We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab dog friendly Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seadown Holiday Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Seadown Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fab dog friendly Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Just got back from a week at Seadown. Was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews on here but really needn't of worried. Caravan was clean and well equipped. It was a bit chilli at night but the gas fire soon warmed the place up. Location was fantastic with access at the end of the field to the beach and plenty of fields and walks nearby that the dog loved ( and me). Local shops post office and fish bar pizzeria 5 mins walk away. Would highly recommend if your looking for a lovely break for you and your dog!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrights22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    42
    13
    4
    8
See reviews for
80
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We spent the last week of May in caravan 199 - I also read some reviews about being cold in April (!) and a few other niggles....but this is a caravan, not a 3 star hotel!

The caravan was lovely - with a nice spacious, modern décor and decent kitchen area. It was spotlessly clean - (I was concerned that dogs are allowed in all vans and that it may smell a bit doggie) - but I needn't have worried - it just had that lovely ''caravan' smell!

I found loads of extra pillows and a second duvet cover and blankets in the larger wardrobe in the double bedroom, and there are small heaters in every room, as well as a gas fire. The mornings were chilly, so instead of using the gas fire, we had taken a small heater with us, which took the chilly edge off the early mornings in the lounge area of the caravan.

The lobby area leading to the bedrooms and bathroom (lovely shower!) was of course rather snug...but just make sure that you don't all head towards the bedroom or the bathroom at the same time - as you will get a bit wedged!! I am always astounded at the brilliant design of the vans - they can certainly pack a lot into a small space!

The park itself was spotless and beautifully maintained - the grass very short and tidy - and as many of the vans are privately owned there are lots of lovely flowers and shrubs around too, making it very pretty indeed.

Its a stunning area of natural beauty, nestled as it is in a small valley leading straight down to the fossil beach, with spectacular cliffs and meadows as far as the eye can see.

We have camped for quite a few years - but now we have stayed in ''luxury'' I am not sure we will go back to camping for a while!! We would certainly visit this site again - its quietness, cleanliness and stunning location is more than enough reason to want to visit again. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I've just got back from a week long stay at Seadown and was slightly sceptical after reading some of the reviews....I must say I was pleasantly surprised!

The caravan was a lovely size albeit the bedrooms weren't massive but this is a caravan we're talking about after all. We had heaters in our caravan in the bedrooms (no. 157) and I don't know why people think cleaning stuff/toilet rolls should or would be supplied...its self catering!! You could collect a Hoover from reception if you wanted to.

The staff were friendly enough, not overly so but to be fair we didn't really have much to do with them except picking and dropping off the keys.

The site itself was clean and easily accessible for walks with the dogs and to get to the beach. There isn't a lot to do on site, a few games on the field and the shop isn't well stocked but I would recommend going again, plus there is a nisa in town to get any shopping.

Thumbs up from me and my dogs, thoroughly good time had by all!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spellers1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3 night break in a 'Dorset Horizon' static in April, for two of us plus dog. The accommodation was clean and well equipped, plenty of hot water in the shower, beds comfortable (bedlinen provided but not tea towels, towels or bath mat). Staff hard-working, friendly and helpful. I would definitely endorse the advice offered by other reviewers that taking a heater for bedrooms and/or hot water bottles or electric blanket a good idea for chill at night. We were unprepared and were very cold the first night of our stay due to lack of heating in the bedroom. It was about 3C outside at the time. This niggle aside, I would recommend a stay at Seadown Park. It is an excellent location, the high street and shops being about a 5 minute walk from reception, and a wicket gate at the bottom of the caravan park giving access right onto the coast path and beach. There is a field and pretty area alongside the river for kids' games & exercising dogs. It was very quiet at night with a 'no noise between 10.30pm and 8am' rule. I also recommend the fish and chips van which arrives outside reception at 5pm on Fridays and Sundays - for £6 each an enormous helping of fresh and very tasty fish and chips, cooked to order. A couple of other things to mention - don't forget to bring loo roll as none was provided, also bring cash for the £5 key deposit required when checking in.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank theevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Booked a static for myself and dog in April. Caravan was very clean and modern and well equipped. I always take a small heater wherever I stay, but this was not needed as van had full heating.

I have stayed at this well maintained site over the years with a tourer so was not sure what to expect after seeing a few negative reviews. However, I can say my experience was excellent from the accommodation to the very friendly and helpful staff.

I can highly recommend Seadown Holiday Park if you are looking for a quiet relaxing break.

Room Tip: Some statics have bedroom heating some not, so take a portable heater with you. Heating is in main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bev m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just returned from an Easter break at this campsite and was pleasantly surprised. This is a charming campsite, with direct access to the beach and completely dog friendly with lots of dog walking areas. We stayed in a 2 bedroom static caravan, which was clean and modern. We had also read reviews about lack of heating, so took some extra heaters with us... Which were greatly needed as the weather was very, very cold. This campsite suited us, as we are not into tacky entertainment and children activities. In this respect, the campsite is lovely and peaceful with few children running around the caravans and no noisy entertainment or groups of youths going to on site ' happy camper' style entertainment. It is pleasantly run, with a small on site reception/ shop with a variety of essential goods, bread and newspapers being supplied every day. Charmouth is tiny but charming, Lyme Regis just down the road with more shopping and an exciting dinosaur museum. The campsite leads directly onto the beach, where there is a charming gem and fossil shop, cafe and heritage centre with plenty of activities for children and cults alike on fossil hunting. The beach is full of fossils,so don't forget to take your geological hammer. My children had a fantastic time searching for fossils and loved coming back with their finds!!
From what I could see of the touring site, it appeared to be very well catered for with good laundry facilities and toilet blocks where I regularly saw the cleaner going in.
If you want a quiet peaceful site, then this is the perfect choice. If you prefer to be entertained on your holiday rather than entertaining yourself, then I would suggest you choose Butlins!

Room Tip: Take heaters if the weather is cold, it makes a difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheekymonkey138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Just got back from a week here. The weather was freezing - not quite what we envisaged an Easter break to be like, and having read some of the reviews on this site before going I wasn't sure what to expect. We were staying in a dog friendly caravan, although we did not have a dog and saw on here that there was a problem with heating so we took our electric heater down from the attic and took it with us. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, and sensible layout of the van. It was modern, clean and comfortable with far more space and storage than we imagined it would. It was freezing when we arrived, so we put the gas fire on in the living room and it heated up nice and quickly. At night we used our portable heater in one of the 3 bedrooms. We propped open all the bedroom doors (it was just us and our son) and the heat distributed itself around all the bedrooms making them very comfortable at night, even when it was minus degrees outside! The location was fantastic, and we were close to the beach where we spent much time fossil hunting and kite flying. Our son had hours of fun playing with other children on the site using the lawn area. The cold didn't seem to put them off!
During our stay we had a couple of problems with our van. The gas heater stopped lighting on the third day, and the temperature of the water in our van became erratic making a shower a bit difficult. We let reception know and they were very nice about it and sent someone down very quickly. He was very polite and friendly, fixed the fire within minutes and then set to work on the water. It turns out lime scale was stopping the heating element to work properly so he popped out for 5 minutes to get a replacement unit, came back and installed it. Lovely hot water was back in action and all this done on Easter Monday. Fantastic service we thought. All in all we had a lovely time. If you are any doubt about the weather take a heater with you - we already had one so it was no bother and we were so glad we did and keeping warm was not a problem for us. We will definitely go back again. The location was perfect and the caravan comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s84_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charmouth
0.1 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.3 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#2 of 5 in Charmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seadown Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seadown Holiday Park

Property: Seadown Holiday Park
Address: Bridge Road, Charmouth, Bridport DT6 6QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > Charmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Charmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seadown Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seadown Holiday Park Charmouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing