boys aged 12 and 6) during the Easter holidays. On info sheet it said that our Sapphire wooden Lodge would be ready at 4 pm, however was very pleased when the helpful reception staff said it was ready when we arrived there at 2pm . Lodge is basic but clean with all you need for a break away with beds made ready for you. There is a small patio area infront of your living room which if the weather was ok, might be nice to sit in! During our stay it was very cold, but the lodge had very efficient heating which was very welcomed after a day out or first thing in the morning. The only gripe i had was that the hot water ran out after one shower.

The holiday park has an indoor and outsoor swimming pool. The outdoor pool was closed but we did use the indoor pool. Again, it was clean but basic. Pool is on the small side, which was fine for my younger son, however my older son didn't bother with it. The jacuzzi was strange as the water temperature was colder than the pool! The changing room was small with one shower and toilet. Remember to change behind the changing room door, as if someone opens it whilst you are changing, you will have the people in the pool area as your audience! I only ate in the park's restaurant once which i was disappointed with. I felt it was over priced for the quality of food served. i.e the curry was little more than a microwave meal and the syrup pudding and custard was dry and tasteless. Having said that, the bar staff were really friendly and there was a nice atmosphere in the 'club house.' My children enjoyed playing in the ball park area or having a game of pool. The playground area also had good facilties which my boys enjoyed using. There is a shop on site with all the usual essentials but only opened 9-12 most of the time we were there so didn't use it that much.

Charmouth is a pleasant 15 minute walk away. Charmouth Beach is great for the children to go fossil hunting. Hammers can be hired in the Heritage Centre on the beach which also gave lots of useful hints and facts on how to fossil hunt. Charmouth Village has a useful shop, a couple of pubs and some nice restaurants (we ate in the fish and chip shop which was very good). Lyme Regis is a 20 minute drive away, which is a good place to explore, but get there early as parking is limited.

Overall i was happy with our experience at Newlands. Its a small holiday park with friendly staff and would recommend to young families looking for a basic short break away and who want to use the park as a base to explore Dorset and Devon.

Room Tip: Sapphire Lodges are comfortable wooden lodges with 3 bedrooms and good heating!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjs1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

just got back from 1 week at newlands holiday park we had premium pitch shown to pitch by staff who helped position caravan.
not the best of weather but will return staff extremely helpful. the staff on the site are great, ate in the bar excellent food and plenty of it.

Room Tip: pay for premium site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed in a Dorset Pearl apartment for a long weekend. The price we paid (we had a discount) was reasonable - the apartments are like a basic hotel room with an extra twin bedroom - fine for a long weekend and they were clean and functional. The park itself seemed well kept and we had a good welcome on arrival. We did not use any of the park facilities apart from the children going to the play park so we can't comment on those. We found the apartments and the park to be a good base for exploring the area - they are a 5-10 minute walk from Charmouth and a 10 minute drive from Lyme Regis. We would probably return to the park if we wanted to explore again. The children enjoyed the fossil walk from Charmouth Centre and Lyme Regis was lovely. I don't think we would stay longer than a few days as the apartments are quite small for a family of four so if going for longer I would look at the lodges or caravans. However for a few days stay and as a base I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tradtionalltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have never really enjoyed a holiday park thoroughly. I've always found them to be a bit loud (both in customer and entertainment!), large, overcrowded and with poor quality, kiddie friendly food only available. Newlands has changed my opinion. A small, quiet, hillside retreat on the Dorset/Devon border. An idyllic setting, a 5 minute walk to some of the best fossil hunting on the Jurassic beaches. The club house was a pleasure to eat and drink in. The entertainment was short and not noisy (we stayed in a lodge which was very close to the club house and we didn't hear a sound from the club house on the nights we spent in) and the quality of food on offer was good (not all nuggets and chips) and varied. If I could improve anything, I would ask that the menu offered some snacks (jackets, sandwiches) as there are only large meals available. The indoor pool is small but warm and as the site is so small, the pool was never busy so the week pass for £10 gave the family plenty of swim time. The outdoor pool looks great but was shut for our visit as it was jolly cold! The staff are friendly, helpful, chatty and will do whatever they can to help you out. We took extra bedding (having been on a couple of similar holidays when our daughter was younger and experienced very cold temperatures) but they were a waste of space in the car! The lodge was warm and had a fire in the lounge and radiators in every room. It was cold when we entered but within minutes of turning up the heating, we were warm and cosy! The lodge was also extremely clean on arrival. A really lovely week.

Room Tip: The lodge we stayed in was superb. There are (I think) only 12 on the site and around 60 (ish) cara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
0.5 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
232 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
314 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
149 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Holidays

Property: Newlands Holidays
Address: A35 | nr Stonebarrow Lane, between Bridport and Axminster, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newlands is a family run park located in the picturesque World Heritage village of Charmouth just a stones throw from the fossil rich Jurassic Coast near the Dorset/Devon border. Set in 23 acres of landscaped grounds, the park offers a range of luxury accommodation and modern facilities for tents and tourers. With a host of local attractions for families and couples, you'll find our five star holiday park the perfect place to spend some quality time whatever the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and PitchUp so you can book your Newlands Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Holiday Park Hotel Charmouth
Newlands Holidays Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing