We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“classic cod and chips” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charmouth Fish Bar and Pizzeria

Charmouth Fish Bar and Pizzeria
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional fish & chips, pizza, burgers, pasties, ice creams and desserts.Local ciders & beers. Eat in or take away. Please give us a call for opening hours.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“classic cod and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had to go to the take away bar because the restaurant had closed, however, the service was excellent and the fish and chips were as good as we have had. We actually seated ourselves in the outdoor area of the restaurant and instead of being chased away a member of staff popped out to ask if we would like some sauce.

If you are in Charmouth then try the great food here, in fact it is worth the trip to Charmouth just for the fish and chips

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobtheOzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    107
    28
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Went with the in-laws after they said how good it was. They weren't joking. Couldn't fault it in anyway. We ate in. There isn't many tables and when we arrived there was not a table free. A very nice welcoming man took my mobile number and said he would phone in half an hour. Quick visit to the pub just down the road a little. True to his word half an hour later he phoned and said there was now a table free. The food was fantastic. My 11 year old even said the burger was the nicest she had had. You order is cooked freshly so it does take a little longer but that is fine and how it should be. I notice the take away side there was a constant flow which I think in itself says a lot. On our next visit to Charmouth we will ensure we go back. Give it a try. X

Helpful?
Thank 001969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My parents, son and I were on holiday in Charmouth for a week and we went to Charmouth fish bar for dinner one night. It was amazing, we had starters and mains and both were fantastic. One of the best pizzas I have had. Reasonably priced and staff were very very friendly. The take away que said it all about the place, it was so busy from the time we sat down even when we left. Would deffo recommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Schrikks06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Could be even better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

On Sunday you're evening eating options in Charmouth are limited. However, this eatery saved the days nicely, great little menu and food to go with it. The take away was no stop!
The problem is visual perception. It doesn't stand out as a good restaurant but with a only a small amount attention to detail it could be done. They do need to redecorate the take away 'alley' though, it's a put off.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excelent fish & chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Staying at a campsite up the road we decided to have a walk about and ended up having fish & chips in Charmouth fish bar on the Friday night, Excellent service and quality fish & chips, so on the Saturday night we tried the Fish bar restaurant, again excellent service and a brilliant meal, now we have found this gem the next thing to do is treat Mum & Dad inlaw to a favoriate meal of fish & chips at the charmouth fish bar as part of thier wedding aniversary celebrations.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charmouth Fish Bar and Pizzeria also viewed

Charmouth, Bridport
Charmouth, Bridport
 
Charmouth, Bridport
Charmouth, Bridport
 
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to Charmouth Fish Bar and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing