We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service, good value.”
Review of The Bank House

The Bank House
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Charmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family run friendly cafe open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea & Dinner. We source local produce wherever possible and our food is freshly cooked to order. A warm welcome awaits customers old and new.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and service, good value.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were staying in Charmouth (at the excellent Abbots House) and stopped here for supper. Very friendly, clean and tasty food. Very good cider and wine. Had a long chat with the owner who was very nice. It was a pleasant summer evening so we sat outside on the front terrace.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brucemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    74
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast mmmmm”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic place for breakfast unfortunately when we arrived there was no greetings whatsoever acknowledgement didn't feel welcome at all if we was not hungry we would have turned and left but when they did acknowledge us they couldn't do enough

Helpful?
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly service and reasonable price”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We ate here twice on our week's stay in Charmouth. The menu is small but food is freshly cooked and fairly simple. Limited choice of wine but it was pleasant enough. The service was excellent and the owner friendly and welcoming. Would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frybags55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited here on our last night in Charmouth as it is only open Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. I opted for the steak which was beautifully cooked with a generous helping of chips, mushrooms, onion rings, peas and tomatoe. All was freshly cooked and tasted great. Also treated myself to a desert, Apple cake and custard which again was lovely. Prices were around average but well worth it. Booking recommended as only a small place but definately worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanPLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“No frills”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Good selection on menu and well prepared tasty food. Don’t expected haute cuisine and environment but cleanliness and friendly service compensate for that. Only open for dinner Friday, Saturday and Sunday and you will need to book to reserve a table.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stutt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bank House also viewed

 

Been to The Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing