We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“camping 5th august until 9th August”
Review of Newlands Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newlands Holidays
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We camped in our own tent with electric hook up. The site has a very steep hill we where located directly 1 row in front of shower block & toilets & washing up station. First impressions site is well run, and staff friendly & helpful. We were shown too our pitch and given a brief run down on where to find things on the site. The pitch was ample size for our 6 man tent and too park 1 car you are not all cramed in there is good space.

Toilets & Showers
Ample cubicles & wash basins & shower cubicles
Only negative about these facilities is that we only saw them being cleaned every morning so come that evening they where quite dirty with unflushed loos & grass & dirt on floors. Personally I would like them too be cleaned or at least checked on more.

The washing up area had approx 5 butler sinks to do dishes but sinks in quite bad condition and didnt use without my own basin

There is also washing machines & tumble driers, I couldnt see any instructions on cost for these

There is also chemical toilet disposal there for caravanners I guess.

The site bins are kept very well and theres plenty dotted around to use

The swimming pools are in ok condition I was put off by the walk ways around edge of pools was quite dirty with grass & general shoe/flipflop dirt. There is no changing facilities for outside pool so u have too change before or use indoor facilities but you then have to walk by the indoor pool edge out through the bar area, outside and down steps to access outdoor pool, not something I felt comfortable doing in swimwear plus when u leave outdoor area u either walk around back to indoor facilities or walk back to accommodation wet & cold. The indoor pool has 2 very compact male/female changing areas with a toilet & a shower then a benched area to freely change what is not great is that its not private and the door just swings open when someone comes in and potentially leaves you in full view!! Again floors dirty and general shoe grime. It would be better as well if these areas cleaned more and brightned up tiles/shower re grouted first impressions id give the swimming/pool area 4 out of 10. Also we where told to use indoor pool we had to buy access which we did at booking we paid £10 for 10 visits (1per person) not once was it ever requested for by staff.

The additional areas are of good standard there is a soft playarea and snooker& badminton tables plus a bar where u can get food, take part in entertainment and there a small area with slot machines and stuff for kids to spend your money on!!

We only ever bought 1 round of drinks (1pint lager, 1 large rose wine & 2 cups of tap water & cordial) at £10.56 personally we couldn't afford it, the meals where expensive also in my opinion not an adult main meal for less than £9.95 & kids meals where approx £6 each.

The on site shop was useable and priced pretty much what id expect, fresh bread is available each morning if ordered evening before.

The onsite takeaway (chippy) was open from 5.30pm priced ok think a fish & chip's
Was around the £6.50-7.00 region. We never ate from there so can't comment on its food.

Free wifi was available in the bar area but no where else unless you bought it.

Overall id rate this site 7 out of 10, there are just elements they fall on for me its the toilets & swimming areas. We would go back and its located in a beautiful spot with Lyme Regis & Charmouth beaches near by, Lyme Regis is a sandy beach. The site should consider extending wifi range.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UK81blue_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have a caravan onsite and so the accommodation is always the highest quality.

This holiday park has room for camping tents, with and without electricity - and touring caravans.

There are 'glamping pods', static caravans and wooden lodges for hire.

Facilities:

Indoor pool - warm and clean. Timing your visit is key to ensure you have a relaxing swim. Remember this is a campsite aimed at families and so the pool is always full of children. There is a jacuzzi inside as well.

Outdoor pool - swimming pool with seating around the outside for about 20 adults. There is a short slide in to the pool. On a sunny day, there is no place better to be. Although heated, the temperature of the pool can only be described as 'cold'.

Chip Shop - average food, slow service and not cheap.

Bar - food is available in the bar. The quality is very good. The value of the food depends on the dish you choose. Most dishes are about £11 and although very good, would taste a lot better if they were (pub prices) of £8. There are some dishes in that price range (lasagne). There is also a 'specials board' that offers great value.

I have had one of the best steaks ever in the 'club house'.

Entertainment - if you have children the children's disco (with Damian) is not to be missed. How he keeps all the children entertained between 7pm and 9pm has to be seen to be believed. During the school holidays 'Dino Dan' will make an appearance and this is loved by the children.

Shop - the shop onsite is a rarity amongst campsite shops. Well stocked with everything you could need, at reasonable prices. Fresh croissants and pan au chocolate baked to order every morning.

Location: 5 minute walk to the 'high street' in Charmouth and 10 minutes to the beach (famous for its Jurassic coast and fossil hunting)

In summary - fun family entertainment.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 6feet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent 5 nights at Newlands with our touring caravan (2 adults & 2 children under 10). Site was clean with stunning views - we were situated on a grass pitch in Red field with electric. We were really pleased with the pitch - a real sun trap! Staff were friendly and helpful. We used the outdoor pool once - it was rather cold and the slide wasn't working. We paid to use the indoor pool on two other days. Although on the small side it was very quiet so we were able to have a good time. The toilets/shower block was clean, although I would have liked more powerful showers and hand-dryers!

The children were slightly disappointed that all but 3 of the machines in the small "arcade" were out of order, as was the air hockey & football tables in the soft play area.

There seemed a good atmosphere in the bar/entertainment area.

We visited the fair over the road which was small but fun for the children. Fossil hunting on Charmouth beach was a highlight for the children, and we were warmly welcomed at The George pub in Charmouth.

We travelled into Lyme Regis a few times, enjoying the pitch & putt, beach and Fish & chips!

We really enjoyed our time in this beautiful part of the world and would return to Newlands.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank NM10143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were two families staying in the pods at the site, min stay is 3 nights but we could only do 2. Was really pleasantly surprised, the pods are great you have electric sockets, lights and a picnic bench outside.
Outdoor pool was great, food at clubhouse was fine for one night and we ate in the George in Charmouth another night.
Only bad thing was the toilet/shower block was really quite horrid and needs regular cleaning in peak season and a bit of a refurb, not a deal breaker but pack some flip flops to wear while you shower!
The area is lovely and the fossil walk through Charmouth heritage site was great and Lyme Regis was adorable.
Fab site for a couple nights away with friends and kiddies in a lovely area :-)

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Lou_Meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The site itself is well kept, reception staff were helpful but one member proved most obstructive late in the evening in procuring a spare key as mine was stuck in the lock. The caravan was clean but the shower and toilet required deep cleaning. I suspect the management were not overseeing the cleaning. The internet access was down from the Saturday to the Tuesday and when I asked the senior management when did they think it would be fixed, they could not tell me. I was advised that they did understand the necessity of having the internet. This site simply exasperated me and is the reason I will holiday in Europe in future where a higher standard of expectation by both client and suppler is expected. Hoseason must take responsibility as they should inspect these sites more regularly. Any excuse that this is peak season would not be acceptable.

Room Tip: Go to Europe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank PETER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from Newlands having spent 10 nights with my grandsons aged 10 and 5years. The site is very well kept and clean. The toilets were always clean and hot water and showers whenever I went in.
The staff are really nice especially Kev who helps you park the caravan and also lends a hand with it when you leave. He is always on site and keen to help and chat. The staff in all the venues were helpful and friendly. It has a nice outdoor pool not huge but with a slide and my grandsons enjoyed it, also an indoor pool but we did not use it as the weather was good.
We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and found the food good especially the curries. They have entertainment every evening but we only managed once to see Catherine the magic lady who was great with the kids. I would certainly recommend this site and would definitely go again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank lizofsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here beginning of August 9 of us in 2 tents. Most of the pitches on this site are on sloping ground and all the electric hook ups were on flat ground. The showers were hit and miss with the hot water but very hot when you found one as never very busy around 10am.
Toilets were a little worse as they only seemed to be cleaned once a day but I mostly blame the people using them and can't imagine what their own toilets are like back home from the state they leave them in.
The water points were good just by our pitches and your allowed bbqs.
The clubhouse only went in once to eat which we found expensive for what you got and they stop serving food at 9pm. So if your in the queue at 8.55pm and you don't get to the till after 9 even 1 min after they refuse to serve.
Overall the site was clean and most staff friendly would recommend this site for the price even though charmouth has nothing there only a couple of pubs and a pizza place so Lime regies is a better option and only 2 miles down the road.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank NevandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
1.3 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
259 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
383 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
40 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B
0.3 mi away
Seadown Holiday Park
Seadown Holiday Park
#2 of 5 in Charmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Holidays

Address: A35 | nr Stonebarrow Lane, between Bridport and Axminster, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Charmouth
Price Range: £73 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newlands is a family run park located in the picturesque World Heritage village of Charmouth just a stones throw from the fossil rich Jurassic Coast near the Dorset/Devon border. Set in 23 acres of landscaped grounds, the park offers a range of luxury accommodation and modern facilities for tents and tourers. With a host of local attractions for families and couples, you'll find our five star holiday park the perfect place to spend some quality time whatever the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Newlands Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Holiday Park Hotel Charmouth
Newlands Holidays Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing