We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Charmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A fantastic weekend spent at the White House. We stayed in room 7 but whilst small the bed was comfortable and we had everything we needed. The welcome from Liz and Ian was excellent - coffee whilst we waited for friends. Nothing was too much and when we returned from dinner, Liz provided coffee and drinks.
Breakfast was wonderful and was just the way to start a second day of walking home cooked with as much coffee and toast as we wanted. Finish that off with parking, walking distance from the beach and two pubs, we had everything we needed.
Our first choice when we are walking in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us.We can't always guarantee the glorious weather, but the welcome will be the same next time you are back this way

Ian and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

I had single occupancy for one night so couldn't expect, and did not want, the best room. I had room 7 on the ground floor near reception and the entrance. The room is not large (not in itself an issue) but suffers from (I assume) the en suite having been added within the original room space. You cannot walk around the bed if the en suite door is open.
Tea and coffee in the room - two cups, one saucer. Not a problem for me alone but poor attention to detail. The coffee - Nescafe. Not impressed. There are many real coffee bags available these days.
The kettle is standard size but the handbasin is a small corner one so you cannot easily fill the kettle. Given that you can only half fill the kettle it would be more sensible to have a smaller or more squat kettle.
Double power socket on the wall with two plugs in it. I took one out to use the socket to charge my iPhone and one of the bedside lights went out. I would have both lights connected to one socket to leave the other free for guest use.
The shower - an impressive looking Grohe one with body jets and shower head. I simply could not get the body jets to work. Not a problem as I used the plain shower but frustrating.
The en suite - absolutely no flat surface anywhere to put your own toiletries except perhaps inside the corner cupboard above the corner handbasin. Similarly nowhere to put your soaps and flannels in the shower. I ended up having my wash bag on the end of the bed which is close to the en suite and hanging my flannels over the top of the shower surround when I had a shower.
While I was out that evening I rang to confirm there was wifi and asked for the password to be slipped under by room door. I was told the password was in the guest information pack. I said I hadn't seen one and they said they would put one in the room. When I returned it still was not there - I had to ask again.
The breakfast, I must say, was excellent. I particularly liked the scrambled goose egg and smoked salmon.
Generally I look for well-rated B&Bs. The previous night I stayed in a B&B in Sparkford where I had better accommodation (including my own kitchen and lounge with TV!) with none of the issues I list here, cafetière of coffee and home baked biscuits on arrival and equally excellent breakfast for only £40 single occupancy for one night. My one night in the White House cost me £70.
The owners Ian and Elizabeth were charming. I see they reply to virtually all reviews on TripAdvisor. I hope they take my comments as constructive criticism. Much of what I noted can be rectified.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank exfordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We are a little disappointed at the tone of this review and the fact that none of these issues were mentioned during his stay or during the conversation we had at checkout. Of course we should have been on top of some, such as the wrong number of cups in the room and the kettle size for which we apologise and those comments have been taken on board.

When the gentleman rang to request the password for the WIFI, my wife went immediately to his room to help but there was no answer. We were unawareat that time that he had gone out and was ringing from elsewhere. As soon as he returned he was shown the password in the room folder. It seems somewhat churlish to make such a big issue of this.
One of the four other sockets in the room could have been used for the charger instead of unplugging a bedside light.
We feel there is ample room in the bathroom cabinet and the cupboard below the sink to place all you toiletries.
The shower can be a little confusing to work but it worked fine when I tried it.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast though.
We are unable to offer B&B at the rate of £40, which was I would assume a spare bedroom in a private house offering accomodation that does not have all the running costs and facilities of a hotel with a restaurant.
We would ask people to see our other reviews which we think give a far more accurate reflection of the service and standard we are proud to provide here at The White House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We found The White House for a last minute weekend break and were lucky that they had a room available. The bedroom was very comfortable and the bedding top quality white cotton. Liz was very welcoming on check in and the food Ian produced was first class. Locally sourced produce including scrambled goose eggs for breakfast and superb bacon. The dinner was excellent - all the dishes beautifully served and perfectly seasoned. We were particularly impressed with the venison carpaccio which (Ian had made himself - not bought in), and the cardamom brulee with rhubarb compote was a delight. It was a very memorable weekend and we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumbriawaywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us this weekend. I will be making a video tutorial on our Facebook page in the next week or so showing you how to make the Venison Carpaccio if you fancy having a go yourself.........
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Ian and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were welcomed by Ian and Liz after a cancelled flight fiasco. We booked late Friday afternoon and arrived at 7.30pm. The room was lovely, very cosy and with a comfortable bed. Ian and Liz are charming hosts, and he immediately set about and cooked a beautiful meal for us, so I recommend his risotto..it was to die for. All the staff were very friendly and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. We wanted Steak for dinner on the Saturday night..not on the menu?? no trouble it was arranged and lovely. There is a fridge with fresh milk on the first floor which also operates an honesty bar for beer. Great when you wish to relax in the room. Breakfast was perfect...really good sausages and everything served the way you want it. This is a hotel to get away from the world and relax in. Great food..good wine..great hosts...comfortable bed and good shower..my idea of heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

We were pleased we were able to help salvage your weekend away after your Channel Island plans were unexpectedly curtailed and are of course delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again.

Ian and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This delightful hotel tucked away in Charmouth is a real treat. Not only is the hotel itself charming but the food is delicious and all locally sourced - (their most recent Gold award is well deserved!) I found it a really relaxing retreat from the city and the hospitality of the owners made it a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALMK-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you very much for your review.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will see you again when the weather is a little kinder!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My husbandand I spent a wonderful evening at the restaurant at the White House during October half term. I can honestly say that it was one of the very best meals we have eaten for a long, long time. The food was beautifully prepared, expertly cooked with lovely presentation. The staff were most welcoming and Ian had a long chat with us at the end of the evening. I can totally recommend the White House for a memorable dining expereince. I'm only sorry that it's such a long way away from us, otherwise I'd be there on a regular basis! We'll will definitely revisit if we're on holiday in teh area again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owensmum47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Hello Owensmum and thanks for your lovely comments.We hope to see you back down in Dorset soon

ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

......we stayed for 2 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the White House. Beautiful room, wonderful breakfast and fantastic hospitality. For anyone wanting a lovely break in the area, I would highly recommend the White House hotel for a truly wonderful, relaxing stay. We are just sorry we didn't get to try Ian's famous fare! Thank you so much!! Charlie & Olivia

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleasedthat you enjoyed your weekend with us.
and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
0.3 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
257 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
443 reviews
6.2 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
517 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Address: The Street, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charmouth
Price Range: £130 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family run four bedroomed Regency house in the centre of the coastal Village of Charmouth in West Dorset, right at the heart of the World Heritage Jurassic Coastlin. Owned and run by Chef Ian Simpson and his wife Elizabeth since 2001 The White House has been totally refurbished to a high standard in the winter of 2012/3 and was subsequently awarded FOUR GOLD STARS from the AA as well as a Breakfast and Dinner Award.Finalists in the Taste of the West Awards for 2014 in Restaurant and B&B. Winners of the 2014 Dorset Tourism Awards B&B category. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing