We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good break”
Review of Newlands Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newlands Holidays
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay at Newlands although there are a couple of things that could have been improved!

When booking our stay in the Motel facility I really wasn't sure what to expect as there was minimal information on the website about the rooms, and there were no photographs of them either there or on trip advisor! At a cost of only £65 per night self catering, I was expecting a dull and dreary, grubby room. However upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. It was light and airy and clean. The double bed was comfortable and our room had stunning views over the Dorset countryside.
We also had a television, en suite bathroom and kitchenette.

The kitchen was well stocked with a kettle, microwave, fridge freezer and toaster, and after peering in the cupboard I was impressed to find a portable hob and a mini oven. Perfect for a short stay and the shop below was very well stocked with items that could be cooked with these utensils. Glasses and cutlery were available as well.

The bathroom was clean but there was room for some improvements here. The toilet seat was broken and so you slid somewhat precariously when you sat down! The shower was very poor. The water pressure was fabulous...... If you like your shower scolding hot. However if you wanted the temperature a little more tolerable or even cooler in 30c heat.... Forget it. The pressure turned into nothing more than a light drizzle. I considered walking to the camping field's shower block to see what the showers there were like. Also, when we arrived my boyfriend had to use a tissue to pull out a wad of other people's hair from the plug hole in the shower basin! Disgusting!

The outdoor pool and slide looked fun and it was very popular. We thought it was a lovely feature even though we didn't use it. The bar area was good and we thought the 'no children in front of the bar past 9pm' was good and thought we would sit here to be away from children for a while, only to find that it wasn't enforced. The arcade area is good if used properly, however some parents seem to find it acceptable to let their children go wild in there. Several times we saw young children shaking and banging them and misusing them. But where were the parents? The other side of the room none the wiser. Shame really as it spoils the experience for everyone else.

The entertainment for children was great with Dino Dan and games, plus a disco and not here was a soft play area (indoor) as well.

The food from the bar was poor. I had a veggie burger and chips. It was quite clearly the cheapest type of burger that they could find as it tasted of absolutely nothing. The chips were cheap as well and not very tasty. The peas I think were out of a tin. And their idea of a 'salad garnish' was a few lettuce leaves drizzled in... Water? Watered down dressing? I'm not sure! Not really the lettuce-tomato-cucumber-onion combo I had in mind. All this for £10 not including a drink! Absolute rip off considering the quality. McDonald's provide better quality meals at half the price!

I would recommend walking into Charmouth village instead of dining at Newlands. There you will find a chip shop, small italian restaurant and a cafe. We drove into Lyme Regis on our second night and enjoyed a delicious curry at Lal Qilla.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but I think there is room for some improvement, namely the Motel ensuite facilities and the food provided in the bar area. Great for families and lots to do for children.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Twiglet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had caravan no 54 which was absolutely lovely looked nearly new sturdy picnic bench outside the caravan was situated right at the top of the site which give brilliant views, not so good for my 37 week pregnant wife so driving down to the club house,shop.

Not much to do for the kids so we ended up traveling quite a bit about, crealy,pecorama,Lyme Regis etc.

Food and drink at the bar is a bit steep for my liking

Didn't bother with wifi
Chippy is a bit dear and don't look overly appealing from outside but as usual you can't really turn around and walk out lol

Kids club was on a Monday, weds and Friday night 1930-2030 my 2 kids loved it 2 and 6 year old my daughter 6 loved the games they played and just ran up to our table. Saying mum, dad I won and showed us some sweats which my 2 year old son demanded she shared him. Lol

After the games the disco music was played and that's when the younger ones can have a dance as well there's a small arcade next to the dance floor which my son was very attracted too luckily we sat next to the entrance to it so could spin him back round and send him back to the dance floor with his sister. Lots of laughs and smiling faces for the kids and adults.

Only gripe is it could start a bit earlier as a hour of games flies by.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

As a couple we stayed in the Pearl Apartments which we lovely a clean. Plenty of space, close to all amenities but not so close that you hear the noise only thing if going when hot take a fan its hard to get air through the apartment not much of a problem during the day cause your out but can get muggy at night. Outdoor pool is amazing for relaxing and free to use which is a blessing in 30c heat. Staff are very friendly and always willing to help. The food in the bar area was very good lots of choice and not to high priced. Excellent location 2 mins drive to Charmouth beach although its worth doing the 10 minute drive to Lyme Regis. a very relaxing break. Advise for couples avoid school holidays this park is excellent for children so if your looking for a relaxing quiet break dont go when the kids are on holiday. However if you have Children this park is great and caters well.

Room Tip: Pearls Apartments in a quiet location of the park grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplestar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We hired a caravan just before the School Holidays and the site was lovely and quiet. The caravan had central heating and double glazing, which was necessary for when we stayed but would, I imagine, be welcome slightly out of season. The outdoor pool, although not very big, was adequate for a leisurely swim, although in season I think it does get very busy. The site is a about 5-10 minute walk to Charmouth beach which is great for all ages to seach for fossils. The staff were very helpful with any information we required. Would go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We are a family of 5 and recently stayed in an elite 3 bed lodge at Newlands. When we were allocated our accommodation we had number 14 which was adjacent to one of the tent pitch sites! At first it seemed at odds that we had paid top price for a lodge but would be slumming it with the campers! However, we were kindly offered an alternative which we declined. Our concerns about noise etc from the campers was never realised as the site as a whole was fabulously quiet and everyone very respectful of the noise policies. We had a really blissful week of brilliant weather, peace and solitude despite having all the amenities on your doorstep. During our stay our toaster packed up and we noticed there was a problem with one of the doors. A new toaster was delivered the next day and the door was fixed at a time that was convenient to us. Kids loved the swimming pool though they couldn't use the slide unless the lifeguard was there which didn't always work for us. Shop is well stocked. Staff do not gush over you but are helpful and no nonsense which we love. All in all a great holiday however, I do wonder whether having the premium price lodges next to a camping field might cause possible problems. Thankyou Newlands for a great holiday.

Room Tip: If you want lodges away from the campers request the lower number lodges I.e. highest is 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue_Rabbit_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Ok so the pitches for tents in the Blue Field arent flat but so worth coming. i hated camping before we came here!
Great as a quiet clean friendly site. the live entertainment were dreadful Inpulse- some saddo double act with a bon tempi keyboard and terrible voices but gave us a laugh.
No sunday night entertainment - shame!
Good points:
Clean loos
lovely kids playground
indoor & outdoor pool
clubhouse
location
Lovely staff
nice well stocked shop
lots of well placed bins and drinking water

bad points (for fussy people):



Lumpy and undulating pitches
No entertainment on Sunday night
Bad food in Clubhouse bar.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in one of the caravans here, probably one of the nicest caravans we've stayed in. it's on a nice site and is walking distance into charmouth and the beach itself. The only thing we used on site was the fish and chips takeaway even though you have to order what you want at the restaurant bar and it wasn't the nicest of food.
Caravan was clean and well kept with a nice kitchen area, the site is by a busy main road and you could here the traffic but it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
2.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
449 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
261 reviews
2.7 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lyme Tree House
Lyme Tree House
#2 of 2 in Raymonds Hill
70 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#17 of 44 in Lyme Regis
300 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Inn Hawkchurch
The Old Inn Hawkchurch
#2 of 5 in Hawkchurch
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Holidays

Address: A35 | nr Stonebarrow Lane, between Bridport and Axminster, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Charmouth
Price Range: £74 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newlands is a family run park located in the picturesque World Heritage village of Charmouth, just a stones throw from the fossil rich Jurassic Coast near the Dorset/Devon border. Set in 23 acres of landscaped grounds, the park offers a range of luxury accommodation and modern facilities for tents and tourers. With a host of local attractions for families and couples, you'll find our five star holiday park the perfect place to spend some quality time whatever the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Newlands Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Holiday Park Hotel Charmouth
Newlands Holidays Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing