We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, friendly and unpretentious.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Charmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elegant, friendly and unpretentious.”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was elegant and in a peaceful, pretty spot of Charmouth. On arrival we were greeted with refreshments and a friendly smile. Our room was really pretty, the shower was heavenly especially after a days walking. It was peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious with a great choice of fresh, local produce. A special building run by a lovely family. Special mention to Moggy who we considered sneaking home with us!
Robert and Carol, Yorkshire.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Very kind of you to say such lovely things about us.Now that the weather has turned a little cooler Moggy has taken up residence by the radiator in our house and is refusing to move anywhere.He says hello though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
130
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alexandria va.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just back from lovely stay on Juraissac Coast of England. Our lodgings were at the White House Hotel in Charmouth...such a treat. We arrived on Monday and Ian sent us to the local Pub as his kitchen is "down" on Mondays. We enjoyed our nice meal down the road but were dissappointed to only sample Ian's excellent fare for one night. The Hotel is warm and beautifully done and we very much liked our cozy room facing the back which had new modern bath. Ian is warm, helpful and as mentioned, quite the chef. All staff were friendly and cats greeting us outside a wonderful bonus. Lovely small garden out back and friendly chickens. Charmouth beach was terrific and we had great success in finding a few fossils along the shore for our pockets. Lyme Regis was just down the street and a must. Would return frequently if we didn't have to cross the pond!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldcaenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review.It was lovely to meet you too and hope your trip home was as stress free as your time in Charmouth.
We hope to see you again should you ever be this side of the pond

Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had a very pleasant stay at the White House. We decided to give 4 stars overall for the following reasons:
- We're vegetarian and the options for breakfast were a bit limited compared to some
- If you have a long or a wide vehicle, you're unlikely to be able to park at the back
- My partner's allergic to cats and dogs. Cats were roaming freely although definitely not in the bedroom thankfully.
- We felt that the room price was a bit too high.

The owners were very nice and friendly and the room very good. Free wireless was an unexpected bonus and that worked very well. The departure time was 10:30 am whih is okay. The breakfast options were okay and in themselves excellent, i.e. the food was excellent

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CloudbaseAndBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your stay.
To answer a couple of your points
-Our cats do occasionally wander in to the lounge but they do not roam freely throughout the building.
-The driveway in our Regency house was not designed with modern large cars in mind but is perfectly negotiable for most vehicles with a little care. We have a Saab estate and manage to navigate with little problem though we appreciate that some drivers are not as confident as others in a relatively narrow space.I am always happy to assist those who need some help.
-Check out time is 11.00am not 10.30am

Regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just spent a weekend at The White House with four old friends. Breakfast is excellent and dinner (we ate Dinner 2 nights running) was one of the best meals we have ever had. Spent a long time arguing about which menu choice was best (the answer was the lamb) but everything was amazing. Liz, Ian and staff very welcoming. Rooms are clean, and adequate rather than special, but visit for the food!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanPWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing us for your weekend away. The lamb from our friends Clive and Jo at Wyld Meadow Farm just up the road is probably the best lamb I have ever used. Their beef is pretty special too! We are very fortunate to live in a part of the world where the produce from both land and sea is as good as anywhere in the world.

Ian and liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We have just returned from a truly wonderful relaxing 3 day break, at the White House Hotel. Very well situated for the coastal walks,beach, and good bus route too. Ian and Liz are caring hosts, together with a great friendly team of helpers. The food is delicious, using local and seasonal produce, a perfect combination. We are feeling fully refreshed and will certainly be back again ...thankyou.

Room Tip: Our standard double room room was snug and comfortable,with a very good shower.There are superior ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for your kind words.We are of course delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it was lovely to meet you.We look forward to welcoming you back

Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of August for a trip to Dorset. It was recommended on the River Cottage website and I am glad we made the choice! We had a comfortable room (excellent shower!) and three good nights sleep. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and had tasty breakfasts in the dining room. The location was perfect with easy access to the Jurassic Coast and RIver Cottage farm. The restaurant wasn't open when we were there (as it is closed during August) but we are already thinking about going back to try it!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PicPoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thanks for your review and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our restaurant will reopen in September, Tuesday to Saturday , we hope to see you again.

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

After all those good reviewswedecided against Lyme Regis and for The White House. Booking via Email was easy with Ian responding almost immideately.
On the day of arrival we were asked to phone as Ian and Sue were out somewhere. Sortly after the call someone - Elizabeth?- showed us to the Premium Room which is lovely wi fresh flowers and fresh fruit after all.
Although it was a very soft mattress the sleep was delightful and good.
Beakfast was lovely with some nice little detail to artful preparation of the food.
We stayed for 2 nights and had a lovely time.
A bit sad: restaurant was closed Sunday and Monday - we would have loved to try your creations
What we missed: welcoming tea oder coffee in your nice front patio, some more hospitality on arrival.

Room Tip: Premier Room is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamaril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for your kind review. Our restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday nights when as a very much hands on family run establishment we take a little time out. As a result we offer only bed and breakfast on those nights ,generally at a reduced rate as we were happy to offer to yourselves.Had you wanted coffee on the terrace we would have been more than happy to provide that for you. We are happy you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay.

Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
0.2 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
133 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
414 reviews
6.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
473 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Property: The White House Hotel
Address: The Street, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family run four bedroomed Regency house in the centre of the coastal Village of Charmouth in West Dorset, right at the heart of the World Heritage Jurassic Coastlin. Owned and run by Chef Ian Simpson and his wife Elizabeth since 2001 The White House has been totally refurbished to a high standard in the winter of 2012/3 and was subsequently awarded FOUR GOLD STARS from the AA as well as a Breakfast and Dinner Award.Finalists in the Taste of the West Awards for 2014 in Restaurant and B&B. Winners of the 2014 Dorset Tourism Awards B&B category. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing