We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Charmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Beautiful Georgian building with gorgeous light and stunning recently refurbed rooms. We stayed here at extremely short notice after being let down by another local hotel. Ian, the owner, could not have been more accomodating, friendly and helpful. The White House had everything we wanted: peace and quiet, a great location for Lyme Regis and Bridport and local villages, sizable rooms and an extremely comfortable good quality bed. The Bathroom was luxurious with a huge sash window and massive bath. Given that the owners hadn't opened officially after their refurb they dealt with us in the most professional way. So good I almost booked a return visit while I was there and simply one of the best hotels I've stayed in- anywhere. Given that I travel for work at least once a month that is the highest praise I can offer. I understand they are soon to offer foraging weekends which is another reason to return. The breakfast selection was also very good and well prepared.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 857Danielb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thank you for such a good review. We had just finished that room the day before so we are delighted you liked it so much. Sorry we were unable to provide dinner for you but I had been wielding a paintbrush not a spatula for most of the previous month! Happy to be back in my kitchen now. We should have more details of the foraging courses with Fraser on the website very soon.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here last year whilst touring Dorset and enjoyed our one night at the White House so much we decided on a weekend break for our next visit after receiving a mail-shot from the hotel.The owners Liz and Ian have been busy refurbishing the bedrooms over the winter and the results are fantastic. We had room one, a two room suite with plenty of room in the dry comfortable lounge and a large bed in the bedroom, both rooms very comfortable indeed. Ians food both breakfast and dinner was as good as we remembered from last time and we will most certainly be back later this year. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are four large rooms, each one is as good as the next . We chose the suite with the lounge but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for a great review.You were the first guests to stay in our brand new refurbished room two and we are delighted you liked it.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Really excellent stay. No parking problem - secure. Warm welcome, room upgraded & therefore most comfortable - even luxurious. back room en suite, quiet. English breakfasts to be remembered, main course locally sourced. Good position for local beaches, Lyme Regis etc. We'll be booking again.

Room Tip: Ask for best room (back).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We were happy to give you an upgrade to our Premier room and glad that you enjoyed your three nights here in spite of the weather!
In January we are refurbishing our other bedrooms to bring them up to the same size and standard of our Premier Room, check our website in the new year for details, we should be back, up and running in February.
Ian and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed in Charmouth for a short break for my Wife's birthday and were looking for somewhere nice for her birthday meal. We saw this place and the sample menus looked great (liked the fact only a few choices as usually means good local products and all cooked to order). Had a fabulous meal and lovely service throughout. Both my terrine and my wife's duck egg and smoked eel starters were fantastic. We both had steak for main and it was an amazing piece of meat cooked exactly as ordered. Wife finished with a cheeseboard with some delicious local cheeses and I went for sticky toffee which was amazing. Really good value as coffee was included in the price of the 3 courses and the wine was also reasonably priced. Heartily recommended and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lester P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal so muchand we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Ian and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend and had a really lovely stay. Everything was just as we had hoped. I had high expectations of the food after what I'd been told by friends who had stayed here and they were far exceeded by the evening meal we had - delicious and in my opinion very good value. The breakfasts were also of a very high standard. We didn't expect snow and such cold weather in late October but thankfully the room was really warm and so nice to come back to when cold after a day outdoors. Excellent shower also. My only complaint is that the cats that visited my room when I stayed last year were nowhere to be seen!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Glad to hear you enjoyed your return visit! The cats are not really allowed in the hotel (certainly not the bedrooms) but they do sneak in to the lounge occasionally when were not looking, especially when we have the fire going.
It did get a bit nippy that weekend and snowed a bit so I think that did it for our cats leaving the warmth of our cottage.We shall reintriduce you to them on your next visit

Ian and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Amazing Hotel, Really enjoyed our stay. The food was excellent, the room was really lovely very comfortable you have everything you need, All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.
I would highly recommend this hotel, We will be staying again soon.

Thank you The White house...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LISA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Hello again and thanks for your positive comments! We are delighted you came away with such a good impression!
Hope to see you back soon

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

A really nice little hotel! Beautiful house, well kept and nicely decorated. Small but nice room and new bathroom. Great breakfast. Very nice and friendly staff. Parking at the back but take care with a big car as the entrance is very narrow.
Interesting coast for fossil hunting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karinn-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thanks for the lovely review. See my previous comments below about the room size - we are making some changes here this January and our rooms will be bigger!We hope to welcome you back again
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
0.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
261 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
929 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cliff House B&B
Cliff House B&B
#5 of 7 in Charmouth
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Address: The Street, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charmouth
Price Range: £130 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family run four bedroomed Regency house in the centre of the coastal Village of Charmouth in West Dorset, right at the heart of the World Heritage Jurassic Coastlin. Owned and run by Chef Ian Simpson and his wife Elizabeth since 2001 The White House has been totally refurbished to a high standard in the winter of 2012/3 and was subsequently awarded FOUR GOLD STARS from the AA as well as a Breakfast and Dinner Award.Finalists in the Taste of the West Awards for 2014 in Restaurant and B&B. Winners of the 2014 Dorset Tourism Awards B&B category. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing