We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Jewel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Charmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little Jewel”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were welcomed by Ian and Liz after a cancelled flight fiasco. We booked late Friday afternoon and arrived at 7.30pm. The room was lovely, very cosy and with a comfortable bed. Ian and Liz are charming hosts, and he immediately set about and cooked a beautiful meal for us, so I recommend his risotto..it was to die for. All the staff were very friendly and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. We wanted Steak for dinner on the Saturday night..not on the menu?? no trouble it was arranged and lovely. There is a fridge with fresh milk on the first floor which also operates an honesty bar for beer. Great when you wish to relax in the room. Breakfast was perfect...really good sausages and everything served the way you want it. This is a hotel to get away from the world and relax in. Great food..good wine..great hosts...comfortable bed and good shower..my idea of heaven.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
We were pleased we were able to help salvage your weekend away after your Channel Island plans were unexpectedly curtailed and are of course delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again.

Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
130
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This delightful hotel tucked away in Charmouth is a real treat. Not only is the hotel itself charming but the food is delicious and all locally sourced - (their most recent Gold award is well deserved!) I found it a really relaxing retreat from the city and the hospitality of the owners made it a memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALMK-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you very much for your review.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will see you again when the weather is a little kinder!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My husbandand I spent a wonderful evening at the restaurant at the White House during October half term. I can honestly say that it was one of the very best meals we have eaten for a long, long time. The food was beautifully prepared, expertly cooked with lovely presentation. The staff were most welcoming and Ian had a long chat with us at the end of the evening. I can totally recommend the White House for a memorable dining expereince. I'm only sorry that it's such a long way away from us, otherwise I'd be there on a regular basis! We'll will definitely revisit if we're on holiday in teh area again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owensmum47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Hello Owensmum and thanks for your lovely comments.We hope to see you back down in Dorset soon

ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

......we stayed for 2 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the White House. Beautiful room, wonderful breakfast and fantastic hospitality. For anyone wanting a lovely break in the area, I would highly recommend the White House hotel for a truly wonderful, relaxing stay. We are just sorry we didn't get to try Ian's famous fare! Thank you so much!! Charlie & Olivia

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleasedthat you enjoyed your weekend with us.
and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

...we enjoyed our two nights at the beautiful White House Hotel so much that we had to say 'thanks'. Excellent food, comfortable room, and friendly service - nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, even when we inadvertently broke their shower. Sorry!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thanks for the lovely review. Don't worry though, you didnt break the shower! It was just one of those things that happens sometimes.Thank you for your understanding and patience whilst we got it fixed.

We hope to see you again next time you are down this way

Ian and liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was elegant and in a peaceful, pretty spot of Charmouth. On arrival we were greeted with refreshments and a friendly smile. Our room was really pretty, the shower was heavenly especially after a days walking. It was peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious with a great choice of fresh, local produce. A special building run by a lovely family. Special mention to Moggy who we considered sneaking home with us!
Robert and Carol, Yorkshire.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Very kind of you to say such lovely things about us.Now that the weather has turned a little cooler Moggy has taken up residence by the radiator in our house and is refusing to move anywhere.He says hello though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria va.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just back from lovely stay on Juraissac Coast of England. Our lodgings were at the White House Hotel in Charmouth...such a treat. We arrived on Monday and Ian sent us to the local Pub as his kitchen is "down" on Mondays. We enjoyed our nice meal down the road but were dissappointed to only sample Ian's excellent fare for one night. The Hotel is warm and beautifully done and we very much liked our cozy room facing the back which had new modern bath. Ian is warm, helpful and as mentioned, quite the chef. All staff were friendly and cats greeting us outside a wonderful bonus. Lovely small garden out back and friendly chickens. Charmouth beach was terrific and we had great success in finding a few fossils along the shore for our pockets. Lyme Regis was just down the street and a must. Would return frequently if we didn't have to cross the pond!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldcaenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review.It was lovely to meet you too and hope your trip home was as stress free as your time in Charmouth.
We hope to see you again should you ever be this side of the pond

Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
0.2 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
133 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
414 reviews
6.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
473 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Property: The White House Hotel
Address: The Street, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family run four bedroomed Regency house in the centre of the coastal Village of Charmouth in West Dorset, right at the heart of the World Heritage Jurassic Coastlin. Owned and run by Chef Ian Simpson and his wife Elizabeth since 2001 The White House has been totally refurbished to a high standard in the winter of 2012/3 and was subsequently awarded FOUR GOLD STARS from the AA as well as a Breakfast and Dinner Award.Finalists in the Taste of the West Awards for 2014 in Restaurant and B&B. Winners of the 2014 Dorset Tourism Awards B&B category. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing