We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly lovely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Charmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
newton abbot
1 review
“Truly lovely”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had a wonderful night away from our children here, it was wonderful. The hotel is warm comfortable and the dinner was excellent. We even asked what breed the steak had been and they text the supplier up the road to find out for us .friendly people first class service . thank you .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannyroseunderhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thanks for the great review and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us.
We take the sourcing of the food we use very seriously and are committed to buying from local producers, as we have always done in the 12 years we have been here. A lot of the meat we use comes from our friends Clive and Jo from www.wyldmeadowfarm.co.uk and we know the quality and provenance of what they produce. It makes my job as chef a little easier when you know you are dealing with top class produce!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
130
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Recommended by a London friend who travels a lot and insists on the best, the White House is a very special island of comfort, low-key luxury, and first-class dining, in the little village of Charmouth on Dorset's wonderful Jurassic Coast. Proprietors Ian and Liz have created an ambience both elegant and warm, and you'll not find a better table for many miles around (organic, locally-sourced, expertly-prepared dinners and breakfasts).

Room Tip: We had #3, a fine, large room with a big en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your excellent review Tony, it was lovely to meet you and we are delighted that we lived up to the recommendation. We hope you have enjoyed your remaking time in Europe and hat we see you next time you are in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We spent 3 nights here in unseasonably cold and wet weather but received a very warm welcome from the owners. Would highly recommend the food, which is all cooked by owner Ian, from fresh locally sourced ingredients, including their own eggs.
Our stay was extremely comfortable, we had the room at the back on the first floor (there are only 4 rooms) which was spacious and very well equipped. The staff and the owners, Ian & Liz (who live next door) are happy to provide whatever you need to enjoy your stay, with very friendly but professional service.
We would definitely go again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you or your feedback. It was a bit chilly but delighted that did not put you off, we managed o get our new wood burning stove in the lounge fitted this winter which makes for a warm welcome after a chilly walk along the beach!
We do indeed have our own chickens who provide us with delicious eggs, not laying too many in the cold weather we are having but spring surely is just round the corner and maybe some warmer weather? Not too much to ask I it?

We hope we have the pleasure of you company again soon

Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A friend in London recommended this as the perfect place to spend a weekend - fantastic. Great rooms - wonderful big bath . Apparently recenly re furbished and very stylish it is too. Food absolutely delicious and they had a great local wine from Furleigh Estate which is apparently UK winemaker of the year. Easy parking and delightful owners. We really couldn't believe our luck in finding a little gem like this

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Great to her you enjoyed the Furleigh wine as well. It's great to have such great produce more or less on our doorstep. Thanks or a great review and we do hope to see you back sometimes soon

Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I'm a longstanding fan of Charmouth and have been visiting the area for decades. I've stayed at the White House before but was thrilled to see the changes from the refurbishment. A two night stay for a special weekend away was the plan. We were allocated room 2 which looks out onto the magnolia at the front. Off street parking but through a very narrow entrance so drive with care!The room has a separate generous entrance / wardrobe area and large bathroom. It was a great treat to enjoy a steaming hot bath after a damp (muddy) day on the beach. There's also a separate shower. Our room was equipped with the usual kettle etc + cafeteria and ground coffee and access to fresh milk in the fridge. I was provided with a jug of soya milk (it's the little things that make a difference for me)
We dined at the hotel on Saturday night and had a lovely meal. I enjoyed the butternut squash soup and a main course of a barley grain presented like risotto (or orzo?) with samphire. So delicious and much more interesting than the bland dairy-free vegetarian fare I often find. My companion much enjoyed the sticky toffee pud.
Had a lovely bottle of the Dorset Flint 2011 from Furleigh Estate. (Liked this so much I found a shop to take some home!)
Breakfasts at the hotel were equally super. We were the only guests in breakfast but weren't rushed and were provided with multiple pots of coffee without question. The treat of a hotel breakfast to linger over coffee and a newspaper.... just right.
All in all I really enjoyed the stay, slept well and returned home well fed and well rested. The new configuration of rooms has increased the level of comfort and I really appreciate the provision of a bathtub for two :-)
Recommend the hotel for a special stay when the basic B&B just won't do and you want to feel a little spoilt.

Room Tip: No road noise to speak of. Room two is at the front and has a large bath and separate shower. Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S17London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are always happy to cater for a whole range of dietary requirements whenever we can and I am glad you enjoyed your Orzotto. We do sell a lot of Furleigh Estate wines from the vineyard just outside of Bridport and they are indeed very good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2013

2nd stay at the White House, which is now even better after recent refurb. Very large, clear and well-decorated room and bathroom - real coffee always a plus. Excellent attentive, friendly service from Ian and Liz. Chose to eat in for one meal which was first rate (had the confit duck and the tomato and squash soup). Have stayed in the Charmouth / Lyme area half a dozen times and although the WH is a more expensive option I feel the service provided merits the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AML1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you or our great review and we are very pleased you appreciated the changes we have made. We hope to see you back sometime soon
Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed in this beautiful hotel for just one night. The room had just been upgraded, was very comfortable and spacious. A massive bathroom with a huge bath, unfortunately I didn't have time to have a good soak, but enjoyed the shower instead. The evening meal was delicious - the best scallops I've tasted. The wine from local Furleigh Estate was a real treat. Next morning breakfast was from locally sourced ingredients - wonderful sausages. What else would you need or want - off-street parking and a warm welcome from Ian and Liz. Close to Lyme Regis, Bridport and walking distance from the beach. Would certainly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your review. Our new rooms have been very popular with all our guests since we refurbed in January this year and we are delighted that you concur. We hope to see you back soon

ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
0.2 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
133 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
414 reviews
6.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
473 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Property: The White House Hotel
Address: The Street, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family run four bedroomed Regency house in the centre of the coastal Village of Charmouth in West Dorset, right at the heart of the World Heritage Jurassic Coastlin. Owned and run by Chef Ian Simpson and his wife Elizabeth since 2001 The White House has been totally refurbished to a high standard in the winter of 2012/3 and was subsequently awarded FOUR GOLD STARS from the AA as well as a Breakfast and Dinner Award.Finalists in the Taste of the West Awards for 2014 in Restaurant and B&B. Winners of the 2014 Dorset Tourism Awards B&B category. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing