We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cliff House B&B(Charmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
155
29
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
29
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver cottagelarge caroff street parkingfabulous placethe ground floorlyme regisfresh milkspent a lovely weekendmemory stickample storage spacescrambled eggs and salmoncan't recommend it highly enoughroom was largegreat attention to detaillocally sourced ingredientsjurassic coasta real treat
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for a two night break at the end of May after going to the River Cottage three day Fete.
The hotel is comfortable and clean and the bathroom is very well equipped with a lovely big bath. Bathrobes, shower gel etc are included.
Our room was a good size with a lovely fireplace. Comfy bed and even postcards with stamps on for you to use. It is a lovely place to come back to after a day out.
There is a lounge area to sit in and is also used for pre dinner drinks before choosing from the evening menu.The breakfast is very good with local produce. The evening meal was lovely,the chocolate meringue was the best I had ever eaten. The hotel reminded me of the small hotels you can find in France. The hosts are friendly couple and know the area well. We will be going back.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which situated at the back with windows on two sides.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie54945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay (and your chocolate meringue) .We look forward to welcoming you back

Ian and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A lovely, beautiful hotel. Huge bright and airy rooms with little extras that make your stay a little bit more special. Particularly like the fresh coffee in the rooms.
Great breakfast too - really, really good!

Would recommend to anyone wanting a hotel in Charmouth, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are very spacious and have their unique charm. We preferred room 4 as it has the additional lounge.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Just a minor correction to your very kind review, the room with the seperate lounge area is room one not room four.

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were so glad we discovered the White House Hotel. We love to take a short break on the Jurassic Coast for our Anniversary each year. The Hotel is very comfortable with all the little extras you need.The breakfast and dinners are wonderful.
Liz and I an are so friendly and helpful.
Charmouth Beach is a lovely place to relax with a great cafe,Its just nice to wander search for fossils or just sit on the steps and watch the waves.
We will make The White House Hotel a place to return to many more times now we have found it.

Graham and Elizabeth

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eloise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are of course pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Charmouth is a wonderful place to relax and just enjoy the stunning countryside and shoreline. We look forward ro welcoming you back soon

Ian and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just returned from a relaxing five-night break a The White House and are delighted to recommend it to anyone seeking top quality hotel accommodation with the most genial and generous hosts, Ian and Liz.
We were greeted in the private car park by Ian who insisted on taking care of the luggage.
The historic house has been lovingly restored with internal curved walls and great curved doors to match all lit by chandeliers from the lofty ceilings.
We saw all four of the bedrooms each very spacious, individually furnished and decorated in keeping with this grand old house. Our room was No 3 at the back upstairs. It is full of character, large, bright, airy, spotlessly clean, very warm and comfortable with a super-king size bed and a mountain of crisp white pillows - guaranteeing a very good night's sleep. The bathroom is also large with a huge bath, bath essence in which to luxuriate and fluffy white bathrobes.

Ian is a superb chef from the scrumptious local bacon and sausages at breakfast, not forgetting the best muesli (plus fruit and yoghurt) that we have ever eaten to creative and beautifully cooked scallops, duck breasts and home-baked, light as can be, Dorset apple cake - simply mouth-watering. One of their secrets is that most of the food is sourced from the local farmers' market.
Nothing is too much trouble for Liz and Ian whether it is a dietary requirement or advice on where to find fossils - they even loaned us a fossil hammer.
The break was to celebrate a special wedding anniversary and they really made it very special for us.
Thank you both - we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and individually furnished and decorated in keeping with the grand house. Perhaps room 3 is the brightest, but all look very comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequent d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review .

We were very happy that you chose to stay with us for your Golden Wedding celebrations and that we lived up to your expectations.

Thank you also or your kind comments about the food. We try very hard to keep what we offer both local and seasonal and prepare almost all of it daily on the premises. It is always gratifying when this is recognised as we firmly believe it is the best way.

Thank you once again and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the White House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

After a recent stay at the White House Hotel we were discussing its merits and Sue and I decided to individually list them and we came up with a hundred: I have to confess that there was a difference of opinion over the final one. I said that “I was impressed that the female members of the establishment who were very attractive and always, just always, had a genuine smile on their faces” – she agreed but said it was a ‘sexist’ remark whilst I said it was factual [and that is true!!]
On a more serious note; it really is a splendid hotel and quite impossible to fault. Everything from the size of the rooms (in reality they could be classed as ‘suites’) to the attention that is given to the minute details which make this an outstanding place to stay. There is always a danger that such attention to detail can result in an impression of ‘twee’ but the proprietors paint on a large canvas with broad strokes and easily avoid this criticism and in so doing produce an hostelry which I believe to be virtually unequalled in its comfort, standard of service, excellence of food and indeed ‘value for money’
Barrie Kaye, Waplington Hall, York

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianCharmouth, Owner at The White House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you very much for your glowing review. We are of course very pleased that you enjoyed your few days with us . We look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Ian and Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews