We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful small hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Charmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We came here first in 2004 and can't think why we didn't come back sooner, but very glad we did. The rooms and bathrooms have all been upgraded/modernised and look lovely, we'd have been very happy in any of them, but we chose the suite this time as it was a special treat.
Don't even think of eating out if you stay here, we made the mistake of eating in a well known oyster bar in Lyme Regis on our second night and heartily wished we'd stayed put, especially when I heard I'd missed belly pork. We had a fabulous dinner cooked by Ian on our first night - lamb and steak, both with deeply flavoured sauces and perfectly cooked veg and had only to climb the stairs afterwards.
Service is efficient and friendly, you'll feel very welcome here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judewalker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Jude

it may have taken 9 years for you to revisit the White House, but we are very pleased that you did and of course are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.We hope it is not another 9 years before we see you again

Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
129
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Lovely big room with very comfy bed and spacious modern bathroom. Stayed two nights and received a warm welcome. Dinner was really excellent - fresh ingredients with an interesting twist. Dining room is small ( max 4 tables) and therefore very intimate, but service friendly and very efficient. The owners have obviously decided to concentrate on quality. This is an excellent small hotel, beautifully placed for exploring the Jurrassic coast. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you Christine,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are certainly always aiming to offer a quality experience at the White House and we are looking forward to being able to welcome you back

Ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We've just had another lovely stay at the White House. It is easy to see why Ian and Liz have won so many awards. The welcome is warm, the hospitality is generous and the food delicious. Add this to the beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms and you have a recipe for success. Charmouth is excellently situated to explore the local coast and countryside. We enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words, it was lovely to have you visit us once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
214 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Spent 2 nights here and will stay here again during my next visit to Charmouth. I was greeted nicely and shown a very comfortable room with all the niceties and a great bed. The 1 dinner we had was excellent and quite unique. There is a large front patio from which you can watch the world go by and even eat dinner. The patio could use some more comfortable seating for longer sitting / reading / loafing.
Located in the middle of Charmouth witch is the perfect little English seaside town.

Both Ian and his wife are very good hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Alan

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. We do have cushions for the chairs out front for future reference, thise iron chairs can get a bit 'firm' without using them.

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was recommended by someone in the village as we were staying just a few yards away for a holiday. We managed to book the last table and arrived to find a very small exclusive dining room. Literally its like someone's sitting/dining room. No problem for us however we soaked up the atmosphere and enjoyed the change. The service was very good and the food was very nice but I wouldn't say excellent I'm afraid. We found it to be very rich which is a shame as the ingredients were in themselves excellent quality (apart from the steak was not the best quality). The sauces were the main problem we feel as they were very filling and too rich for the food used. I know I'm being highly critical but I feel there does need to be a balance in reviews. We would return and we would recommend it but be aware. The price is reasonble and all in all a nice place

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelorMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to add a review. I am genuinely sorry that you found the sauce used on the steak too rich for your liking. As the menus change regularly I do not know what sauce was served so I can not really comment on it further other than to say I dont use rich cream sauces but stock reductions. These do give a deep flavour but are not rich in the creamy/buttery sense.

I am surprised and disappointed that you thought the steak was of poor quality. The beef we use (as well as much of the lamb, pork and venison) comes from our friends at Wyld Meadow Farm just a couple of miles away and is usually about as good as steak gets so I am very surprised that you did not enjoy it. Had you mentioned this it at the time it would have been substituted without question.
Please accept our apologies that we did not fully deliver the experience we would have wished to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a great hotel! It is conveniently located in Charmouth within easy walking distance of the beach. For those who wish to travel to Lyme Regis and not have to bother with parking a car in what is a busy town - the bus stop is across the street from the hotel and it only costs £2 for a single to Lyme Regis.

The hotel is comfortable and clean and the service is absolutely fantastic. It is well worth having at least one dinner in the hotel to sample the fresh food. On a summer evening one can relax by sitting outside sipping a cold glass of wine which just cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSunseeker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for a great review. Its true that the hourly bus service both to the east and west through Charmouth is excellent. There are so many issues with parking and driving through Lyme Regis in the summer that its well worth abandoning your car for a day or two and letting someone else do the driving.
We hope to see you again in the near future

ian and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I have just returned after a 2 night stay and we also stayed in room 1. It was very spacious and comfortable. It was nice to have all the little extras including the tea & coffee facilities, toiletries, fresh flowers, bathrobes. Lovely views from the room. The breakfast was excellent and a very good choice, the bacon was especially nice.
The only negative thing was the car parking, especially going out. It took us a while to get our car out and it was a very tight quease. So much so that we did not want to risk it on the 2nd night and parked out on the main road. This was not ideal and I got up a couple of times in the night and checked out the window.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrahagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Again thanks for the positive comments about the room and the food ( I like the bacon as well).
As mentioned before, the driveway is found challenging by some when exiting but with care is negotiable. We do have parking out front as well as on the street which is perfectly safe.This part of Dorset is not really a crime hotspot so you can sleep well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
0.2 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
6.5 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Property: The White House Hotel
Address: The Street, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family run four bedroomed Regency house in the centre of the coastal Village of Charmouth in West Dorset, right at the heart of the World Heritage Jurassic Coastlin. Owned and run by Chef Ian Simpson and his wife Elizabeth since 2001 The White House has been totally refurbished to a high standard in the winter of 2012/3 and was subsequently awarded FOUR GOLD STARS from the AA as well as a Breakfast and Dinner Award.Finalists in the Taste of the West Awards for 2014 in Restaurant and B&B. Winners of the 2014 Dorset Tourism Awards B&B category. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing