We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“at a fantastic find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Charmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“at a fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

A friend in London recommended this as the perfect place to spend a weekend - fantastic. Great rooms - wonderful big bath . Apparently recenly re furbished and very stylish it is too. Food absolutely delicious and they had a great local wine from Furleigh Estate which is apparently UK winemaker of the year. Easy parking and delightful owners. We really couldn't believe our luck in finding a little gem like this

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Great to her you enjoyed the Furleigh wine as well. It's great to have such great produce more or less on our doorstep. Thanks or a great review and we do hope to see you back sometimes soon

Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
130
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

I'm a longstanding fan of Charmouth and have been visiting the area for decades. I've stayed at the White House before but was thrilled to see the changes from the refurbishment. A two night stay for a special weekend away was the plan. We were allocated room 2 which looks out onto the magnolia at the front. Off street parking but through a very narrow entrance so drive with care!The room has a separate generous entrance / wardrobe area and large bathroom. It was a great treat to enjoy a steaming hot bath after a damp (muddy) day on the beach. There's also a separate shower. Our room was equipped with the usual kettle etc + cafeteria and ground coffee and access to fresh milk in the fridge. I was provided with a jug of soya milk (it's the little things that make a difference for me)
We dined at the hotel on Saturday night and had a lovely meal. I enjoyed the butternut squash soup and a main course of a barley grain presented like risotto (or orzo?) with samphire. So delicious and much more interesting than the bland dairy-free vegetarian fare I often find. My companion much enjoyed the sticky toffee pud.
Had a lovely bottle of the Dorset Flint 2011 from Furleigh Estate. (Liked this so much I found a shop to take some home!)
Breakfasts at the hotel were equally super. We were the only guests in breakfast but weren't rushed and were provided with multiple pots of coffee without question. The treat of a hotel breakfast to linger over coffee and a newspaper.... just right.
All in all I really enjoyed the stay, slept well and returned home well fed and well rested. The new configuration of rooms has increased the level of comfort and I really appreciate the provision of a bathtub for two :-)
Recommend the hotel for a special stay when the basic B&B just won't do and you want to feel a little spoilt.

Room Tip: No road noise to speak of. Room two is at the front and has a large bath and separate shower. Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S17London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are always happy to cater for a whole range of dietary requirements whenever we can and I am glad you enjoyed your Orzotto. We do sell a lot of Furleigh Estate wines from the vineyard just outside of Bridport and they are indeed very good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

2nd stay at the White House, which is now even better after recent refurb. Very large, clear and well-decorated room and bathroom - real coffee always a plus. Excellent attentive, friendly service from Ian and Liz. Chose to eat in for one meal which was first rate (had the confit duck and the tomato and squash soup). Have stayed in the Charmouth / Lyme area half a dozen times and although the WH is a more expensive option I feel the service provided merits the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AML1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you or our great review and we are very pleased you appreciated the changes we have made. We hope to see you back sometime soon
Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed in this beautiful hotel for just one night. The room had just been upgraded, was very comfortable and spacious. A massive bathroom with a huge bath, unfortunately I didn't have time to have a good soak, but enjoyed the shower instead. The evening meal was delicious - the best scallops I've tasted. The wine from local Furleigh Estate was a real treat. Next morning breakfast was from locally sourced ingredients - wonderful sausages. What else would you need or want - off-street parking and a warm welcome from Ian and Liz. Close to Lyme Regis, Bridport and walking distance from the beach. Would certainly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your review. Our new rooms have been very popular with all our guests since we refurbed in January this year and we are delighted that you concur. We hope to see you back soon

ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Beautiful Georgian building with gorgeous light and stunning recently refurbed rooms. We stayed here at extremely short notice after being let down by another local hotel. Ian, the owner, could not have been more accomodating, friendly and helpful. The White House had everything we wanted: peace and quiet, a great location for Lyme Regis and Bridport and local villages, sizable rooms and an extremely comfortable good quality bed. The Bathroom was luxurious with a huge sash window and massive bath. Given that the owners hadn't opened officially after their refurb they dealt with us in the most professional way. So good I almost booked a return visit while I was there and simply one of the best hotels I've stayed in- anywhere. Given that I travel for work at least once a month that is the highest praise I can offer. I understand they are soon to offer foraging weekends which is another reason to return. The breakfast selection was also very good and well prepared.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 857Danielb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thank you for such a good review. We had just finished that room the day before so we are delighted you liked it so much. Sorry we were unable to provide dinner for you but I had been wielding a paintbrush not a spatula for most of the previous month! Happy to be back in my kitchen now. We should have more details of the foraging courses with Fraser on the website very soon.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here last year whilst touring Dorset and enjoyed our one night at the White House so much we decided on a weekend break for our next visit after receiving a mail-shot from the hotel.The owners Liz and Ian have been busy refurbishing the bedrooms over the winter and the results are fantastic. We had room one, a two room suite with plenty of room in the dry comfortable lounge and a large bed in the bedroom, both rooms very comfortable indeed. Ians food both breakfast and dinner was as good as we remembered from last time and we will most certainly be back later this year. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are four large rooms, each one is as good as the next . We chose the suite with the lounge but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for a great review.You were the first guests to stay in our brand new refurbished room two and we are delighted you liked it.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Really excellent stay. No parking problem - secure. Warm welcome, room upgraded & therefore most comfortable - even luxurious. back room en suite, quiet. English breakfasts to be remembered, main course locally sourced. Good position for local beaches, Lyme Regis etc. We'll be booking again.

Room Tip: Ask for best room (back).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We were happy to give you an upgrade to our Premier room and glad that you enjoyed your three nights here in spite of the weather!
In January we are refurbishing our other bedrooms to bring them up to the same size and standard of our Premier Room, check our website in the new year for details, we should be back, up and running in February.
Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
0.2 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
6.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Property: The White House Hotel
Address: The Street, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family run four bedroomed Regency house in the centre of the coastal Village of Charmouth in West Dorset, right at the heart of the World Heritage Jurassic Coastlin. Owned and run by Chef Ian Simpson and his wife Elizabeth since 2001 The White House has been totally refurbished to a high standard in the winter of 2012/3 and was subsequently awarded FOUR GOLD STARS from the AA as well as a Breakfast and Dinner Award.Finalists in the Taste of the West Awards for 2014 in Restaurant and B&B. Winners of the 2014 Dorset Tourism Awards B&B category. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing