We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips supper”

Charmouth Fish Bar and Pizzeria
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Traditional fish & chips, pizza, burgers, pasties, ice creams and desserts.Local ciders & beers. Eat in or take away. Please give us a call for opening hours.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish and chips supper”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Excellent fish and chips and friendly service with great value for money. Only down side was having to wait so long for our food. However we were warned about this and they did have a great selection of kids chapter books to keep the kids entertained. The owner did say the delay was due to the take-away part of the business being so busy as they share the same kitchen but he advised they are looking into separating them. We will definitely go back there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank monkytonwyld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    113
    31
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awful Takeout!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Tiny chicken portion, cooked beyond dry. Large chips didn't even feed 1 child. Husband enjoyed his fish though...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pickle-Dynion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suecharmouth, Owner at Charmouth Fish Bar and Pizzeria, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are so sorry you had a bad experience. We take pride in the quality of our food and our reputation, customer satisfaction is important to us.
I can only put the cooking of the chicken down to human error. And imagine that we charged you for and gave you a small portion of chips. It is not possible that our large chips would only be sufficient for a child.
Please call into see us, make yourself know and we will provide you with an enjoyable meal.
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average meal”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

After the big build up of the other reviews, I'm not sure I went to the same place.Having placed a take away order, extra large fish was no bigger than medium. Medium portion of chips was positively small and soggy but the curry sauce and jumbo sausage was fair.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCoastalRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suecharmouth, Owner at Charmouth Fish Bar and Pizzeria, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your review. Sorry you were disappointed with the size of your fish. Our fish is graded for us by weight, which can be deceptive when comparing lengths of both medium and large. Some of the medium cod is particularly large at the moment. We do hope we didn't make an error and give you the wrong size fish.
If you are still in the area please call back at let us put this right.
Many thanks sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cozy and DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Held a private party after fossil hunting, for our son's seventh birthday here. Really brilliant in every way! Very highly recommend to hungry hunters! Thank you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahjoycrockerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fish n Chips”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I've just had a really great sit down fish and chip meal at the Charmouth Fish bar, As a local fossil hunting guide I rarely eat out in Charmouth but my clients invited me to join them for their sons' birthday meal held at the Charmouth Fish Bar which had opened especially for the party. It was the best fish n chips iI have ever had, washed down with gallons of tea! The owners are very friendly and helpful. Top marks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charmouth Fish Bar and Pizzeria also viewed

Charmouth, Bridport
Charmouth, Bridport
 
Charmouth, Bridport
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to Charmouth Fish Bar and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing